Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"

The Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike features a lightweight 6061 aluminium disc specific frame with RockShox Dart 1 forks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 of 38(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice bike,
April 26, 2011
By samr
from Tetbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
" Looked around a few bikes and this one stuck out,white wheels,saddle etc along with the red and black colour scheme,looks very nice indeed.Brakes respond very well,shocks are very nice,gear changes are very slick and having the dials to show what gear you are in are allways a bonus! All in all an excellent bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: More than 3
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its a steal!,
April 25, 2011
By kap95
from Glasgow, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: suspension, hydraulic suspension
" amazing value. brilliant Rockshox dart 1suspension which absorbs every bump. The disc brakes have extremely good and responsive actions and will stop you dead in a heart-beat. the thumb & finger gears are simple and effective at their main purpose and require no adjustment, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wow!!,
June 22, 2011
By MTBBandit
from Basingstoke
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great spec super price.
Cons: did'nt have air bags :-)
" Just replaced my Vengeance race after a very unfortunate MTB accident (Broken collarbone, ribs and punctured lung!!). Had to leave old bike at crash site and obviously it went missing!! Great bike, out on it all the time and it handled everything I threw at it. Cannot fault it, super bike. Cant wait to recover and start again!! (Prefer the red/black coloured frame, apart form that spec is identical). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera bike,
June 06, 2011
By Semp
from Newark
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value for money
" I bought this for my son who raves about it. He loves the disc brakes, the front forks, the performance, the weight, the colour and says it is great for communuting to school and for doing wheelies. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent all rounder,
June 05, 2011
By carlito29
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent brakes, very quick gear change, light as dust
Cons: no lock out on the front forks, seat mega uncomfortable
" Bought this bike through cycle2work scheme (im a postman), excellent bike, very quick response on the gears, brakes are bang on, have not yet had a chance to test it off road. i had the carrera kraken last year, not much between them, minor downside with the vengance is there is no lock out on the front forks, why, i do not know?. doesn't make a massive difference on road though. All in all im well chuffed with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Vengeance Mountain Bike,
May 31, 2011
By Rogerpurk
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: harsh saddle
" I bought this bike in the sale and reserved it to pick up from a store. The way the bike was constructed was fine I thought but as I was checking the tightness of one of the head stem a bolt holding on the front suspension forks and the wheel was extremely lose! After I found that out I checked every bolt to see if it continued it turned out it was just the one. But about the bike good tyres, nice alloys, great for economy driving to save energy, ok frame and excellent, powerful and sharp brakes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 3
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A really great buy,
May 30, 2011
By glek73
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was looking for a new bike to do some long journeys on plus have a bit of fun off road and i seen this. It is trully a great bike plus it's light compared to other mountian bikes. The one thing i did change where the tyres, to Continental Travel Contacts. But i still have the tyres that came with the bike. If you see it, Buy it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love My New Bike,
May 29, 2011
By FalaBoy
from Edinburgh, Scotlnad
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap
Cons: clanky cheap sounding rear gear changer.
" Love this bike. Got it for a pretty good price in the sale so bought it on impulse. Glad I did as it is good value for money and an excellent started bike for off roading. Exactly what I was looking for: smart looking with the white wheels and accessories, good overall quality of components, cheap price and pretty lightweight. Downs are clanky rear gear changer with tinny sounding gears and the saddle (which has been mentioned several times already). Definately worth the price: wouldn't liked to have paid full whack though for it to be then reduced to less than half price. Excellent for beginners to mountain biking who want to try it first before spending thousands on a bike. Good on the road as well with a wide range of gear ratios nut suffers from the off road tyres (obviously). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellant Bike for the money,
May 29, 2011
By Dexterf131
from Swansea
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: gears, quality
Cons: seat but you have to get used to these seats
" Great bike for the money has a very decent spec for the money and its hard to find a nicer looking bike i cant stop looking at it! nice gears changes great bike for the money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent,
May 28, 2011
By mattymoos
from dovercourt, essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Top bike love it, go buy one u won't b disappointed, 10/10 "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
May 28, 2011
By Denre
from Cornwall UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality. looks. price
" Easy to ride with super smooth gears and brakes. Shocks take out bumps very well. Looks great as well. Bargain with an extra 20% off too "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value,
May 27, 2011
By Fahrrad
from Guildford Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: uncomfortable saddle
" Ordered over the internet the previous evening and then collected fully made up the following day. An excellent bike for the money. Relatively lightweight for its price and decent components, good quiet ride, easily manouverable. Needs the saddle changing! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
May 26, 2011
By Nickho
from Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears, brakes
" Excellent bike for such a cheap price. Brakes and gear changing smooth. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
May 24, 2011
By Recruiter2011
from Manchester, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great brakes, light weight, easy responsive gear shift
" After a lot of nagging from my children, I finally gave in and bought myself a new bike. I have a habit of spending more than I need to so thought this looked like good value. So far I have absolutely no complaints about the bike. It seems to be well constructed but not overly heavy and all of the components seem to be very good quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking Value Gromit,
May 21, 2011
By Danster15
from Plymouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I had expected a lot less bike for this amount of money. Very happy with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best purchase ever,
May 17, 2011
By me20
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a fantastic bike, excellent value at the sale price. Great quality item, love it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike -,
May 17, 2011
By AGbike
from Solihull
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Reasonable price for spec. Ordered on line then collected in store. Worth doing as £50 cheaper on line than if bought straight from store - which I still can't work out?! Please with spec for this limited edition model and getting the brakes will start to move to more models in the future - which work really well ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Vengeance Ltd Ed 20",
May 17, 2011
By MTBmann
from NW Britain
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality design & finish, well constructed, internal headset, hydraulic brakes 180mm front rotor, kenda kinetic tyres
Cons: no fork lockout or damping (dart 3 please!), 8 speed cassette not 9, soft paint, not lock-on grips, needs a proper chain stay guard
" The Carrera Vengeance Ltd Ed hard tail MTB is a good looking well put together buy.
Classic mostly Black frame with Red graphics, White//Red accessories and internal headset for a contemporary look.
Came from the factory very well packed/protected. Most of the bike already constructed. Add the front wheel, and attach the handlebars to the fork steerer tube. All easy stuff.
The back brake was spot on, the front brake caliper needed moving, which is easy with post mount brakes. Front brake cable needed rerouting to inside the left fork leg, which required taking off front brake in any case.
Let down only by lack of lock out and damping on the Dart 1 forks. Either Dart 3, Suntour XCM or Marzocchi Marathon would make this a perfect hard tail bike for a bit more money.
Saddles are very much a personal preference and I swapped the Velo one for my favourite.
The 20" frame was good for me (5' 11") as per size guide.
I purchased during the sale which made the Vengeance a genuine bargain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy bike,
May 17, 2011
By mhome
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
Cons: none so far
" My old bike gradually wore out and I managed to buy this one at a greatly reduced price through the internet. Only a few rides so far but what a lovely bike.Feels well put together and very reassuring over rough terrain. I am used to road bikes so the narrower saddle is comfortable. I haven't had disc brakes before and thought the hydraulic ones might be a bit of a gimmick but they perform admirably and look simple to service when the time comes. Tyres are off road ones so if you do roadwork then you might consider swapping to more appropriate ones. I have been impressed with Halfords staff who seem to know what they are doing, knowledgeable about their product and put the bikes together well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: More than 3
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Vengeance Limited Edition Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
May 14, 2011
By mharre
from Daventry
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good product, excellent price. Quality is very good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>