Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent

The Urban Escape Altai 2 Man tent is perfect for those who want to camp in comfort and style.
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
25 of 27(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer Reviews for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Review 1 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tent for a two man long weekend away,
May 24, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great two man tent for a long weekend away been using this tent with my partner for the last couple of years.
Great on space with the sleeping compartments and a nice sized porch/communal space to store gear
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Basic but good,
May 12, 2016
By
from Maidstone, Maidstone, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size, height, price
Cons: not the best quality
" Bought for light camping and festivals. As per other reviews, this is much larger than an typical two man tent - easy to sit up in the porch on a camping chair.
Quality isn't the best, but at the price it's not bad at all, and the zips seem robust enough.
Keeps out the water very well too.
As usual, good service from Halfords Maidstone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
urban escape 2 man tent,
September 05, 2015
By
from Darlington, Darlington, Darlington, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease to erect, price, space/room
" Yeh, recently bought as I'm getting back into trekking & this was a steal... For a 2 man tent it's huge, you could fit 3 average or small build ppl in with a little rm to spare. The addition of the covered entrance also adds much more rm to keep everything sheltered & out the rain. Trial fitting its taken me 10-15 to fully erect the tent alone... It's that easy to do
The only slight negative would be the fitment of some Velcro attachments, as about 2 parts seem to be barely attached... Poor needle work there "easy to repair tho"
I'd definitely recommend this tent for anyone "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tent,
July 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is 2 man tent but at a squash you could get 3 in the sleeping area- there is certainly space for 3 children even sleeping across rather than lengthways. The extra space outside the sleeping area is great. We bought 2 weeks ago for the kids to sleep in the garden.didnt take too long to put up and then last Friday we had the storm and torrential rain. The only leaks seem to be in the living space and I suspect from the area that is a vent and I suspect we didn't close it up properly inside.its very spacious and a great value tent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? WORKSOP
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for motorbike camping,
July 09, 2015
By
from Tamworth, Tamworth, Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to pitch lots of space waterproof.
" Bought this a couple of years ago to use with my bike. A few of us go camping regularly and I wanted a tent with a porch area to separate wet gear from the sleeping area of the weather was bad.
First trip we did was in Cumbria, it threw it down with rain constantly the whole weekend. Didn't let a drop in.
Second trip out was Shropshire, great weather and worked perfectly. I really found it easy to put up on my own, simple to follow instructions.
Only complaint I have is a couple of the tie down straps have come away at the rear, but it's an easy fix and this isn't an expensive tent. I also changed the pegs for rock pegs, as these weren't really up to the job, but that's more the terrain than the tent.
Just come back from Wales, North Wales. 3yrd year of ownership has started and still going strong. Really can't complain, especially for the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? TAMWORTH
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
June 15, 2015
By
from Suffolk UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to erect and put away, looking forward to using it for festivals and holidays, lots of room for storage and warm, dry and cosy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good size tent,
June 10, 2015
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size
" This is a big tent for a 2 man it would be a great tent but it is made to a budget and probably won't last long but while it does I will enjoy it if you're looking for a cheap tent I would recommend this one "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent.,
April 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fantastic tent very easily and quickly put up. Durability is excellent. Excellent product 5* rating as I honestly can't fault it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? LONDONDERRY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome tent,
August 25, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: dry and warm
" Fab tent and very dry even in rainy weather ,bed money ever spent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good sized tent for 1, bit tight for 2,
June 18, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" have used this tent while working a few festivals, nice and easy to put up and break downa and repack after
stood up to the rain well enough just some leaking into the front compartment at the base from water running down the outside. has plenty of storage and is fairly well ventilated
grand for one person but a bit tight for two people with full kit. but will still take a double airbed without issue "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
urban escape Altai 2 man tent,
April 13, 2014
By
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" its a great tent for for one person, you could get 2 in the sleeping area. would like to see a sown in groundsheet. easy to put up and take down. looking forward to to using it again and again and again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? HERNE BAY
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not just for single men,
March 21, 2014
By
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: the arrangement of living & sleeping compartments
" As I like more space than provided in a 1 Man tent I bought the Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent last year (2013) for my sole use. Having tried three similar tents previously I had almost given up hope of finding one that I really liked. I am a woman in her 70s, and I found putting it up by myself relatively easy, though it would obviously have been faster if I had had some help. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tent...would recommend,
July 22, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Been away for a few weekends with this tent and it's so easy to put up by myself. The mosquito nets are good and ventilation is good. My only concern with it is that there is a ventilation point just below the door of the inner tent, which sits above the ground sheet. There is no mosquito netting here so anything can gain access here!! Not sure if I've a dodgy tent but seems a big design flaw?? I'll get some netting added for my own piece of mind. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jtb,
July 14, 2013
By
from rochdale
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: more than happy for money
" I got one it is a huge tent for a 2 man tent I have seen 3 man tents smaller than this one and a lot more money and not as good. ground sheet is a clip in raised edges better than just a standard one for in bad weather, I got this for tt and mgp and over the years been washed out a lot of this is down to ground sheets more than happy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent. Spacious for 2,
July 07, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: usability features, corded poles, carry bag
Cons: a bit bulky for backpack use
" Very thoughtfully designed. Poles are corded and colour coded. Possibly the first indicator that this is a very well thought-out product is when you unpack it you notice an expansion zip in the bottom of the bag which allows you to re-pack it into the bag without a 3-week course in parachute maintenance.
A bit fiddly to keep the flysheet away from the extension of the sleeping end.
Performed very well over 3 nights - though admittedly the weather was ideal for camping so not a proper test.
Great tent, not to be treated as a "disposable" festival tent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? ANDOVER
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All you'll ever need from a 2man tent,
June 23, 2013
By
from Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
" I've been using one of these continuously for the past 2 months and have marvelled at its quality over others I've had in the past. For a start it's HUGE for a 2-man, there's space for 2 people, their luggage and their bikes!
Despite an appalling spring and summer nothing has phased it. Torrential rain is just a pleasant murmur on the roof and gale force winds will not move it. It goes up in 2mins with practice.Everything fits. the groundsheet has raised edges all round to keep water out and it all still works the same as it did out of the box.
Ventilation is fantastic with no draughts in high winds but no condensation either.
Can't recommend it highly enough "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy put up,
June 22, 2013
By
from Chester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This tent is very easy and quick to put up and is excellent value for the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality Tent,
June 06, 2013
By
from Wiltshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cons: poor quality
" Got 2 of these a couple of weeks back as thought they would be ideal for taking on the bikes...
1 had the Zip fall apart first time used & the other had a pole fall apart..
Took them back & got a refund..
Not a tent I would buy ever again.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
May 29, 2013
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great product for it price, very cheap and good quality, had extra tent pegs and a repair kit with all the bits. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Survived Irish rain and wind,
May 29, 2013
By
from Limerick Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Decided to go camping after a 20 year gap and selected this tent as my best option since I travelled by motorcycle. It's probably a little weighty for hiking but ideal on the bike. Tent was simple to erect but I practiced before my departure and this helped. Plenty of space for one person and could be suitable for two.
I was genuinely surprised at the stability of the tent in wind conditions and not a single drop of rain penetrated - I'm old school camper and the days of canvas are over for me now for sure!
Great tent and great value. It will be interesting to see how long it lasts..
I am very impressed with the construct and clever arrangement for hanging the sleeping compartment as well as the fold up ground sheet for both compartments. I highly recommend this tent.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>