Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable

Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable is a mighty useful Teflon coated gear cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
49 of 49(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Review 1 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cable,
May 01, 2016
By
from Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great service from the shop staff as the cable was not quite long enough, but they sorted it no problem-good customer service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CABLE AND STAFF,
February 19, 2016
By
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" ORDERED ON LINE, FOR ONE HOUR PICKED,GIVEN EXCELLENT ADVICE AS USUAL,FROM SAME GUYS WHO SORTED MY SONS NEW KRAKEN,BRILLIANT. THANKS LADS. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain at online price - Less so at full price,
January 07, 2016
By
from Warwick, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: excellent online price, good quality, ferrules included
Cons: high in-store price
" Contains 1 long inner cable, and 1 reasonably long (150 cm) outer cable plus a few ferrules (can't remember how many).and there might have been a cable end cap.
Inner easily long enough to reach rear derailleur. Outer would have done both front and back - but would need another inner cable if I wanted to do both. If your rear setup involves full outer all the way you might find 150 cm is insufficient for the outer.
Quality seems fine to me and shifting much improved compared to the 18 year old original cable.
Online price is very good (but changes frequently).. Store price is not so great, so it pays to pre-order - you only have to wait 1 hour before pickup. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor IT systems and staff at bike dept.,
December 21, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" As always bike staff are poor.
The click and collect items are never ready or they try to fob you off with a different part. Rude when you expect what you ordered.
The product was ok for the price but was thinner than average cable. The outer had poor quality cuts that needed cleaning up.
Installed and works fine, but probably will not last quite as long.
"
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gear cables,
December 03, 2015
By
from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap and work well
Cons: none that i can think of .
" Clarks inner/outer gear cables,they are what they are and they do the job well.I've been using this brand for a few years no and never had any problems with them.If you buy or reserve online you get a better price than if you just pop into their store. A little tip,if your going to replace your gear or brake cables always replace both the outer and inner cables. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does the job,
September 11, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I ordered it online as it was cheaper than buying the cable in a halfords shop. I had bought one about 3 - 4 years ago and this one is a replacement. It "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap & Cheerful,
August 17, 2015
By
from Haverhill
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Cheap and gets the job done but doesn't come with ferrules. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product & value.,
July 02, 2015
By
from Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: product
Cons: service
" Excellent quality cable and great value if "click & collect" is used.......but service iffy. Stood in a queue under the cycling click & collect banner for 10 mins. Only to be told click & collect is not done at that counter by a grumpy assistant. Stood in a queue again at the general counter and was served by a delightful lady. So,10/10 for product, 7/10 for service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EVESHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No brainer,
June 24, 2015
By
from Tewkesbury, Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire GL20, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: do the job, cheap
Cons: none
" Bought these on offer and frankly they do the job fine, used on mountain and road, plenty of housing and ferrules. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? TEWKESBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good old halfords,
June 24, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Doing a repair and needed a cable quick , I knew my local shop was closed and thought I would try halfords. What an excellent choice "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
seems OK, but missing ferrules,
June 13, 2015
By
from Cardiff
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: missing ferrules
" Missing two spare ferrules when installing on the rear break "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product esp price,
May 22, 2015
By
from uk
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the value
" nice clean cable, i always add some lube to inner cable. The ferrule's were a nice surprise... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain for the price,
March 17, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does the job and great value. Got this on sale for £1.99. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as the more expensive cables,
February 21, 2015
By
from Chepstow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: silky smooth
" Brill cables and cut new outer skins to fit also made my bike feel like new "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality great price,
February 19, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Simple gear cable, does the job well. Would've been nicer if there were end caps included. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KINGSTON UPON THAMES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value for money!,
February 09, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This part does the job and was reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value for money,
February 03, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" For £1.99 you can't go wrong needed something cheap for my commuting bike this done the job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works and it's cheap,
January 31, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" It does the job at a low price. The cable has worked fine so far and has moved freely within the outer plastic shell. No need to spend £££ on something like this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent replacement.,
January 27, 2015
By
from Newark NG24, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fits front or rear.
" As good as the original at less than half the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheaper than CRC,
January 17, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: a use and throw away price
" Riding through the winter, it is inevitable that mud gets inside the cable outer so after 10 rides, I throw the outer and cable away and replace. At this price, it is affordable and keeps shifting smooth. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>