Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"

The VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike features 120mm travel suspension fork with remote handlebar lockout for when trails level out.
Average Customer Rating:
4.851 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
45 of 46(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Review 1 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb overall bike,
May 20, 2012
By PeteG100
from Wednesbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brakes, gears, overall ride
Cons: wider tyres not great for riding on road
" I looked at a lot of bikes on many sites before deciding on this one. This bike is great off road and the gear set up has not slipped once, even when changing down when going up short steep hills. The hydraulic brakes are brilliant and I have needed them a couple of times. The ride and seat are comfortable even after 20 miles off road riding. It is ok on road but he wide tyres make it seem hard after a bit but as most of my riding is on tracks and canals this is not a problem. For what I use this for this bike is superb. Brakes,gears, weight, stability are all superb "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great bike and good value for money,
July 08, 2013
By Blackielow
from Frankfurt , Germany
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: forks are great
Cons: cheap pedals
" The voodoo Hoodoo handles well out of the box, but a decent pair of pedals and a quick release clamp for the saddle and it was almost perfect. The remote for the front forks lockout was taken off too, without an trouble, Took it out on a rocky and sandy coastal trail yesterday and was very pleased with the result. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional value for money,
July 08, 2013
By Mitch56034
from Stourbridge, West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: front forks, suspension lock-out, great looks
Cons: seat looks dated
" I drove for an hour and a half to pick this up based solely on the reviews from Halfords customers and elsewhere. I am not disappointed!
First off, a great looking bike with the spec of something £200 more expensive. Relatively light weight and very robust it's capabilities easily out weigh my technical ability (my sore ribs are evidence of that) and the convenience of the handlebar mounted fork lock-out means it can destroy most hill climbs.
If you can find one, buy it, no matter how far you have to travel. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great off roader,
June 21, 2013
By BenRC
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality, suspension lock
Cons: seat
" Got this bike through the cycle to work scheme and am extremely happy with it. seat can be a little uncomfortable but that's all bikes these days, and a cheap padded cover sorted that out. Suspension is great, so much travel and the ability to lock the suspension via a switch on the handle bar is great when on the flat. tyres are definitely better when off road, not really suitable for long tarmac trips as they are very chunky and deeply treaded. The tyres have presta valves btw, so don't buy slime to fill them, it's not compatible. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voodoo Hoodoo,
June 20, 2013
By Abbsy33
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ride
Cons: seat a bit uncomfortable
" Great entry bike with all you need, easy to operate. The only slightly bad comment is the seat is not too comfortable, but that could be just me! Gear change is smooth and breaking is very good. Would recommend this bike! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Considered several bkes before choosing thr Voodoo,
June 08, 2013
By WAB00
from Rotherham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: hydrualic brakes., front fork lock out.
" Chose the Voodoo Hoodoo after reading and comparing several other bikes. The Hoodoo had good reviews and spec so opted to buy over the others and have not been disappointed.
I have had the Voodoo Hoodoo for 3 weeks now and done about 250 miles including commuting to work, easy cycle trails and some 'soft' off road sections and has coped with all of these very well.
The only negative that I could mention is that I have had an occasional slip on the rear gear between 2nd and 3rd which should be sorted on its six week service.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (HARBOROUGH HILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value bike with premium componentry,
June 07, 2013
By Darlophil
from Durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fork, all shimano gear set
" The simple fact is this bike is a winner for the forks alone. The raidon x1 forks are about 3/4 steps higher in suntours range than the xcm forks which is what you will tend to see on most other bikes in the same price range.
27 gears really improve your riding in terms of getting up that hill you had to walk up last time.
Confidence inspiring frame allows you get more out of the trails, even red routes.
Best value bike at halfords I would say! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top performer, buy one now,
May 31, 2013
By collydug33
from East Kilbride
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: top quality components
Cons: absolutely nothing
" After a long search and numerous reviews I plumped for a 20" hoodoo and boyo boy was I rewarded for my choice. the bike is amazing at the local trail centres and for the last few months have been using it on the upcoming commonwealth games mtb track in glasgow where it is superb on all terrain. the spec of this bike is staggering, just look up all the components seperately.....how do they do it for the money. one thing I need to say is that my local halfords in East kilbride have been top class in their service and have looked after me and my hoodoo brilliantly. To sum up brilliant bike, brilliant service and was even on offer so brilliant price. GET ONE. "
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
What it is good at
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? EAST KILBRIDE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
May 30, 2013
By Benjihoodoo
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I spent ages looking around at mountain bikes and despite all of the snobbery out there, I just kept getting sent back to halfords. it was a toss between this bike and the Boardman, but in the end I took the cheaper option as lets face it I will only use it for the occasional off road trip. It is very easy to get swept away over a few kg here and whether the forks travel the full 120mm. Before you know it you have ended up looking at bikes for £900 plus. Tbh its unnecessary and unless you are seriously into it you can have just as much fun with this bike and still have change for buying other stuff.
