Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"

VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike 20inch is an entry level MTB with 24 speed gears for the real challenges.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
38 of 40(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Review 1 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voodoo Bantu bike,
May 22, 2014
By maly
from market rasen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brakes and gears and front forks with lockout
Cons: seat and tyres
"Great bike and good gears and brakes are great but I have changed the tyres and seat is to hard but apart from these two things its a great bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great starter bike,
January 17, 2014
By sukie98
from Down
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I picked the 2011/12 model over the newer edition as it has a better front fork(air suspension). The bike itself is well constructed and solid(if a little heavy). The gear shifting is smooth and the adjustable front air suspension soaks up the bumps.
I changed a few things, namely the pedals and tyres which made the bike altogether more easy to handle in the winter conditions.
Ensure the bike is properly set up gears/suspension etc get the seat position correct for your height and front suspension adjusted for your weight and away you go.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great service and bike,
November 08, 2013
By blue7345
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy well built
"great good well built bike.dave from the college road store gave me loads of great advice on all aspects of what bike suits me.i paid a bit extra to get this voodoo bike thats very sturdy and just a right fit for my body type."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (PERRY BARR)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality,
November 02, 2013
By Tel3
from Castleford
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: bottom bracket
"Bought this bike on the 7th of September 2013, after two weeks had to return to Halford's as the Bottom Bracket had failed, upgrade fitted, two weeks later returned to Halford's as the Bottom Bracket had failed again. It's a shame because I did like the bike. The Staff at Halford's Pontefract were very helpful and a lad called Chris was outstanding
Halford's you let me down. Chris your too good for that company
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase I Have Ever Had - you need this in your life,
October 22, 2013
By milo20050
from Rugby, Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick fire gear, light frame, hydraulic brakes, easy front suspension adjustment, 100% accurate gear selection, anti buckle rimms, amazing value
"I have had a number of bikes and this is by far the best (Purchased over 10 Weeks ago now)
I commute a round trip of 10 miles a day to the train Station and the odd downhill biking session and unlike my previous bike (that I paid far more for) it takes all you can throw at it and asks for more.
- Forks locked for commute, twist and Unlock for Downhill GREAT
- Instant gear change, no delay ... first bike I have ever had where I can select the exact gear and it pops in every time without fail as quick as you can flick you flinger on the "Quick Fire" Gear Setup
- Ride is perfect and tyres transition from tarmac to dirt faultlessly
- Replaced previous mechanic discs on other bikes for "V" brakes, so was apprehensive about discs on this one but the Hydraulics won me over from the first squeeze...you want stopping power you got it baby.
If you want a perfect bike to suit all aspects of your two wheeled life, at a fraction of what I would pay now ....PEOPLE!!! I give you VooDoo Bantu
Upgraded the wife to Voodoo Hoodoo, who shares my sentiments and has resulted in both of us becoming Halford Only Customer"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Bike,
September 24, 2013
By Jam22897
from Braintree, Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the hydraulic brakes
Cons: tires are a bit bumpy
"had the bike for a couple of weeks now, brakes are amazingly sharp it changes gear instantly and the quality of the gears and changer are brilliant. the frame is light weight and is very nice. the suspension is a neat add on perfect for locking it out and going down the BMX track acts as a brilliant little trial bike.
it does 5 miles a day, 5 days a week and since ive bought it, it has been brilliant. would definatley recommend
Overall its a pretty good bike and i don't think ill have any problems with it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voodoo Bantu,
September 02, 2013
By MB73
from Slough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy design, packed with features, looks great
Cons: no height adjustment on the handlebars
"I was about to purchase one of the Carrera bikes, but the great features of the Bantu sealed the deal at the very last minute.
I've had my Bantu for around 3 months now (having notched up around 500 miles) and it's been a pleasure to ride in all conditions and surfaces. The frame is incredibly sturdy, the gears are brilliant, the brakes are sharp as a knife and the build of the bike all adds up to a package you would normally expect to pay a lot more for..
Only one very minor gripe - The height of the handlebar is fixed (I'm 6'2" and I can still ride perfectly comfortably, but it would be nice to be a little more upright on the road).
Also, the tyres are great, but you may want to invest in slicker ones if you're spending most of the time on the road.
