Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clarks Universal Brake Cable

Clarks Universal Brake Cable is easy to fit and helps provide you with reliable braking.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Review 1 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job fine,
September 25, 2014
By NotTaken
from Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: does the job fine, price
Cons: minimal fittings provided
" This did the job for me absolutely fine - very free and smooth. You get one inner cable and one outer, the latter fitted with two removable plastic end pieces (ferrules). Therefore, be aware that if more than one length of outer is required for the job, you will need extra end pieces (of which I have loads), unless you can re-use the existing ones. You also don't get any of the rubber pieces designed to stop the bare cables twanging on the frame, though this might be less of an issue with brake cables rather than gear cables which tend to go slacker. Again, you might be able to re-use the existing ones.
If you buy a kit of two cables of this same make, you get all the necessary fittings you could need - that's how I have accumulated so many of them. :-) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install.,
April 16, 2014
By Robabobby17
from Tyrone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, strong and plenty of lenght
" I was recommended these cables from my local bike mechanic in Halfords, as I was upgrading my road bike from sis shifters till sti shifters, these cables work perfect, and quite easy to fit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? COOKSTOWN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clarks Universal Brake Cable,
October 16, 2013
By ducati916sp
from west sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good value replacement for rear brake cable.
I would think more than long enough for most applications.
Snip off the nipple which is not required,measure the outer sheath against the one being replaced and cut to length.I found the metal of the outer sheath quite hard for a junior hacksaw so resorted to an angle grinder-much easier and completed in seconds.Fixed salavaged ferule to tidy cut end.I cut the inner cable to length once the new cable had been fitted and the brakes adjusted. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good simple product.,
October 03, 2013
By Chavtastic
from Farnborough
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good product. My rear brake would not release very well and this remedied the problem. The previous cable was sticking 1/2 way along the sheathed part of the cable due to rust. The previous cable was 20yrs old so due replacement, chose this because of brand and stainless steel description. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value and easy to fit,
September 29, 2013
By Beabea72
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" If I can do it anyone can. Very easy to fit and even a novice like myself at bike repair could get it to work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product works very well,
May 16, 2013
By TamJP
from Worksop
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, easy to fit, great value
" This product was great! Easy to fit and works excellently. Was very good for the price and has helped me greatly as i use my bike alot. The servive was great and was fast. I am extremely happy with this product and would reccomend it to anybody. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORKSOP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect fit,
May 06, 2013
By Nidge49
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It took me 10 minutes to fit, no problems.
Would recommend!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality for price,
February 26, 2013
By SteveABCD
from Malvern
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Plenty long enough for front or back, good quality armouring, a good pair of cutters is required to get a clean cut. Plastic end caps, expected for this price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MALVERN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clarks Universal Brake Cable,
January 31, 2013
By Jackie288
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
" Only took minutes to change the entire break cable system. Really easy to assemble but make sure you have a good tool (definately not basic scissors!) to cut the cable to the desired length as this is a really good quality and tough cable. If you don't know how to change the break cable just do to youtube:) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brake cable - does was it says on the tin.,
January 16, 2013
By MikeRap
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: helps my brake work again
Cons: doesn't come in a tin.
" This brake cable didn't actually come in a tin, but no matter, I still managed to work out what it was for without any tin based info.
Before installing this cable my back brake didn't function at all, possibly because I there was no cable to make it work. Now I've fitted this cable, my back brake works again. I'm very impressed! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cable,
September 22, 2012
By tattieheed
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent value, great product, very easy to fit and cut "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brake cables,
July 29, 2012
By davemc411971
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great product ans well priced would buy again was delivered on time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
June 07, 2012
By qwfinest
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This product is good value for money, had no problems with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cable,
May 01, 2012
By Frogy
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Plenty of cable for 1 rear disc brake. Does the job intended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clarks Universal Brake Cable,
August 27, 2011
By Rusky
from Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap, decent length
Cons: no ferrules included
" A good value product from a trusted brand. Easily cut to length but isn't supplied with ferrules to stop the end fraying. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Universal Brake Cable,
March 01, 2011
By TheCableGuy
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: stainless inner, suits road or mtb
Cons: none
" Very good buy.
Quality cable at a good price.
:) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clarks Universal Brake Cable
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value,
February 10, 2010
By plintyplay
from london uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a good item but as it comes as standard size i found it to be a little on the long side...
But hey thats not so bad...
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.