Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent

The Urban Escape Altai 2 Man tent is perfect for those who want to camp in comfort and style.
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Review 1 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good sized tent for 1, bit tight for 2,
June 18, 2014
By gsr265
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"have used this tent while working a few festivals, nice and easy to put up and break downa and repack after
stood up to the rain well enough just some leaking into the front compartment at the base from water running down the outside. has plenty of storage and is fairly well ventilated
grand for one person but a bit tight for two people with full kit. but will still take a double airbed without issue"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
urban escape Altai 2 man tent,
April 13, 2014
By camper107
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"its a great tent for for one person, you could get 2 in the sleeping area. would like to see a sown in groundsheet. easy to put up and take down. looking forward to to using it again and again and again"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? HERNE BAY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not just for single men,
March 21, 2014
By HappilyMarried
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: the arrangement of living & sleeping compartments
"As I like more space than provided in a 1 Man tent I bought the Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent last year (2013) for my sole use. Having tried three similar tents previously I had almost given up hope of finding one that I really liked. I am a woman in her 70s, and I found putting it up by myself relatively easy, though it would obviously have been faster if I had had some help."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tent...would recommend,
July 22, 2013
By CollyMc
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Been away for a few weekends with this tent and it's so easy to put up by myself. The mosquito nets are good and ventilation is good. My only concern with it is that there is a ventilation point just below the door of the inner tent, which sits above the ground sheet. There is no mosquito netting here so anything can gain access here!! Not sure if I've a dodgy tent but seems a big design flaw?? I'll get some netting added for my own piece of mind."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jtb,
July 14, 2013
By jtb1
from rochdale
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: more than happy for money
"I got one it is a huge tent for a 2 man tent I have seen 3 man tents smaller than this one and a lot more money and not as good. ground sheet is a clip in raised edges better than just a standard one for in bad weather, I got this for tt and mgp and over the years been washed out a lot of this is down to ground sheets more than happy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent. Spacious for 2,
July 07, 2013
By llampsh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: usability features, corded poles, carry bag
Cons: a bit bulky for backpack use
"Very thoughtfully designed. Poles are corded and colour coded. Possibly the first indicator that this is a very well thought-out product is when you unpack it you notice an expansion zip in the bottom of the bag which allows you to re-pack it into the bag without a 3-week course in parachute maintenance.
A bit fiddly to keep the flysheet away from the extension of the sleeping end.
Performed very well over 3 nights - though admittedly the weather was ideal for camping so not a proper test.
Great tent, not to be treated as a "disposable" festival tent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? ANDOVER
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All you'll ever need from a 2man tent,
June 23, 2013
By Greengrass204
from Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"I've been using one of these continuously for the past 2 months and have marvelled at its quality over others I've had in the past. For a start it's HUGE for a 2-man, there's space for 2 people, their luggage and their bikes!
Despite an appalling spring and summer nothing has phased it. Torrential rain is just a pleasant murmur on the roof and gale force winds will not move it. It goes up in 2mins with practice.Everything fits. the groundsheet has raised edges all round to keep water out and it all still works the same as it did out of the box.
Ventilation is fantastic with no draughts in high winds but no condensation either.
Can't recommend it highly enough"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy put up,
June 22, 2013
By Doylies
from Chester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This tent is very easy and quick to put up and is excellent value for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality Tent,
June 06, 2013
By VoodooCustoms
from Wiltshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cons: poor quality
"Got 2 of these a couple of weeks back as thought they would be ideal for taking on the bikes...
1 had the Zip fall apart first time used & the other had a pole fall apart..
Took them back & got a refund..
Not a tent I would buy ever again.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
May 29, 2013
By Loll17
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great product for it price, very cheap and good quality, had extra tent pegs and a repair kit with all the bits."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Survived Irish rain and wind,
May 29, 2013
By Biker69
from Limerick Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Decided to go camping after a 20 year gap and selected this tent as my best option since I travelled by motorcycle. It's probably a little weighty for hiking but ideal on the bike. Tent was simple to erect but I practiced before my departure and this helped. Plenty of space for one person and could be suitable for two.
I was genuinely surprised at the stability of the tent in wind conditions and not a single drop of rain penetrated - I'm old school camper and the days of canvas are over for me now for sure!
Great tent and great value. It will be interesting to see how long it lasts..
I am very impressed with the construct and clever arrangement for hanging the sleeping compartment as well as the fold up ground sheet for both compartments. I highly recommend this tent.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waterproof wonder!,
September 01, 2012
By PurpleHippy
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very waterproof, lots of pockets on inside of tent, easy to put up and down, can sit on chair inside porch area.