Fantastic service from Conor and the team at the Slough store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luv my Bantu,
August 15, 2013
By Blazznee
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the brakes, ajustable front forks
"had my Bantu for a couple of months now and i love it, ride it to work everyday n it eats the ground up, First bike i've had with disc brakes nearly chucked myself into the road first time i hit them in anger stopped me quicker than i was expecting. just need to change my tyres for duel purpose 1's as the standard 1's are abit noisey on the road."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (NUTHALL RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voodoo Bantu,
July 16, 2013
By Pizzle888
from Stoke on Trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the spec, durability
"As a beginner mountain trails rider I found the Voodoo Bantu more then capable. It's well built, light and comes with a very good spec. Highly recommendable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
June 14, 2013
By Sam3223
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the matt finish
"I have done 130 miles on this bike I have only had it 2 weeks now it is a really well built bike and looks brill."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent weekend bike,
June 12, 2013
By omgithurtsonamonday
from Chorley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Having ridden a 2010 Banshee X for a year which was used monthly son needed an upgrade and inherited the Banshee I needed something. Not disappointed at all with buying the Bantu for the money and front suspension only left the shop and rode Healey Nab black and red routes handled all obstacles thrown at it and then road ride home. Yes some of the parts don't match the Banshee but for what it is well worth it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got my BANTU!,
May 20, 2013
By DeathRide
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: beautiful frame!
"Went to halfords yesterday to get the bike the guy i had was very nice told me everything i needed to know about the bike plus had it built for me in one hour on my return back to the store. The man rolled my bike out and i looked everything over as he told me about the key for the brakes and stuff! my bike was perfect! And the ride on it was out of this world!! one sweet bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heck of a lot of bike for the price.,
April 25, 2013
By ElSid
from Cambridge, Cambs
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: hydraulic disc brakes, great front suspension with lock-out, comfortable ride, good looking
Cons: heavy/loud tyres on the road
"At this sort of price range, I didn't really expect to find a bike with parts like this. It comes with hydraulic disc brakes and an air suspension, and while I would expect to find either one or the other in this price range, I was surprised to find both.
I've done about 90km on the road since buying it, and it handles quite nicely. The seat is comfortable, the ride is reasonably smooth, and I feel confident riding it.
Personally I feel it's a bit on the heavy side, but at this price you can't expect to go much lighter for a mountain bike. The tyres are quite heavy and knobbly, so they add a bit of friction and noise on the road.
The gearing is pretty decent, although for the same price you can find better. There's a standard Shimano derailleur on the front chainrings, and a Shimano Acera derailleur on the back. For the same price you can find SRAM derailleur on other models, albeit with lower specs elsewhere. The shifters are very nice and responsive, even though they quite different to what I was used to.
Appearance-wise, I do like the matte blue finish, although I do find that it marks quite easily. The shape of the frame is quite nice too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bike to start you off in mountain biking.,
March 06, 2013
By Dee25
from Downpatrick
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: smooth gears
"The bike has alot of great features for the price you pay, smooth gear changes superb brakes and great design. The frame is very strong and i even loved the paint job. You wouldn't even need to change the saddle as i found it quite comfortable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DOWNPATRICK
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommended bike...love it!!,
March 01, 2013
By GavinP
from Peterborough, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Hugely pleased with my new VooDoo Bantu bike.
Branded as an entry level bike, I've been very impressed with the build quality and comfort. I was a bit apprehensive about riding the 10 mile ride home after buying the bike, but I shouldn't have been. It's comfortable, not too heavy and feels really well built.
Overall, a nice bike that I would recommend to anyone looking for a new mountain bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? STAMFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike for the Price,
February 01, 2013
By Bottomoddity
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent Bike and Much better than the cheap feeling apollo slant I had purchased before"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
balal aziz,
November 27, 2012
By bailly
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: evryting
Cons: nothing
"grat bike the best one i have bought it hasent put a foot wrong the people set it upp in store the gear changer jumped took it back the adjusted it within seconds and from the it has been exellent the ride is smooth the bearings are high quality the suspension is great"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Bike,
September 13, 2012
By Wattie53
from Leicestershire, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this bike around a year ago and it has been amazing! It was my first 'proper' mountain bike, with adjustable front forks and hydraulic disk brakes etc. I've been all over the UK with it to places such as Cannock Chase, Sherwood Pines and Fort William and havn't had any problems at all! Just stick some Slime in the tyres and the bike is pretty much indestructible, within reason. Adjustments are so easy to make, especially the forks. The bike just rides so well, if you're undecided, then definately go for this bike. You can't beat the quality for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality bike at an unbeatable price,
September 04, 2012
By shibby4ever
from Stafford, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, responsive disc brakes, quick release wheels, reliable
"Purchased this bike during one of Halfords' deals that saw £40 knocked off the cost of the bike. Have been using this bike for about 2 months now and can say that the quality of the build is awesome. The adjustable forks, lightning quick gear changes and light frame are features normally found on much more expensive bikes. I traded up from an Apollo and the quality of the ride from the Bantu absolutely wipes the floor with my previous bike. Handles trails and roads extremely well. Great bike all round!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VooDoo Bantu Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase,
August 21, 2012
By Iandj1
from Waterlooville Hants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: whole pagage
Cons: none as yet
"just been out and really put the Voodoo to the test.What a great bike everything about it was spot on ride,gears,handling,brakes.Big thankyou to the bike team at Waterlooville Hants so helpful and really know there stuff."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>