Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Gear Cables & Shifters or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable

Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable is a mighty useful Teflon coated gear cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Review 1 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap and easy,
September 23, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost
"You get all you need for a single gear cable change, outer cable, inner cable and ferules
Perfect for your inexpensive bike or winter trainer
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product did its job,
September 22, 2014
By josh95123
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Installed the gear cable and the gear system worked well."
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality replacement cable,
September 09, 2014
By MFMcG
from Warwick, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent replacement cable for my six speed gears on my fold up bike where quality is very important.
And good value as well!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is great value,
September 07, 2014
By mrdigitaljedi
from Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
"great value if purchased online, would definatly recommend to a friend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (HANLEY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality, great value for money,
August 31, 2014
By DarrenLuton
from Luton, Beds
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
"Bought this as I needed a gear cable with a full outer sheath. It was cheaper to buy this on offer than just the outer! Took advantage and changed everything on both gears!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value gear cable,
August 30, 2014
By shady52
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is an excellent value gear cable and includes new ferrules for outer cable"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bargain,
August 21, 2014
By Miles16
from Leeds
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: click & collect
"Unbelievable price. Does the job well. Click & collect was easy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? YORK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price when on special offer,
August 09, 2014
By B4444
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
"Cables can seem expensive but make a big difference to your bike once changed. These were great value and include the outers. I probably wouldn't have paid the RRP but Halfords special offers made them cost effective."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WOKING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job!,
August 05, 2014
By Tk57
from North Tyneside District, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've never bought an expensive gear cable, so can't compare it with one. But this did the job just fine, shifts are fine, it was easy to fit. Why pay more?"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great cables,
April 24, 2014
By johnson23
from newcastle uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: geat cables, great deal
Cons: none
"Inner and outer cables and ferrel.that work as good as any ive had so far,and for the internet price it would be rude not to buy them.cheers halfords carlisle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cllarks Universal Bike Cable.,
December 28, 2013
By derek76180
from Spilsby
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value for money.
"A good product at an excellent price. Very good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SKEGNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product,
December 23, 2013
By Ricardo1979
from Southampton uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Bike Gear Cable a very useful because its versatile and can be used as one or spited in to smaller gear cables."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gear cable,
December 09, 2013
By Rob10122013
from Lonton Tottenham Hale
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, plenty of plastic cable guides
Cons: no metal crimping stoppers to
"I had this recommended by a youtube channel BikemanforU, the cable is very inexpensive the packaging is thankfully minimal, you get 6 plastic cable guide stoppers, ans the cable and sheath.
It would have been nice to have some metal end stoppers also the it was fine for me as I already had some.
After two weeks of riding there is no issue I did try and
pre-stretch the cab;e this may have helped.
Check the online price as it was 50% cheaper than the online price but you may have to wait a day for them to pick it for you to collect in store
At the price I paid it cant be beat"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clarks cable,
December 03, 2013
By smith980
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting
"Easy to fit, good quality for the price. Plenty long enough to fit rear gears or brakes. Had in use for over a week and had no issues. Gives smooth changes. Recommended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect,
October 17, 2013
By robray
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to use, great value, and you even get the outers with them too what more can you ask for."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gear selector cable,
September 21, 2013
By Brooky1983
from Nuneaton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This gear selector cable is robust, snooth in operation and wasn't no haste to fit. Must recommend to reserve online though as list price is at least double the price."
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!,
September 17, 2013
By AndyL8
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very cheap as well as good quality cable! Perfet to help me complete my road bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OLD KENT ROAD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
September 12, 2013
By Jimbeam
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this product and managed to shorten it quite easily. Done the job very well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are great cables,
August 06, 2013
By Harp47
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Nothing to say other than the are easy to install and seem good quality"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clarks Universal Bike Gear Cable
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Outer cable not long enough,
June 14, 2013
By srbr
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The outer cable is only 1.5m long so if the cable you are replacing is in one piece from lever to gear then this one is not long enough.
This is not a Universal Bike Gear Cable!
"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>