Cons: cant have door open when its raining, if raining- rain runs inside when you open door, need to bring a doormat
"I bought this tent for a long weekend away in Norfolk and I camped on a cliff top site. It was very easy to put up, I think a lot easier than my other dome tent as the poles dont have to cross over. The poles do have tape to identifiy them but generally you can see which one is which by laying them out next to each other- The odd one goes in the middle. There are only 3 poles and when it was extremely windy they did not snap unlike other tents on the site that night. when it rained it was very dry and very warm. The material really is 3000 thick (as I found out when we had to fold it to put it back in the bag and the air was hard to get out) the bedroom is massive with pockets all the way along on both sides.There are also handy pockets in porch area which i used to keep my car keys and matches to hand. The porch area was tall enough to sit in on a chair and had a separate groundsheet. The ground sheet clips to the pegs all around and is shaped like a boot liner with turned up edges. The only thing was you cant have the door open if it is raining as it all runs off the roof into the doorway and if you are camped on a slight incline runs all the way across the floor. So my tip was to use car floor mats and put these in the doorway for when you open and close door in the rain. It isdefinately a winner. I love it. Cant wait to camp in it again! (hope I remember door mats)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ron's Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent,
August 16, 2012
By BikerRon
from Castleford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The poles are very sturdy, but the colour coding is actually a bit of grey tape around each end of one of the poles, which after a few uses won't be there anymore. It should have a different coloured pole for the centre.
Inside it is very spacious. it's more like a 3 man tent. I put up a camping chair inside the entrance and was able to sit upright and not hit the roof(I'm 5'9"). I wasn't impressed with the way the inner tent fastens directly to the loop that that the pegs use. Although the system kind of makes up for this by having tensioners to pull the flyshheet over them
. A back door would have been handy, but you can't have everything .
The loop for the light to hang on should be in the middle of the tent and not at the front so as to illuminate the bedroom better even with the bedroom door zipped up, and easier to reach for turning on and off in the middle of the night..
Forget what others say. This tent weighs 6.5 kilos; not 4.5 or 5.5. I weighed it myself.
I have listed all the bad points that i found when i erected the tent, but having said all that I still like the tent.
It's spacious in the front section, and in the bedroom;
it has a 3000 hydrostatic rating (I hope it's right); (2000 is a good rating).
It's tall for a 2 man tent 140cm at the highest point; Makes a change not having to crawl to get into the tent.
Easy to pitch; I did it on my own with no problems.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking wee tent,
July 25, 2012
By dafthermit
from Scottish Highlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A brilliant wee tent , that stood up to some cracking storms here in the mountains of Scotland .. and is so easy to put up if an old idiot like me can dae it then anyone can.. love and light and happy camping"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst tent ever owned,
May 19, 2012
By Anonymous
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: badly and strangely designed. not waterproof!
"I'm guessing the other reviewers never used this in the rain, or even in a light shower, as I'm currently sat in one of these in a field in France, we've had some showers (not even proper rain) and the water is literally just dripping straight through. And we bought this one cos it claimed to be twice as waterproof as the Halfords own brand tents. To say I'm not a happy chappy is an understatement! On top of that, the 'double layer' it talks about is only the sleeping area, so there are huge gaps for bugs, spiders, frogs etc to get into the living area. To summarise, it's a con. Worst designed and manufactured tent I've ever used."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-4points
9out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent,
May 22, 2011
By Bazzaswife
from s wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"easy to assemble great for few nights nights camping, good storage space"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good spec tent for Summer Festivals,
May 16, 2011
By McDom
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, quality
Cons: a bit heavy to take on the bike
"This tent meets the brief in providing robust and comfortable shelter (occasional use) without having to break the bank - perfect for Summer Festivals. I particularly wanted a tent with a separate compartment for storage etc - don't always get that with 2 man tents. Hope to use if for a few years to come, but, at the price (on offer) it won't be the end of the world if something happens to it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Urban Escape Altai 2 Man Tent
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Urban Escape,
March 20, 2011
By iglooinspector
from Surrey
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: space - outer area can sleep two smalls, value for money, great car-camping tent
Cons: finish ok but could be better, kids won't let us have it back, weight if backpacking
"Perfect design for the job - spacious 2 -3 season car-camping weekender with the kids and dog and well up to longer stays. Ours doubles as garden play home. Clever hi-glo guy lines.
Fabric and finish in line with the price, and the truth is the fabric is fine. The only reason for the three stars on quality is the peg tab finish. And if Halford also upped the seam quality a little they would turn a good small-but-big tent into a classic and it would be straight four stars. NB This should not stop you buying one as the tabs are simple to fix if they ever do fail, and otherwise it's OK."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+48points
51out of 54found this review helpful.