Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Gears, Drivetrain & Cables or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable

Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable is a mighty useful Teflon coated gear cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
44 of 44(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Review 1 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap & Cheerful,
August 17, 2015
By
from Haverhill
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Cheap and gets the job done but doesn't come with ferrules. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product & value.,
July 02, 2015
By
from Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: product
Cons: service
" Excellent quality cable and great value if "click & collect" is used.......but service iffy. Stood in a queue under the cycling click & collect banner for 10 mins. Only to be told click & collect is not done at that counter by a grumpy assistant. Stood in a queue again at the general counter and was served by a delightful lady. So,10/10 for product, 7/10 for service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EVESHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No brainer,
June 24, 2015
By
from Tewkesbury, Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire GL20, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: do the job, cheap
Cons: none
" Bought these on offer and frankly they do the job fine, used on mountain and road, plenty of housing and ferrules. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? TEWKESBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good old halfords,
June 24, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Doing a repair and needed a cable quick , I knew my local shop was closed and thought I would try halfords. What an excellent choice "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
seems OK, but missing ferrules,
June 13, 2015
By
from Cardiff
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: missing ferrules
" Missing two spare ferrules when installing on the rear break "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product esp price,
May 22, 2015
By
from uk
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the value
" nice clean cable, i always add some lube to inner cable. The ferrule's were a nice surprise... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain for the price,
March 17, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does the job and great value. Got this on sale for £1.99. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as the more expensive cables,
February 21, 2015
By
from Chepstow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: silky smooth
" Brill cables and cut new outer skins to fit also made my bike feel like new "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality great price,
February 19, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Simple gear cable, does the job well. Would've been nicer if there were end caps included. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KINGSTON UPON THAMES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value for money!,
February 09, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This part does the job and was reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value for money,
February 03, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" For £1.99 you can't go wrong needed something cheap for my commuting bike this done the job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works and it's cheap,
January 31, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" It does the job at a low price. The cable has worked fine so far and has moved freely within the outer plastic shell. No need to spend £££ on something like this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent replacement.,
January 27, 2015
By
from Newark NG24, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fits front or rear.
" As good as the original at less than half the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheaper than CRC,
January 17, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: a use and throw away price
" Riding through the winter, it is inevitable that mud gets inside the cable outer so after 10 rides, I throw the outer and cable away and replace. At this price, it is affordable and keeps shifting smooth. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable,
December 28, 2014
By
from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I use these cables often they are very good for the price. and when ordering my item on-line, meant no waiting too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good and reliable.,
December 19, 2014
By
from Rainham, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Be back for more when neededand other parts as local and good value as well as the quality "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? DAGENHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
why pay more?,
November 28, 2014
By
from Lake District National Park, United Kingdom
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" At up to 75% off this is an absolute bargain!
You might not put it on your top range bike, but if you did you could put one on every two months for the price of an top branded one!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
October 28, 2014
By
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good product and good price thats all you need to know "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As expected,
October 11, 2014
By
from Plymouth, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good value and does what it says it would. Would buy again. Very cheap also. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic piece of modern engineering,
October 09, 2014
By
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Absolutely love this piece of kit, totally brings my gears together, not one of those grind my gears moments.
if you have gears you will finds this to be an essential part of your bike
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>