Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"

Apollo Paradox Mountain Bike can be used on and off the road with 21-speed Shimano gearing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.13 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
3
63 of 76(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent*,
January 27, 2014
By Joshlarrr
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Brilliant for value.
The quality is excellent.
Performance is great, on road and off.
Overall ration 5/5.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value,
January 07, 2014
By HevB
from Leeds
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good bike and value for money. We have seen several reviews for this bike and it appears to be a quality product (for what we paid)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Paradox,
January 06, 2014
By Anonymous
from crawley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great bike
Cons: bad assembly
"Great bike very sturdy. Would recommend. Not to impressed with the Crawley store that built it, as the front wheel was loose after the bike was supposed to be fully assembled."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New bike for my son,
January 05, 2014
By Kierantula
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes, lightweight construction, front and rear suspension
"A well built well equipped bike. Great value for money!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gradient Bike,
January 04, 2014
By Cyclist9999
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good product with desired features. Excellent customer service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice bike but !,
December 20, 2013
By zack13
from staffordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"went to collect next day as reserved. but told had not got one in stock! promised would get it in 2 working day,s had to wait ten day,s had to keep pestering them.very poor service. was birthday pressie for grandson"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good bike and service,
December 10, 2013
By Anonymous
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"my son loves the bike ,service was fantastic nothing was to much trouble"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Paradox A+++,
November 27, 2013
By ApolloFan333
from Livingston, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike - no complaints. Easy to dismantle, and re assemble. Suspension is good all round. Easy interchangeable gears. Read on other reviews about having to wear in the brakes, but again, had no trouble with this at all. Brilliant purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Which Store did you visit? LIVINGSTON
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bike paradox mens bike,
November 01, 2013
By Polo29
from stockton on tees
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: great bike
"The bike is very slick and very well made I am guna get 1 of these bikes disc breaks and susspention back and front very nice"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
utter rubbish,
September 14, 2013
By scott8259
from peterborough
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: disc are good built quality okay
Cons: back wheel cogs rubbish!
"i brought the bike on tuesday 10/09/13 and probally rode it for about 1 hour on wednesday and half an hour on thursday morning.. could feel the back wheel jumping so i took it back baring in mind i only road it on the road within the 2 days of purchase, they said my back hubs had gone, so they said they would replace them so i went back the same night and i have only rode it on the road and today is saturday 14/09/13 and the same has happened again, twice this has happened within not even a space of a week!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-11points
3out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent ride,
September 13, 2013
By Mac5064
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: weight
"Really good budget bike, light weight and easy to take off road if required gearing system is so easy to use with its twist grip"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A fun bike, but will require a lot of maintenance,
September 12, 2013
By BobR294
from South East England
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: gears, looks, bell
Cons: brakes, chain, suspension
"I've had this bike for nearly three years (bought it when it was called Apollo Kanyon), and it rides really well, most of the time.
I've found the bike very easy to ride both on and off-road, and surprisingly good up-hill, and it holds itself at speed, although the full suspension makes it really bouncy.
The brakes seem impossible to adjust properly, as the brake housing never stays in place, and they don't take long to wear down. They make a very interesting noise when wet aswell, something between a squeak and a horn, but there's always something clicking or squeaking or rubbing.
The tyres are really fat and give great grip, although they do seem prone to punctures, and I frequently find myself pushing the bike home. If not for a puncture, the chain seems prone to breaking. I've had three chain links break so far.
The seat is really comfortable, and long journeys aren't a problem.
Overall well worth the money, but just be prepared to do a lot of maintenance to it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It broke after 10 days,
September 12, 2013
By Greekate
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this bike for my son to get to college and back. Unfortunately after 10 days the cogs broke. Halfords have fixed it for me same day. But I am wondering if this is the beginning of a constant issue. Apart from that it is a great bike and my son enjoys riding it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 3
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not bad for the money, but don't use it on any trails!,
September 05, 2013
By stevesmythuk
from York UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: good looking bike, nice ride around town/ on canal paths, not bad level or equipement, disc brakes are good for the price of bike
Cons: weight, poor quality steel seatpost/headset/handle bar, awful rims for off road use, no replaceable rear dropout.
