Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable

The Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable is a pre-stretched brake cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.618 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
30 of 32(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Review 1 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Far too expensive.,
August 12, 2015
By
from Horsham, Horsham, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: ludicrous price
" I drove across town to buy some brake and gear cables, but left the store when I saw the price. I can see no way that thin a piece of wire with metal ends fixed to it can cost even half what Halfords are asking. Sure enough, I looked online and found two brake cables and two gear cables, as a bundle, for a little over half the price of one cable from Halfords. I'm sure Clarks make a fine product, but I won't ever be paying a four or five fold mark up for them. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says,
March 06, 2015
By
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Does the trick, easy to set up. Brakes much improved "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? DUMBARTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
February 21, 2015
By
from Wirral, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, value
Cons: click and collect issues
" Bought some of these cables on special offer and was very pleased with purchase. Despite using click and collect, I had to wait some time while someone ran off to put my order together. However, great product at a great price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great,
February 15, 2015
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap, easy to fit, reliable
" Great product, just what was needed, I reserved online and collected instore and it ended up a lot cheaper than just going to the store :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job perfectly,
January 07, 2015
By
from Cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: road and mtb compatible, cheap
Cons: none
" This is a brake cable, not much to it but great to have both road and MTB accommodated for - just snip off the appropriate end and you're good to go.
Great value item - is the only one I tend to get. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
December 23, 2014
By
from Yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great price and fabulous value. Would recommend to everyone. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DONCASTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is hassle free,
October 24, 2014
By
from Bradford, West Yorkshire BD3, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product is strong and did not mess up and get tangled. It saved me a lot of time and there was no hassle "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable,
October 10, 2014
By
from TA7 8PU
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Total waste off my money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGWATER
-10points
0out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inner Brake Cable,
September 24, 2014
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A good quality brake cable. Buy one if you need it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WANDSWORTH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
September 13, 2014
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
" Great cable,good quality for my single speed i just converted overall happy customer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
inner cable,
September 09, 2014
By
from wellingborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" very good price in fact I bought 2 for spares
keep looking for bargain
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value stainless cable,
August 06, 2014
By
from Folkestone, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great value stainless cable from Halfords. Does the job nicely. Reserve & collect for a great price!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality,
December 13, 2013
By
from swansea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good hard wire
Cons: hard to cut because of quality
" It fits both types of brake cable, so you can be sure you have the right thing. However, you have to cut off the end you do not require, which can leave you with a jaggged, frayed end to thread. So make sure you have a sharp snipper. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works perfect,
December 02, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Just buy online great piece of kit and well made, did the job perfectly "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality,
November 26, 2013
By
from Lowestoft
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, quality
" Been using Clarkes cables for 15years or more. They are cheap and great quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great staff,
November 06, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" the cables as you would expect are just the ticket at a good price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
August 07, 2013
By
from Norwich
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, quality
" Good quality cable and does the same job as any others costing a lot more "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what is says it is,
June 14, 2013
By
from Hull, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
" Very easy to install and plenty of length in the cable to reach the back brakes. Great product!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
universal inner brake cable,
June 12, 2013
By
from blackpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great price
" great item at a great price. fits my sons bmx bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clarks Universal Inner Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal purchase,
June 03, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was looking to replace a worn cable on my daughter's bike and this fitted the bill perfectly.
Easy reservation and pick up service with Halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>