Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer

The Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer boasts seven functions to assist you in training.
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
70
4 stars
22
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
92 of 97(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to fit,
July 03, 2014
By catnic
from Cumbria, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, size, simplicity
"Have had the product for 4 weeks and done 243 miles using it.really easy to fit, simple instructions easy to use, sits nice on handle bars.good value for money.If you can live with out the bells and whistles that the more expensive ones offer than you can't really go wrong with this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORKINGTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic, cheap bike computer,
June 19, 2014
By DPP1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'd owned a previous wireless cateye computer but lost the head unit. This works fine, was relatively easy to set up and communicated with the old sensor which was still on my bike.
Will probably upgrade to a GPS computer when I get back into regular cycling but this is fine for now.
The Halfords price was as cheap as any other supplier but more convenient as the store is close to my home."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Difficult to fix to handlebars,
April 20, 2014
By NickC
from Colchester
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: hard to fix
"Given to me as a free upgrade swap by Halfords for another brand that was faulty. I found it difficult to mount the computer on my handlebars. They give you a very small piece of self adehsive rubber to fit under the mounting and two pull ties. The tiny rubber backing is very hard to fit and tends to stretch and tear. Unit worked fine on first ride then started to get erratic. Wheel sensor seemed fine so tried to mount the computer on the opposite handlebar. No rubber piece now (It disintegrated) and no pull ties of course. Bought more plastic pull ties and trying different ways of getting it to stay in place with out moving."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DOES NOT WORK WITH REAR WHEEL,
January 11, 2014
By orscott
from Southampton
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: features, style
Cons: range, price, description, information provided, mounting bracket
"Product doesn't work with rear wheel, despite being within the 70cm limit.
Doesn't say the range online, or on the packaging so be warned.
Returned within 2 hours of purchase.
No use for indoor training.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
December 31, 2013
By madbadray
from Warrington
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to use. A great help with training, does what it says on the box!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST EVERDAY COMPUTER,
December 19, 2013
By milo22
from southport, uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: battery life, value, functions
"I use this everyday for commuting for last 2 years, never had any problems, battery life is excellent. only brought a new one as the screen is scratched. have also used it for 100mile + rides
fully recommend this to anyone, excellent product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? ORMSKIRK
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cateye,
December 09, 2013
By Portstewart
from Portstewart
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease to use
"Wanted something to let me know how far I travel so was recommended this product by my son and it's great. Very easy to use. I do find however that the written instructions are quite hard to follow.The unit is good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COLERAINE
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does work,
November 25, 2013
By Marksxm
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This cycle computer although is a budget product it still does the job, 7 functions are enough for me but you may look at other products if you ask more"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great,
November 02, 2013
By Tel3
from Castleford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought this on the 12th September 2013
great product would recommend to all
but wait till in the sale for best value
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of kit,
October 20, 2013
By Curtly
from Mansfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have bought 2 now, one for my nephew. Would definitely buy recommend to other cyclists"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does what you want at a great price,
October 17, 2013
By graeme78
from durham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"its easy to fit and set up and is good quality. does what you want for the price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product works well,
October 17, 2013
By Harristribe
from Sevenoaks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"A good cycle computer easy to read and change functions while riding"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cat eye velo wireless,
October 17, 2013
By spiderkelly
from Bournemouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: how it looks, easy to use display.simple
"Sleek looking little thing. Doesn't stick out like a sore thumb on the bars. Very easy to use. A great little addition that comes in handy and is very easy to fit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very simple and clear to use,
October 15, 2013
By Finbardoobang
from Penzance, Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of set up, ease of use
"Bought this product after reading the reviews on it. I am not disappointed in any way.
Very easy to set up and keeps an accurate reading of how far I have travelled.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
October 07, 2013
By Kyle21
from Bournemouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: display, ease of use, features
Cons: none
"Reserved the item online and was ready to collect in 15 minutes. Easy to set up with a good amount of features on it. Good size display and seems accurate."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Badly let down by poor mount,
October 06, 2013
By grizzly47
from Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: comp works fine
Cons: rubbish mounts, really rubbish mounts
"I've got about 500 miles on mine now and the computer works just fine but, and it's a big but, it's badly let down by the rubbish mount.
Cateye bike lights have decent brackets and my old wired Cateye comp on my road bike does too but this one has a nasty little saddle held to the bike by a couple of skinny tiewraps. It's impossible to tighten securely and to make up for that you get a gummy little stick-on pad to go underneath. None of that works well and if you try to mount it on a tapering bar, perhaps because it's pretty much the only clear space left you will be disappointed.
I twice tried mounting on the handlebar stem but both times it was quickly wiped off by clothing.
The sensor bracket is similar but so far that hasn't given trouble.
I'd guess other comps will work as well in their electronic functions so in future I'd pay closer attention to the mechanics of the device. It wouldn't be one of these for that reason."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot on,
September 30, 2013
By PBaggins
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This thing does exactly what you need it to do without any fancy shenanigans. It's easy to install and to calibrate/set the time and that. It is running darned near exactly on with what my phones GPS is telling me too.
Speed, distance, ride time, odometer, current time, average speed, & wireless; what more could you ever want.
I think that the lovely people at Halfords price match it with one of the other places you may be looking at buying this, so make sure you reserve it on-line and go and pick it up in the shop and thus save yourself a tenner or so.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value for money,
September 27, 2013
By JohnF51
from Warwickshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent product that was easily installed onto my bicycle using only the accessories supplied."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple but useful cycle gadget,
September 24, 2013
By nihilo68
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: clear display, works well in all conditions
Cons: mount could be better
"The Cateye Velo is a simple to install and simple to use product, which adds a useful training dimension to daily rides."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good quality,
September 21, 2013
By Rocky2010
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value, quality, big screen, features
"I would highly recommend this product. It does everything you would want it to do and is very good value. I have only done about 100 miles with this product so far and it has done well and has survived through heavy rain. It is very easy to use and install and has a nice big screen which I think is a big advantage."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>