"I've owned this bike for a few years now, and it was the first bike i'd bought myself for a long time.
the bike was mainly used on the road for trips round town, and saw only light use for a few years. for this purpose the bike was great, but very heavy, weighing in at around 17.5KG for my bike before accessories.
I then became interested in mountain biking, and hadn't really done much research into the sport, and took this bike to Dalby Forest in North Yorks.
This bike is totally unsuitable for any hard off road work.
after 2 trips to Dalby (which has only a few jumps and very rough rock sections) and isn't even that bad, the following parts had been broken or damaged.
- Seat Post (adjuster bolt worn out due to being soft steel.)
- Front Shock (Springs have totally worn out, bike now rests at half travel meaning no shock absorption over bumps.)
- Wheels (both wheels have been bent slightly as their only single wall, so not up to doing jumps or very rough stuff).
- Rear Derailuer (bent out of shape when it clipped a rock, luckily bent back into shape, but not great).
Rust - (The only time the bike ever got wet was on the two
Dalby runs, other then that its been only used on sunny days, and stored in a dry heated garage.)
also bear in mind that the rear derailuer hanger cannot be replaced, so if broken the frames ruined.
Crank set - left hand crank became loose and the bottom bracket actually broke.
It's also worth mentioning the horrific vibration the bike transmits through to cockpit due to the steel headset and handle bars, alloy replacements make a massive difference and also lighten the bike.
I'm giving the bike a fair review, around town its decent value and not a bad ride, but the rear shock is totally pointless on the road and just adds to the weight and price of the bike, but the bike also doesn't have the quality or ability for real off road work.
Keep it on Canal paths, and for gentle rides through some woodland and its actually not a bad bike. but selling it as a mountain bike is a little unfair."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BEVERLEY
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Depends how you ride it.,
September 04, 2013
By alexr788
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the speed, the brakes, size, seat, gears, reliability, ride (on road)
Cons: weight, accelleration, rear suspension, off road handling, gear ratio (needs constant adjustment)
"Bought this bike after i got rid of my woefully unreliable Apollo FX. Overall its not a bad bike its sturdy, reliable 3 years still works as well as it did new. Well balanced goes like a freight train (with the acceleration to match) the brakes are brill and the ride is comfortable on smooth roads but as an off road bike it is by no means composed or comfortable on anything slightly bumpy, despite being stupidly heavy the front suspension does very well absorbing the rough going but the rear does very little until you hit a crater then it just bounces you all over the place giving the impression of sitting upon a wooden jelly......But rounded up a pretty pleasing road bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money, not great performance,
September 04, 2013
By Roger26
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: cheap, looks good, disc brakes
Cons: cheap parts, grip shifts, tyres feel unstable
"Bike would be ok for gentle use, but having pushed it a bit off road everything started creaking (constantly) especially the crank and/or bottom bracket, and it's pretty heavy as well.
Overall depends on what you want the bike for, if you're going to push it a bit more then look to spend a bit more"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AWESOME BIKE,
September 03, 2013
By BikerLad1
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"This bike is truly beautiful.
It is such a smooth ride with fantastic, comfortable grips. The disc brakes are fantastic, more reliable and in every way this bike is amazing and is high quality overall.
It is extremely fast and allows you to reach incredible speeds and I'm very happy with it. Great ride, no problems at all and it is a great looking bike as well.
I would recommend this product, a truly quality bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish bike / waste of money,
August 20, 2013
By Momocoates
from Hull
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this bike and it is falling apart already and things aren't working as they should I would not recommend this product to anyone because it is a waste of money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
-11points
6out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value,
August 04, 2013
By Wolvesarepwnage
from Banbury
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, good service
"Decent quality bicycle at a reasonable price with very good service from the staff."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Paradox Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice,
August 01, 2013
By laser242
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"gears needed some adjustments, overall good bike.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? EALING
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1234next>>