Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer

The Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer boasts 5 levels of resistance, is super quiet and maintenance free.
Average Customer Rating:
4.618 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(571 Reviews) 571
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (571 reviews)
5 stars
376
4 stars
180
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
3
543 of 549(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Review 1 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built cycle trainer,
March 21, 2016
By
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: well built, easy to assemble
Cons: a touch expensive
" I found the trainer easy to assemble and use. It seems fairly rugged and no problems after a few uses. It's not particularly cheap but certainly of decent quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed,
March 20, 2016
By
from Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to assemble, just a few stages. Excellent quality, very sturdy and secure. Quieter than previous similar. Really great value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Elite cycle trainer,
March 14, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Not happy with this at all
I traveled 90 miles round trip
Because it wasn't available at a store a stones throw from me and it doesn't sit level and it looks as if it has the wrong stop ends on it but it's definitely not pre assembled properly
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good trainer,
March 06, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this for raining day training and so far I'm very happy. Very easy to install with adjustable effort dial. You will need to purchase special tyres for the trainer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great to use,
March 06, 2016
By
from Gt Missenden
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good product but instructions to set up are absolute rubbish! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elite magnetic Cycle trainer,
February 15, 2016
By
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The trainer was excellent value in the sale and was a great very good product for the price!
The trainer was easy to assemble and the instructions although not massively detailed were pretty easy to follow.
The trainer itself seemed robust with mostly solid parts and although the mechanisms to attach the product to the wheel nut felt like it wasn't going to securely hold the cycle in place.it was absolutely fine!
The only criticism I would make is that the first three resistance levels were somewhat unnecessary for someone who has already done some road training as they are too easy and I did not need to use them at all! That said, the next two resistance levels were perfectly adequate. Generally i would recommend this product as a really good starter resistance trainer to those of you who are new to indoor resistance training!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MIDSOMER NORTON
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it claims,
February 11, 2016
By
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value
" Was a total bargain at about £50. I fitted my old bike to it; some difficulty at first as my old road racer had a narrow hub, but after buying a hub extender (normally used for children's stabilisers) it fitted a treat. BTW very helpful guy in Halfords Northampton Weedon Road sorted out the hub extender problem for me.
Now I can use the turbo to help keep up between my regular weekly spin classes, and it saves going out on a real bike during the cold, wet, windy, dark winter days!
What's not to like?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? KETTERING
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great trainer for the money,
January 30, 2016
By
from Gloucester, Gloucester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, ease of use, spare wheel spindle, folding for storage
" I was lucky enough to get this trainer on a sale price (£65) and am very pleased with it. Needed some assembly which although was no trouble to an experienced hands on person like myself, other people with less practical skill may struggle but I doubt it. Was a little tricky getting the road bike into position and clamped but not that much bother and I'm glad the trainer came with it's own rear spindle so it saved damaging my own. I bought a cheap bike computer at the same time to clock mileage and did 30 virtual miles on it the second day I had it. I found the 5 levels of resistance very adequate and the only complaint I really have is that although you can adjust resistance while riding, the 'universal' clamping bracket for the control was too small to fit my specialized road bike bars, but it still did sit there loosely and I could still use it with a little faffing about. Also recommend buying a seperate turbo trainer tyre for this as I think it will over time chew your expensive road tyre up a bit. OK it's not VERY quiet like the product description states but the noise is more than bearable and I don't think it's any worse than other trainers. Also please have some common sense folks when deciding to buy this, turbo trainers are not meant for mountain bikes with knobbly tyres and the folks on here who've tried this and then complained really shouldn't be allowed to make their own decisions as this is a bit silly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value,
January 28, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Been considering one for a while but have been put off by the prices. This was is very well built and very good value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent trainer for this price range,
January 27, 2016
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The trainer is excellent however unless you use a special turbo tyre it will be very noisy. I end up buying a spare wheel with Schwalbe insider folding tyre which makes my life much easier by switching the wheel and not the tyre. In this way is much quieter and protect my road tyre which will worn very fast on the turbo. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed,
January 26, 2016
By
from Gloucester, Gloucester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: set up build quality value for money
" First turbo I've bought and very happy. Just curious to know if the Misuro b+ will work with this?
Would be helpful to pass the time if I could measure some stats whilst riding.
For £50 this is a great bit of kit with good resistance levels, easy to set up and well made. That said I wouldn't be as happy if I'd have paid the £129 price tag "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value basic turbo trainer,
January 26, 2016
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" a very solid piece of kit , well worth the money and on the whole well made. Noise level is acceptable but is noticeable when you cycle fast . I recommend this trainer to anyone seeking to improve their fitness . The set up instructions are in need of improvement . Better and larger diagrams would help. Once set up , it's great. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good trainer,
January 26, 2016
By
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap, easy to use
Cons: no front wheel block
" It's a good piece of kit and does the job that it's designed to do "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent trainer,
January 25, 2016
By
from london
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of setup
Cons: needs front wheel block
" Been using this for a couple of weeks now. Veey easy to set up and remove. Friction settings 3-5 most usable. Needs block under front wheel to level bike for ride comfort. Fitted cycle computer to rear wheel to show stats when on the trainer, giving feedback during workout. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
January 24, 2016
By
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it's stability
" This was very easy to put together and is great alternative to going out cycling in the bad weather. Would definitely recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LIVINGSTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap way to overcome bad weather,
January 24, 2016
By
from Bexhill, East Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This trainer is at the budget end of things. I haven't used one before so can't compare. However, this allows you to be under cover somewhere and get in some miles. The magnetic resistance works well without making things impossible. Being able to change resistance whilst cycling is good. Not sure how much it will wear tyres or how quickly the magnets will deteriorate (if at all) but so far I'm pleased. I purchased a special tyre for the rear for £5 which should avoid spoiling good road tyres. A tip:- find some kind of low platform to put under the pedals so that mounting and dismounting is easier. The bike is raised so it's farther to the ground and getting your leg over the saddle (when you like it high) could be problematic. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 2 3,
January 24, 2016
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Set up as simple as 123 After using a turbo fan for many years this trainer is smooth and quiet a really good buy !! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trainer,
January 23, 2016
By
from Blyth, Northumberland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" An excellent basic trainer, I have used it a lot since I bought it and have had no problems with it at all. Excellent quality for the money ( I bought it in the sale) and if you want a basic trainer to see if you like it this is definitely worth a try. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value turbo trainer,
January 22, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Got this in the sale after having read the reviews. Very pleased that I can use my bike without venturing out when the weather is lousy. Easy to use and gives a good workout. Brilliant for the price. Only downside are the instructions - they could be clearer "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? MALVERN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good gear,
January 21, 2016
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
" First time user of a turbo trainer. Does what it says on the tin. Easy to set up. Easy to use. (unless on mag setting 5 lol). Great value for money in the sale "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 29 next>>