Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable

Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable is a mighty useful Teflon coated gear cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Review 1 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great cables,
April 24, 2014
By johnson23
from newcastle uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: geat cables, great deal
Cons: none
"Inner and outer cables and ferrel.that work as good as any ive had so far,and for the internet price it would be rude not to buy them.cheers halfords carlisle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cllarks Universal Bike Cable.,
December 28, 2013
By derek76180
from Spilsby
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value for money.
"A good product at an excellent price. Very good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SKEGNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product,
December 23, 2013
By Ricardo1979
from Southampton uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Bike Gear Cable a very useful because its versatile and can be used as one or spited in to smaller gear cables."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gear cable,
December 09, 2013
By Rob10122013
from Lonton Tottenham Hale
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, plenty of plastic cable guides
Cons: no metal crimping stoppers to
"I had this recommended by a youtube channel BikemanforU, the cable is very inexpensive the packaging is thankfully minimal, you get 6 plastic cable guide stoppers, ans the cable and sheath.
It would have been nice to have some metal end stoppers also the it was fine for me as I already had some.
After two weeks of riding there is no issue I did try and
pre-stretch the cab;e this may have helped.
Check the online price as it was 50% cheaper than the online price but you may have to wait a day for them to pick it for you to collect in store
At the price I paid it cant be beat"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clarks cable,
December 03, 2013
By smith980
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting
"Easy to fit, good quality for the price. Plenty long enough to fit rear gears or brakes. Had in use for over a week and had no issues. Gives smooth changes. Recommended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect,
October 17, 2013
By robray
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to use, great value, and you even get the outers with them too what more can you ask for."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gear selector cable,
September 21, 2013
By Brooky1983
from Nuneaton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This gear selector cable is robust, snooth in operation and wasn't no haste to fit. Must recommend to reserve online though as list price is at least double the price."
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!,
September 17, 2013
By AndyL8
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very cheap as well as good quality cable! Perfet to help me complete my road bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OLD KENT ROAD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
September 12, 2013
By Jimbeam
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this product and managed to shorten it quite easily. Done the job very well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are great cables,
August 06, 2013
By Harp47
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Nothing to say other than the are easy to install and seem good quality"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Outer cable not long enough,
June 14, 2013
By srbr
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The outer cable is only 1.5m long so if the cable you are replacing is in one piece from lever to gear then this one is not long enough.
This is not a Universal Bike Gear Cable!
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clarks universal bike gear cable,
May 20, 2013
By garyboldy
from oxford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excellent quality for the money,gear change is real smooth would recommend to anyone"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD (BETWEEN TOWNS RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for refreshing road bike gear cables.,
March 01, 2013
By BertieBSO
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: exactely the right amount of outer cable
Cons: 2 inner cables rather than one would be better
"Just one of these cut into 3 gave me enough outer cable for both my Sora Sti levers and my rear derailleur, and you get one good quality inner gear cable suitable for front or rear derailleur."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smooth shifting,
January 31, 2013
By oriel
from Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm pleased with this cable, which seems to shift very smoothly. The outer cable was long enough to do both front and rear gears (although you'll need to buy a second inner cable separately if you want to replace both front and rear). The cable comes with a bag containing several plastic ferrules, which isn't mentioned in Halfords' description. Recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap and reliable,
October 26, 2012
By Gavin198
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price, plenty of cable and wire
Cons: shops too far away haha
"Bought quite a few of these each time I get a new frame always fit new cables as its easier than Mis matching
Defo recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job,
May 14, 2012
By bluenick62
from Kensal Rise
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value
"Clarks gear cables do the job. No idea if Jagwire or Campy are better...but have used both and noticed no difference between them and the cheaper Clarks."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable,
November 14, 2011
By bikeriderinkent
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to fit, more than long enough to make it simple to adjust. Looks as good as the original shimano set, and works as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.