Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop DAB Car Radios or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner

Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 with USB and front aux-in includes a magnetic external antenna.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
17 of 22(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Review 1 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent but not all there.,
August 07, 2013
By spanner91
from kirkcaldy
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The box was opened, things were in wrapped and the remote is missing.
Not needed personally but still would like it all there.
However, still an excellent CD player by any means."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" memory problems - just a silly connection ",
August 06, 2013
By postieken
from New York ( lincolnshire )
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: teething troubles with incorrect connector
"I bought this radio as it was on offer , at a great price , and my own car stereo was playing up ( wouldn't play c.d.)
having been a mechanic for many years i fitted it myself , in about 25 minutes . Next day started up my van to drive to work - no D A B memory - oh oh ! i thought the reviews about memory loss could be true ?
On arriving back home , i pulled radio back out to check wiring . As i had used the the supplied ISO connectors I thought wiring would have been correct , but alas NO - the permanent feed and ignition feed were NOT in the correct position to match up with the wiring on my peugeot expert van !
It was a simple matter to push the offending pins from the supplied ISO connector , and refit them into the connector so as to line up in the correct positions .
The unit is now PERFECT in every way , so those of you that have this problem take note ? It is an annoying , but easy fix , and to be fair , it does say to check wiring in the instruction booklet !
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic,
August 02, 2013
By cyranec
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very impressed, value for money, dose the jib in ny skoda Octavia... thank you halfords"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dab radio,
May 10, 2013
By 99overpar
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: aux in, dab
"Very good service from order to fitting. Dab is very good and havnt lost dignal anwhere yet. Really like the aux in on the front as i use my mp3 player a lot. Top unit top service from Carlisle branch"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CARLISLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PHILLIPS CEM 2000B CD/MPR AM/FM TUNER,
January 13, 2013
By SCARLETT1865
from LONDON
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use + usb..
Cons: unit not working unless engine running
"My car radio stopped working few weeks ago, decided to replace it with digital as the FM signal will gradually be turned off. Good value for money. As well as normal CD, there is a USB port, asked Darren what that was, he explained that I could put all my music on a memory stick and just play from there, which is brilliant means not having to cart CDs around.
One light niggle - radio doesnt operate unless ignition turned on. Stuck on M25 for two hours recently and as able to listen to radio without having engine running.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent System for the Car,
January 12, 2013
By PrincessJoJo
from Ipswich, Suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it all
"This has is all! The DAB is a wonderful addition to my car and the ipod connection using both the mp3 or the usb is a great feature.
Excellent sound quality.
Very happy with the purchase. This is our second unit - we now how one for each car, so no arguments.
Although it has a magnetic aerial, that is not really adequate so we have also purchased a windscreen mounted dab and we have no drop out of transmission, even in the built up centre of the town. Highly recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phillips DAB,
January 09, 2013
By Swinger4
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: dab sound quality
Cons: difficulty to get per select 5+ into system
"What was not apparent from research was that a separate aerial or splitter was/is required.The supplied with the kit is next to useless and ugly to say the least.However the fitting team guided me to purchase an very in obstructive window aerial which is highly effective.The fitting by Halfords was just about painless and the radio functions very well,with noticeable difference in quality between FM and DAB.Have yet to get per selection into 5+yet.very very touchy!!.Overall a reasonable bit of kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great features,
January 02, 2013
By mark119
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: usb plug, dab radio
"I Bought this in the sale when 60% of just befote christmas. Thought this was great value for money. I have had no problems fitting this produced into my ford car instructions very clear even with the extra dab aerial which comes with this product i found simple to fit, althought is shows this needs to be fitted on the roof of the car i found no problems with there signal quility when fitting the aerial into the boot of my car.the Sound quility from this product is very good and cristal clear both in the radio and dab side. With the usb input also added this is very handy as you do not need a load of cd's all over your car. Only downfall with this produced is that it is not bluetooth compatable.
I would recommened this product to anyone who wishes to upgrade there stereo system"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner,
December 31, 2012
By pitbullshadow
from Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the ease of use nothing too complicated.
"Excellent value for money. Superb reception great sound quality."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mobile dab,
August 03, 2012
By wiggy128
from Hereford, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy set up
Cons: mag mount ariel does need to be stuck on roof
"Thought about getting a car dab for some time, glad i did.Everything i needed was in the box, inc the wiring harness. Easy to fit,easy to set up,easy to use.Fitted to a Chevrolet Kalos in less than 20 mins.Dab nice and clear and easy to tune and store.Cd player / usb and front socket for your ipod etc.All in all good value for the money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good for a day,
May 21, 2012
By Martt
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Worked well for a day then the dab stopped working"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Philips DAB CD Radio,
May 20, 2012
By Rev661
from Sutton in Ashfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: multiple audio sources, clear dab radio signals, aerial supplied is fine for the job
Cons: front plate catches when removing, lcd glow doesn't auto dim when lights come on
"Great unit as a entry level into DAB in car radio.
Curls of plastic were still attached on the CD slot of the front plate, and needed tidying up before use.
Can link in other music players, its quick enough to change around between modes of play.
