Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer

The Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer boasts seven functions to assist you in training.
Average Customer Rating:
4.648 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(179 Reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (179 reviews)
5 stars
129
4 stars
43
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
171 of 178(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Product,
January 31, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Would strongly recommend this product very reliable, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2nd purchase of this item,
January 20, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy fit, easy read
" bought a 2nd bike and this product was still going strong on 1st bike telling me basics such as speed and distance and times, so thought i would purchase again, was on offer so great value. Obviously if you want more than the basics you will need to spend quite a big more but this does the job for me. So easy to set up and fit too with no wires to look awful or get damaged. Good screen size too so never have a problem seeing digits no matter the weather. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product @ the right price,
January 01, 2016
By
from cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this is the second one I've bought ,the first is still working well after 3 years on another bike. great piece of kit and so easy to fit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (NEWPORT RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A bit of fun.,
December 29, 2015
By
from Cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price
Cons: none
" Treated my self to a road bike for Christmas great fun decided to put a computer on and got a cat eye it made it more enjoyable easy to put on worked fist time it brings that little bit more enjoyment to cycling great value . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (GABALFA)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simple and easy to use,
December 29, 2015
By
from solihull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" the computer was a christmas gift so has not not been used thus far . having had many cateye computers over the years expect it to be fine which is why I bought it .
Halfords cycling staff very helpful credit to the company.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SHELDON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality Cycle Computer,
December 25, 2015
By
from Yeovil, Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: display clear and easy to read
Cons: can't enter the current total mileage back in
" Very easy to install on my hybrid bike. Very easy to set up but my particular tyre size was not given in the list in the user setup instructions. However, there is a very much more comprehensive list of tyre sizes which can be downloaded from the Cateye website. This gave me the correct tyre circumference to program into the computer.
The display is very clear and very readable.
The only downside is the odometer function is not programmable so when a new battery is fitted to the computer, you can't program the current total mileage back in afterwards. Probably worth recording the total mileage each time before you change the battery.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and good value,
November 06, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was looking to upgrade my ancient wired Cateye cycle computer and have not been disappointed with this replacement. Used recently for a weeks cycling holiday and it performed perfectly every day rain or not.
Very easy to fit and easy to use.
Has all the basic functions I needed however a minor niggle is that it doesn't store a cumulative total mileage once reset. .....unless I've missed it!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
October 19, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very easy to set up
" Lots functions very easy to set up. Only real gripe is the way it connects to handle bars when off road it does sin around as only held with tie wraps. On the whole gave good vale for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WOODGREEN
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wireless Cycle computer,
October 18, 2015
By
from DF
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great price, does what it says simple to fit and more than happy with product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First good wireless,
October 11, 2015
By
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simplicity
" Always previously used wired computers after bad experiences with wireless on mountain bikes. I've put this on a road bike and it does exactly as it says on the tin. Easy to set up, clear to read and bought on offer for £23, so very pleased so far. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cateye Velo Wire Less Computer,
September 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money, accurate and easy to use
" Excellent product and great value for the money. Does what it says on the tin. Has all the main functions. I also use strava but use the velo to check stats whilst riding. On most rides I have found distances, average speeds etc. to be comparable with strava and mostly accurate. Easy to set up and user friendly when riding. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practical & good value,
September 18, 2015
By
from Berks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: essential features, good size screen, easy to fit, good value
Cons: holder fastened by cable tie
" Ideal if all you want to know is distance travelled, average & top speeds. Has big easy to read screen. Simple to fit to bike. Well made & affordable. If you want more features go for a more sophisticated ( & more expensive) option.
Other reviewer criticised holder arrangement. Yes, cable ties bit basic. Holder on next model up is fitted by hand tightened bolt through ring holder. Much better.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? READING (SOUTH)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cateye Velo wireless cycle computor,
September 11, 2015
By
from Cornwall, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: nice and simple
" This product does all you need, it has all the basic functions and it was a bargain at the price.Easy to set up .Very pleased . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TRURO
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gret value for the sale price I paid,
September 09, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: accuracy
Cons: none yet
" Saved over £100 on this product..well pleased !! Calculations are only made while bike is in motion therefore giving accurate information. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cycle computer,
August 30, 2015
By
from Nottngham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great kit for any bike easy set up pleased with it and good price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hit and miss,
July 28, 2015
By
from Carlisle, Carlisle, Cumbria, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Both my gf and myself have these on our road bikes. We seldom get a full reading eg mileage as both computers go off in the same places, nearing large radio or tv masts and even some wind turbines. It is very frustrating and I feel a waste of time having them on the bikes. If they worked all the time they would be given top marks "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CARLISLE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value for basic computer,
July 25, 2015
By
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: poor attachment process
" I couldn't warrant the cost of a garmin nor did I need such detailed info. However, was interested in seeing distance travelled, speed & a clock. This provides all this at such a low price. Easy to read & reset on each ride, the instructions aren't the best but easy to set up if you persevere & you can red between 26 & 27 inch wheel bikes, although to do so means having to connect all the components via zip ties - so not recommended. At this price it's easier to buy one for each bike! My only criticism is the attachment by use of zip ties - a quick release bracket would be better but appreciate that would add to the cost. If used in conjunction with mobile phone " maps" & Estrada like I do, you have a complete computer for your trips without depleting your mobile battery. Great value at this price if you only want the basic ride info. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use & clear to understand,
July 19, 2015
By
from Romford, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, clear to understand
Cons: only basic info
" Easy to set up ...
Clear to read & understand
No over complicated instructions but basic information!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cateye Computer,
July 05, 2015
By
from Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to install,easy to read while riding and simple 1 push button to view other functions, "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (HARBOROUGH HILL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value,
June 28, 2015
By
from Hucknall, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: no headset bolt mount option
" Looks good easy to fit, tells you all you need to know about your ride, easy to read whilst you ride, would definitely recommend. Would have liked a headset mount option though "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>