Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer

The Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer boasts seven functions to assist you in training.
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(198 Reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (198 reviews)
5 stars
146
4 stars
45
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
190 of 197(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cats whiskers of a Catseye computer,
July 13, 2016
By
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up
Cons: none
" Excellent product could not find a fault, very easy to set up. This a quality product and should give long service "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good features , easy to fit and set up,
July 10, 2016
By
from wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" good features , easy to fit and set up , very clear info , good choice of fittings for different bikes too "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cycle Computer,
June 30, 2016
By
from Kinrossshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easily mounted and clips in easily, works automatically when clipped in
" I already had one of these for my older 26 inch wheeled ATB and am pleased with it. I had considered buying a new sensor and mountings for my new 700 wheeled hybrid but online sources wanted over £40. Using the same computer for both bikes would have meant regular resetting of the wheel size in the settings so buying a second unit seemed a good idea. I have just used the new unit for the first time and the settings match well when I compared the distance against an OS map. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
June 24, 2016
By
from Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to install excellent product does exactly what I bought it for big display but unit itself not to big for handlebar space "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PORT TALBOT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer,
June 23, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fantastic piece of kit.
Easy to install and setup.
It's made my cycling more focused and fun.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cheap looking,
June 20, 2016
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: la ou
Cons: won las
" Arrived a halfords o collec his iem ha i had reserved, he could no find i so had o ge anoher one. Iem looks cheap bu does everhing ou wan i o do. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LOWESTOFT
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
June 15, 2016
By
from Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire CV37, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy one button operation, easy to read
" Easy to fit, easy to use and easy to read at speed. One button does it all. Excellent value for money. Only had it for a few weeks so review based on that so can't vouch for it performing for years but so far so good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EVESHAM
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value and all you need,
June 14, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a "does what it says on the tin" product... and very well.
Previously had a Boardman "22 function" with cadence speedo and never really used the later. That died after a few years and this is a perfect good value replacement that is easy to install and use. Perfect for serious but not too an@l training! Very happy with it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cateye computer,
June 09, 2016
By
from Northants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: nothing
" Only a couple of days old, but can recommend it. Had a problem setting the sensor up, my fault, took it back Into Halford 's where it was soon sorted, thank you. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? KETTERING
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money!,
June 06, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: affordable
" A brilliant and affordable cycle computer. I had no idea how much I would enjoy this easy to set up device. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? MILE END ROAD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Computer says "YES",
June 03, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy peasy
Cons: it doesn't clean your bike, it doesn't make coffee, not got netflix
" Spot on,excellent value,easy to set up,only 7 functions but what more do you need on a bike all basics covered.tidy good looking unit.if your tyre size is not in the instructions just pop on line easy peas. You'll be hard pushed to find better for the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cateye,
May 29, 2016
By
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Simple to fit, defining wheel size a little complex but several tries later all sorted Reliable to date and fits well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply the best,
May 20, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: reliability accuracy
Cons: none at all
" Having fitted an Enduro wired computer to my mountain bike that gave reliable accurate service I decided to opt for this wireless product from cateye for my new road bike. Testing it against my gps smartphone with map my ride this is very accurate. Set up is a doddle and the display is just what I need. Only 7 functions but that's all I want. Superb product and reserved on line for collection at the local store. That saved me a packet compared to store price. Plus I got an extra 10%off for British cycling member. Got to love it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable cycle computer,
May 18, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality and size
Cons: only one wheel size
" Extremely compact and easily mounted on bike. Basic functions but enough for general cycling. Distance by trip and total, time taken, average and maximum speed plus time. Solid build and lightweight but also looks good, easy to read display. Back light would be useful! Also if it had multiple wheel size setting could be used on various bikes!!
Overall, qood value and worth trying.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little gadget!,
May 03, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I wanted something small and simple to be permanently fixed to my bike to assist with speed training and this is perfect.
It was easy to fix and calibrate (and I am neither a bike expert or a techie), doesn't get in the way and is easy to read at a glance.
So much better than trying to look at my watch to see my stats.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
May 01, 2016
By
from Whitley Bay, Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: design, setup, functions
Cons: does not make the tea
" I first bought a cheaper brand and model ( wired )and then installed it. What a nightmare, it was returned
This product was a doddle. Well thought out design with the easiest computer setup. The materials and quality were much better, plus loads of spares available with the advent of wear and tear.
The magnet on the spokes is much smaller and sleeker and more powerful, The working gap between magnet was much better 5mm max rather than the unobtainable 1 mm. I also like the way the pickup unit for the magnet sits behind the forks looking front rear .
The computer set up and operation was so straight forward, and the functions available were more than adequate.
Had the unit 3 weeks on my cycle cross in all weathers with no problems. Get one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
April 28, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use and set up
Cons: can't input mileage into odometer when battery rep
" The Cateye Velo is easy to set up and use. The big screen is easily seen when out on the road. There is only one button on the front that zeros it for the start of the ride by holding for 2 - 3 seconds. The same button is then used by a short press to scroll through the functions. This means you can't make any mistakes or get rid of any settings in error.
My only gripe is that when the battery is replaced you cannot input your total mileage - the odometer goes back to zero. If you could put your Bike's total mileage back in I would have given it 5 stars.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect little accessory,
March 25, 2016
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: design
" Nice sleek design, easy to programme (once you get the hang of the instructions), works well.
Only improvement I can see would be for a couple of spare cable ties (they are tiny and not commonly stocked in high street stores. Yes I broke one while installing). Lol.
Also had to look online for other Cateye wheel size charts to get the numbers I needed for programming, because my wheels are bigger than standard 26", at 27.5" wheels.
Once all sorted though, it's great in use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and use,
February 18, 2016
By
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to read without specs!
" Arrived quickly, well packaged.
Good clear instructions and easy to fit onto my cycle.
Easy to use and does what it says on the box!
Tells me how fast, how far, average speed, total distance. The only thing missing on this model is calories burned which us girls always want to know!
But very happy with product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cateye Velo Wireless Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Product,
January 31, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Would strongly recommend this product very reliable, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>