Does drop out of DAB radio every now and then, but I use the magnetic aerial inside the car, away from vandals."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value,
May 15, 2012
By agog
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to presest stations
Cons: none
"This Dab is easy to operrate from the start and it quite easy to preset the station that is required. Good value for the price and was lucky to get now."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner,
March 22, 2012
By sprostongreen
from Hinckley, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very pleased with this product, much better than previous reviews suggest. DAB tuner is easy to operate and reception using the supplied aerial is excellent. There is a very small lag when switching between modes but no worse than on other non-DAB head units i've had.
Went for the Philips based on brand experience and have not been disappointed.
Only gripe is the slightly fiddly presets when using more than 5 selections, but this is a very minor issue.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No problems,
March 03, 2012
By Nobodythatmatters
from Hull
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
"Great radio I have not used the antenna that came with it but used a splitter so no messing around with that. In poor signal areas it will lose the station but I think all DAB's are the same. No problems in strong signal areas. Sound fantastic"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Look Elsewhere,
January 10, 2012
By SinD
from Surbiton
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: aesthetics
Cons: ipod compatibility, drops stations and deletes presets, buttons are tricky
"As stated on ther reviews when driving around it will struggle with signal. About 6 times now in 2 Months I have turned the car ignition on powered up the radio only to find the radio has deleted all my stations therefore I have to scan again.
The lack of ipod compatibilitiy is a negative, I used to own a JVC and that was brilliant being able to select tracks, even view currently played track title on the main unit. I consider this feature a basic now on all radios especially considering the price and luxury aspect of this model.
I have had problems with the USB aswell 2/4 usb sticks work for apparently no reason at all. I have tried a number of various formatting options for the drives also but as yet to no avail.
The manual is useless and only tells you to how to install. It does not have any decent troubleshooting."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works...,
October 24, 2011
By Kev86uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"It works well, has great sound quality but hangs quite often between DAB masts, it picks up Yorkshire Radio in Scotland and freezes as there is no signal obviously...
This has been fitted into a HGV and works with a parrott kit, but does not have a mute setting so it does not pause CD's etc. which was a disappointment for a branded model like this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing,
August 02, 2011
By Tra822
from East Midlands
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: issue with stereo memory
"Stereo was nice and easy to fit and the DAB works beautifully...when its working.
The previously reported glitch whereby the unit keeps losing all of its pre-set and scanned DAB channels has occurred none less than 6 times in the 2.5 weeks that i've had the stereo. Can be re-tuned, however it would require time with eyes not on the road to do, so is a definite pull over and sort out job. Irritating when all you want to be doing is the driving!!
Was told in store there were no major differences between this the 2000 model and the 3000 model. Despite being told this unit was iPod compatible it is not! only via the standard 3.5mm jack.
This was the last item in the shop so i had to take the display model. Got home and found bits missing from the box, so had to return to the shop. Head unit was marked when unpackaged!
Lesson, check all is correct before leaving the shop to save your precious fuel on return trips.
For the money it should be faultless, however it is not!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice idea, badly executed,
January 20, 2011
By Lukev
from S. Yorkshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lots of features, decent price
Cons: it doesn't actually work
"This was bought as it was very feachure rich and at a decent price.
I had discounted the earlier review mentioning losing presents thinking it was simply a matter of swapping the switched and permanant feed as I've had to do in the past. Sadly this wasn't the solution.
I had a few issues with this unit:
1) As above, the presets do not survive the car being switched off overnight. It's not a power issue as all the other custom settings are retained, just not the presets. This seems to be a design flaw.
2) It is very picky about which USB drives it will see. I own about 10, tried 8 and only 5 worked.
3) DAB reception when playing is great with most stations being clear. Not CD clear, but better than FM. The issue arises when driving as the stations are lost frequently. If it regains signal within a couple of seconds it resumes playing, if not it switches to FM (with no presets!)
4) The ISO connector does not have a mute lead. This meant it was not possible to connect it to my Parrot phone kit. I tried several options but each failed.
5) The display is very basic with a font right out of the 80's and a short line display meaning the scrolling text on a track name takes ages to complete.
6) Between tracks you really notice the hissing which has not been present on other head units, and on USB there is a loucd crackle when changing tracks.
I returned this to the store for a refund, and was pleasantly surprised when it was refunded without hassle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips CEM 2000B DAB CD/MP3 AM/FM Tuner
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value but flawed,
January 13, 2011
By 1900sr
from King's Lynn, England
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good dab reception, good sound for the money
Cons: fiddly buttons, noisy track change on usb, display too bright
"On the face of it this stereo is excellent value with a lot of features for the money. I didn't hold out much hope for the DAB reception with the supplied aerial, but it's proved to be spot on. Downsides to the unit include the buttons being very fiddly to use, every time you change MP3 tracks on the USB it sends a crack through the speakers, even on the dimmest setting the display is still too bright at night, and despite what the instructions say the colour can't be changed. I also found it annoying that when you put the clock display on (my Civic doesn't have a seperate clock) it goes off again as soon as you alter any setting (volume, station, track etc)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
12next>>