My recommendation is get this now and stop worrying about reading reviews. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light, responsive and robust,
May 28, 2013
By Yanno
from Cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good all-round bike
Cons: the saddle
" I haven't been a cyclist for many years so I wanted to buy something that had received good reviews and would last me for years. The Hoodoo seems, so far, to be a winner.
My usual biking is around country lanes and gravel paths, so the remote lock-out function has been great going between the flat and bumpy ground. Living in Wales we have some very steep hills but even in the lowest gear the ratio is good enough that you can still cycle up them when other cyclists are off their bikes and pushing theirs up the hill.
I have completed the Taff Trail (from Merthyr Tydfil to Cardiff) twice in the last two weeks and the Hoodoo served me very well. The only I have changed is the saddle, swapping it out for a comfort (a spring loaded) gel saddle as I needed the extra comfort. The saddle it comes with is padded and is fine for short distances but after a few hours on it I got the John Wayne rear!
The Hoodoo has given me (as a novice) loads of confidence as it is well balanced. The slightly oversized tyres (2.25 in) and the front suspension cushion you really well.
The grips are soft (I wear gloves) and the positioning of the gear changers and brakes on the handle bar are intelligent and very easy to use.
The brakes themselves are fantastic! - very very good stopping power.
The pedals are wide and really comfortable when you are standing up for steep or undulating terrain. They have nice knobbles for your trainers to grip onto.
The gear changes are good and it won't take you long to get the best out of them.
I have ridden a 100 miles in a couple of weeks and can't wait to go out again. The Hoodoo lives up to its reviews. A fantastic piece of kit for the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LLANTRISANT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike!! Great price!,
May 20, 2013
By Pemberton81
from West yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I've been looking for a bike for a few months and having looked around this bike really stood out. Great components and a really superb frame! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DEWSBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
May 09, 2013
By Minto1066
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I bought this bike through a work scheme , it's outstanding quality . In this price range it won't be beaten on quality and value for money ! It's also a great bike to ride ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike,
April 29, 2013
By Hornsphinx
from sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Now had my new VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike for two weeks. Yes it is everything it says.
Use it every day for work, about 6 miles a today, so far faultless.
Love the bike! Just do it get out cycling, The voodoo is a great bike, well worth every buck.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Broken forks.,
April 16, 2013
By Ihavenone
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I bought this a few days ago. After a few gentle miles only on tarmac I noticed that the fork weren't locking.
Not a good start. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike,
April 08, 2013
By Chris1963
from Cork, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike is a great first proper mountain bike & is great value . Easy gear change & is the best bike by far i have had for the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? CORK (ROI)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
April 02, 2013
By t2i3m
from Wolverhampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lockout suspension, feels solid, hydraulic brakes
Cons: saddle is a little firm
" Having looked around and reading many reviews, i settled with the Hoodoo. Due to the weather I have only been out on it a couple of times since I bought it, but during the summer months I am really looking forward to riding it most days :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First proper mountain bike,
March 04, 2013
By natec11
from Belfast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, rugged bike
" This bike is great value - good spec forks (about mid range) compared to other bikes at this price point.
Slight issue with the set up in shop, but was able to fix all this myself.
Would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
February 25, 2013
By Jordan19
from rossendale
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: breaks/suspension lock out
" First time riding in about 8 years. Loved it! such a smooth ride and the gear changes/breaks are effortless! Money well spent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply great,
February 21, 2013
By dick1974
from burntwood, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: switchable front suspension
" Great introduction into mountain biking at weekends and for cycling to work weekdays. Couldnt ask for more. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VooDoo Hoodoo Mountain Bike 2011/2012 - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mystical Folk Magic!,
February 14, 2013
By CyclingCat
from Cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the frame, the front suspension, gear change, brakes, the colour - no white!!, the saddle, excellent ride
" Absolutely lurv this hardtail! Can hardly believe what you get for your money here - and now it's even another £10 cheaper than when I bought it in January!!
The service at the Kendal store has been very good from both Tom & Frith.
Gear change, brakes and feel of the bike is superb. Frith at Kendal has made a great job of adjusting the front suspension forks for me to suit my weight. The only thing I have changed is to put a quick release seatpost lever on as the height needs to be altered when going off road.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: More than 3
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>