Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"

The VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike features fast rolling 700c wheels and Shimano hydraulic disc brakes for reliable braking.
Average Customer Rating:
4.724 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Review 1 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Solid Bike,
June 10, 2013
By mak05
from Craigavon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good speed on flat surfaces
Cons: the seat
" This is the first bike i've purchased in around 20 years.
The bike itself feels very sturdy and well made, can get some good speed on flat surfaces and a good selection of gears.
As the bike is very sturdy you do tend to feel every bump and dip in the road, pretty sure the seat doesn't help with this, but all in i'm very pleased with the bike.
I've purchased a new seat recently and this has increased the riding experience vastly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Happy,
April 17, 2013
By pintof70
from Dalgety Bay
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks, build, gears, brakes, value for money
Cons: speed, overly bumpy on rougher ground
" Have now done over 100 miles on this bike, ideal for what I bought it for (commuting). Very well made, smooth gears, can be abit bumpy on rough ground/cobbles. Not fast but not too slow. PRICE is GREAT! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Pleased,
April 15, 2013
By KJC123
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great Bike, nice and light, looks good, rides really well on the road and on pathways. I commute to work and I get their a lot quicker now.
I had to buy mudgards, which would be my only bugbear, but the people in the store had fitted them for me. Can recommend this bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value,
April 12, 2013
By gofaster007
from somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: smooth ride
Cons: could do with a higher gear for more speed
" good smooth running bike at a great price. Fast gear changes, easy to ride and the large wheels help up big hills "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? FROME
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great looking bike,
April 12, 2013
By tweb
from kingswinford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" very smooth gear change and makes light work of hills. very pleased with the bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? MERRY HILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
positives but also big negatives with this bike,
March 02, 2013
By J2013
from Newcastle
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: hyd brakes, gear change, cornering
Cons: trying to ride with any pace, v.dissappointing ride above 15mph, c' subway- quicker /better ride
" Firstly the good points - good brakes,gearing change good and responsive ride (only in 1 respect though)- when turning/cornering and specifically not when trying to increase speed beyond about 15mph on a smooth flat road.
Negative- re: the above negative- I changed the tyres after a few days from the CST 700x42 that came with the bike(not x45 as stated in the spec) as i had intended to do anyway (no issue with original tyres-comfortable) to 700 x 37 Continental Touring Plus tyres expecting a speedier/responsive ride. BUT-strangely the ride is hard going as if you are riding against wind- when it's not windy or riding up a gradient-when your'e on the flat v.poor ride??!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Happy with this Bike!,
February 24, 2013
By Ross2013
from Greenock
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: gears brakes tyres
Cons: gear chain came off once
" Extremely happy with this bike. Bought it 5 weeks ago and been out lots on roads. Also used a wee bit off road but wouldn't recommend for more than light gravel. Brakes and gears are great too! Decided on this over a carerra mountain bike and don't regret it. At first I thought it wasn't the most colorful bike but it's not a fashion show after all ;-). Wheels easily screw off when you want to carry in a car etc. Only had one snag so far when gear chain popped off but to be fair I was riding over big pot holes off road in the lowest gear and the chain popped off. Was able to put back in 5 seconds though. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast,
February 19, 2013
By biker54
from Long Eaton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Fast light with great hydraulic brakes...very good buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Bike, Fantastic Ride,
January 05, 2013
By Deltronic1066
from High Wycombe, Bucks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent brakes, good components, comfortable saddle, smooth shimano gears, value for money
Cons: none
" Being in my late 50's I really wanted a bike that was easy to ride, durable with ability to do a little bit off roaring as well.
My local Halfords in High Wycome were very helpful. I was initially looking at a Boordman but quickly realised this would be an overkill. When the assistant explained the features of Marasa I knew this was the bike for me.
Having ridden it for a couple of weeks now I have not been disappointed. Very smooth gear changes, comfortable saddle and most impressive hydraulic brakes. Very fast when you open her up, must have high quality bearings in the vital areas.
The tyres supplied are perfect for both road and a little off-roading. Probably would need to change the tyres if you wanted to do some serious x-country riding.
A very good looking bike and excellent value for money. I can't see how you can fail to be impressed with this cycle.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unrivalled value.,
November 08, 2012
By BigWelshBen
from Port Talbot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great components, excellent build quality, better specs than other bikes in its class, speeeeed!
Cons: frame can be easily scratched
" I've had this bike for a few weeks now and have ridden a good few miles on it. This is the first bike I have owned for a few years now, but have been really pleased with it. Having done a lot of research this really stood out as the being top of its class for the price and as a consequence struggled to find a local Halfords that had it in stock.
