Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer

The Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer boasts seven functions to assist you in training.
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(165 Reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (165 reviews)
5 stars
119
4 stars
39
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
157 of 164(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cycle computer,
August 30, 2015
By
from Nottngham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great kit for any bike easy set up pleased with it and good price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hit and miss,
July 28, 2015
By
from Carlisle, Carlisle, Cumbria, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Both my gf and myself have these on our road bikes. We seldom get a full reading eg mileage as both computers go off in the same places, nearing large radio or tv masts and even some wind turbines. It is very frustrating and I feel a waste of time having them on the bikes. If they worked all the time they would be given top marks "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CARLISLE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value for basic computer,
July 25, 2015
By
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: poor attachment process
" I couldn't warrant the cost of a garmin nor did I need such detailed info. However, was interested in seeing distance travelled, speed & a clock. This provides all this at such a low price. Easy to read & reset on each ride, the instructions aren't the best but easy to set up if you persevere & you can red between 26 & 27 inch wheel bikes, although to do so means having to connect all the components via zip ties - so not recommended. At this price it's easier to buy one for each bike! My only criticism is the attachment by use of zip ties - a quick release bracket would be better but appreciate that would add to the cost. If used in conjunction with mobile phone " maps" & Estrada like I do, you have a complete computer for your trips without depleting your mobile battery. Great value at this price if you only want the basic ride info. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use & clear to understand,
July 19, 2015
By
from Romford, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, clear to understand
Cons: only basic info
" Easy to set up ...
Clear to read & understand
No over complicated instructions but basic information!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cateye Computer,
July 05, 2015
By
from Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to install,easy to read while riding and simple 1 push button to view other functions, "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (HARBOROUGH HILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value,
June 28, 2015
By
from Hucknall, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: no headset bolt mount option
" Looks good easy to fit, tells you all you need to know about your ride, easy to read whilst you ride, would definitely recommend. Would have liked a headset mount option though "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, easy fit and does exactly what it says it will do! Well done Halfords great price too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Cycle Computer,
May 04, 2015
By
from Cheadle
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: nothing
" Great value in a sale, easy to fit, tells you all you need to know about your ride, easy to read whilst you ride, would definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer,
April 29, 2015
By
from Wirral, Wirral, Merseyside CH60, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to fit and programme.
Easy to use and clear in most light conditions.
Seems reliable as I have another one on another cycle and no problems with that one since purchase over 12 months ago.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not Wireless,
April 29, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Wire Less is a bit miss leading as you need to attach a sensor to the wheel and then a wire up the front forks to the unit. Not very wire less "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for the commuter.,
April 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The unit was really easy to mount on my bike, the instructions gave ample guidance and it was really easy to set up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great buy,
March 30, 2015
By
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This was a great buy.Gives all information required to record your ride.Looks good on the bike as well! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick & Easy,
March 08, 2015
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is my second purchase of this computer. The first has been in daily use for the last three years, and is still going strong. It is easy to fit, program and read whilst cycling. It has only seven functions (all the main ones) making it quick and easy to use. I have found it to be reasonably accurate and a good training aid. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cateye velo wireless,
March 02, 2015
By
from Arbroath
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good bit of kit. Got 10% off online. Great value for money. This is my second one as i have 2 bikes. Well worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ARBROATH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A simple way of viewing your performance,
February 23, 2015
By
from norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: large digits, wireless, ease of fitting
Cons: difficulty removing unit from holder
" The Cateye wireless cycle computer is a basic computer for leisure riding. It is simple to use and records everything that the leisure cyclist needs. Very simple to install and set up (which must be done before the unit is clipped into the bar holder. Removing the unit from the holder can be a little tricky and needs gentle force). I have experience of another Cateye computer and it has proved itself over the last ten years - one battery change. Quality is excellent, large digits for ease of viewing and Halfords did a price match with one of the top mail order companies. A very satisfied customer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic piece if kit,
February 22, 2015
By
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does what it says on the tin,easy to set up & easy to use. Big numbers that are easy to see "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cateye Velo Wireless Computer,
February 16, 2015
By
from Livingston, West Lothian, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great piece of kit with good basic fuctions but buy yourself an "out of front monitor" (cateye OF100) for ease of use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LIVINGSTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is very easy to use,
February 16, 2015
By
from Dorking
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to read and operate
Cons: an extra trip would be nice
" Simple design, big clear screen, easy to operate even with big winter gloves. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DORKING
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy fit and usage,
February 16, 2015
By
from Farnborough, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality appearance cost
Cons: nthing
" I bought this to replace my old Sigma wired computer. Although the Cateye has less features, the ones it does have are enough for my needs. The display is clear and scrolling through the functions is very easy even with winter gloves on. Fitting was a doddle, taking less than 10 minutes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cateye Velo Wire less Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good ,solid product,does the job.,
January 22, 2015
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: no wiring!
" With the seven functions,all the basics are covered for me.Sturdy ,robust build feel,not flimsy.Not had this item for long but all seems fine so far - not sure about ease of fitting as I decided to pay an extra fiver in store for them to fit for me,which they did in less than ten minutes.Recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>