It rides really well and is built extremely well. My only criticism is that the power coating on the frame does seem easy to scratch if you are careless with it, but stands up to general wear a tear. It is a very fast bike if you put your foot down but is equally comfortable for just cruising around. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
New to bikes.,
October 20, 2012
By Mosher
from Cambridge
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is the first new bike I have bought since I was a kid, seems solid. Love the way it looks. Not sure about the quick release wheels, but I guess I can change those. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
September 25, 2012
By JT38
from North Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price & quality
Cons: none
" Haven't cycled for a few years - fits my requirements for cycling round the Yorkshire Dales - yet to try on canal paths and Forest Trails.
Goodadvice and service at Kendal
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money, but get thinner tyres!,
August 08, 2012
By KetchupKev
from Lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes, price
Cons: tyre width
" I've had this bike just over a year now, and I am more than happy with it.
I love the disc brakes as I hate maintaining the more traditional rim brakes. Quality is very good (nothing broken yet!).
The only niggle really was the width of the original tyres (700 x 45c). I found them hard going, but after fitting 700 x 35c tyres the bike came alive.
I'm not a serious cyclist (cycle path/leisure riding mostly) so couldn't justify the price of bikes such as the Boardmans etc, but I think that the Marasa has been worth every penny! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
voodoo marasa,
May 23, 2012
By olly12
from wallasey england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great all round bike, great brakes, v good gear shift system, good value for money :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Bike for Buck,
May 22, 2012
By taff151
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Love the Voodoo Marasa, so much I bought my daughter one. It's light yet robust with decent gear train, brakes and frame. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ffine,
May 16, 2012
By Nieldy
from t'North
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the spec
Cons: a bit heavy
" The bike is 'fine' for all every day jaunts that you would want to carry out on tow paths and bridleways, but it's not meant for mountain tracks. It is, as the name suggests, a hybrid and does everything 'fine'. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for the price,
May 09, 2012
By Nortonborobloke
from Norton, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks good., plenty of gears to suit different rides., lower to mid price range.
Cons: cant think of any
" Bought this bike after I had knee operations and needed to cycle to help with rehab, after a lot of thought about price and ranges of the different bikes I decided on this one, it was lower mid price range and looked quite good.
It is quite light at 13kg and only difficulty I had was getting used to the 24 gears..most I have ever had on a bike. I bought mud guards that easy clip on and off and the staff fitted them and set the bike up for me, very helpful.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bike, a great upgrade,
April 18, 2012
By spongmonkey
from Kings Lynn, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fantastic hydraulic brakes, comfortable, 24 gears so much choice, build quality is excellent, this bike is light!, road wheels allow addition of road tyres later on, it looks awesome, can fit 2 water bottles on
Cons: with 2 bottles on you struggle for space?, handlebars are chunky check your lights fit
" I bought my first every hybrid last year from Halfords and an unexpected windfall saw me purchase this as an upgrade and give the other one to the other half (after 700km it's still going strong)
I got this in the bank holiday sale which made it fantastic value and the best spec for your money as far as I'm concerned.
Brakes - this is the first bike I've had with disc brakes and this one has hydraulic instead of mechanical ones. Once they're bedded in they're incredibly powerful, with a really light touch.
Comfort - I've only ridden 50 miles on the bike so far as the weather conspires against me, but so far no need for a gel seat, this is very comfortable. The riding position is quite upright but the seat can be moved backwards to give a lower stance.
Running Gear - the wheels are massive and the tyres skinny (I believe you can get road tyres on the wheels), coupled with 24 speed trigger shifts and liquid smooth gear changes riding is almost effortless. On my old bike I ran out of gears and speed before my lungs gave out, this is the opposite!
Quality - build and the quality of parts seems superb so far, but as always time will tell. I'm confident this bike will give me 1000's of trouble free miles.
Weight - this was the lightest hybrid I could find at the price range, (at least it was until I put all my accessories on!). The lighter wheels and thinner aluminium frame all help.
Summing up: I simply can't find fault with this bike, I implore you to buy one! Check the size instore though, as with the larger wheels you may be surprised that a smaller frame is actually the one you need (I thought I needed a 20 but could only just fit the 18!) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent bike,
March 27, 2012
By daddysut
from durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" excellent bike its my first hybrid what a difference on my comute to work great quality "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VooDoo Marasa Hybrid Bike 2011/2012 - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Investment,
March 15, 2012
By AmmoSingh
from Berkshire, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: hydraulic disk breaks, 700 tyres
" Great bike, great build quality and amazing value for money- has the road bike wheels on a mountain/hybrid brike set up with an extensive set of gears and disk breaks front and back.
Its also more comfortable than other bikes I've tried.
As a first bike and as a replacement back 5* purchase
Staff at the Maidenhead store were outstanding. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>