Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Turbo Trainers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer

The Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer boasts 5 levels of resistance, is super quiet and maintenance free.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(480 Reviews) 479
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (480 reviews)
5 stars
306
4 stars
161
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
2
463 of 466(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
104 Questions | 225 Answers
Customer Reviews for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Review 1 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good quality product,
February 01, 2015
By notkevin
from tunbridge wells
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: instruction manual
" Nice design, solid, well made. Could do with better instructions. It is not clear which bolts go into which slots to set up wheel size, diagram is tiny and useless, so trial and error. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TUNBRIDGE WELLS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money,
February 01, 2015
By ikhdfgh
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" You can spend £400 plus on a cycle trainer. This is obviously a lot less but I think it represents good value. Does the job well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good cheap turbo,
February 01, 2015
By thebungleboy
from Lancaster, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Got this as my old turbo had rusted and given up. It was fairly cheap, but sturdy. Nice and quiet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up,
February 01, 2015
By Crofterslea
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy set up, reasonably quiet, good range of resistance
" Followed the instructions and the turbo trainer was set up in minutes. Good range of resistance and will help me get fit during the dark and snowy days and nights. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? GUISELEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value for Money,
January 31, 2015
By Mac747
from Banbury, Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Ideal for those wishing to exercise at home at their own pace. Quite easy to assemble and folds away for storage. Seems to be robust and fit for purpose. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great!,
January 31, 2015
By Kyanbe
from Shipley, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The item is great plus the price the only thing is there is no riser block "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A bike ride with T.V,
January 31, 2015
By Rampantrabbit
from Bolton, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: get to watch t.v while exercising
Cons: niosey
" Great piece of kit. bit noisy however excellent fitness trainer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LEIGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good basic turbo,
January 30, 2015
By dhs360
from Fife, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value, good control of resistance
Cons: bit noisy, tricky to set up
" The Elite Volare Magnetic Turbo Trainer is a good basic turbo trainer and offers good value. It is not the quietest trainer available but the variable controller works well offering a good range of resistance. It is a bit tricky to assemble out of the box and in most cases the skewer supplied will need to be used to avoid damage to the skewer on the bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Value.,
January 30, 2015
By Fatrat
from Leeds
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent value. A basic turbo but does exactly what you want it to. Surprisingly quiet for a bottom end turbo. Price wise I dont think halfords can be beaten. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? GUISELEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good work out easy to set up,
January 29, 2015
By enyand
from Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The turbo trainer gives you a good workout and is easy to set up "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cycle trainer,
January 29, 2015
By BobU
from Hastings, East Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The product was as described. A little fiddly to put together but it is a solid piece of equipment. I agree with previous review that you feel like you are riding downhill so you need to improvise by lifting the front wheel and supporting it to level height. I used a few dust sheets, that worked well. Now i don't feel like i am slipping off the saddle anymore. It worked well for my first 20 minute session, it never felt unstable or noisy. Should get many years use out of this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well but needed a new tyre and tube,
January 29, 2015
By auto69
from Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of assembly, stability
Cons: might have to change your tyre
" Too early to assess reliability but the small amount of assembly required was easy and seems to provide a nice range of resistances.
The machine is very stable in use.
My only criticism is that I had to replace the knobbly 700x35c tyre on my hybrid bike with a trainer tyre as it caught on the hinge bracket for the resistance unit even though the mounting is supposed to adjust for different wheel/tyre sizes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
elite mag trainer - does the job well good value for money,
January 29, 2015
By MOUNTAINAL
from Ballynahinch, Ballynahinch, Down BT24, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: extras
" Bought this as a replacement for a budget trainer which had gotten to noisy. Upon opening the box I found you get a riser block for the front wheel, a water bottle and a training dvd ( all welcome additions) Firstly the looks - it is well finished and looks attractive in the flesh. Assembly is very straight forward with on 2 screws to bolt the mag wheel to the frame. setting it up for use is slightly different (to most others)as the roller is on a loaded spring rather than an adjusting screw. There is a foot pedal on the wheel unit and by stepping on it it will click into a locked position for inserting the bicycle. The spring is quite strong and advice would be to put one foot on the frame to steady when doing this. pop on the bike ( with skewer in place) lock off and release the sprung wheel. no adjustment is required.
I found on my first session of 45 mins that the rear tire was
getting frayed which had not happened on my other trainer.
This was rectified by increasing the tire pressure to 90 psi (road bike wheel). its pretty stable and quiet. resistance levels should suit most riders with only high level club riders requiring anymore. For the price (70 quid) it would be hard to beat
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elite magnetic cycle Trainer,
January 29, 2015
By SHP45
from Pontypool, Pontypool, Torfaen NP4, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Trainer is easy to assemble, up and cycling in 10mins.
Good quality, excellent value, a very good purchase.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CWMBRAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer,
January 28, 2015
By das130172
from Cheshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Product is so simple to set up and ideal for the beginner. Its virtually open the box fit the bike and away you go.
Would recommend product to beginners and intermediates.
No negatives to report. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORTHWICH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer,
January 28, 2015
By Kathy111
from Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Found this product to be exactly what I wanted, service provided was excellent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic,
January 27, 2015
By mawwk
from bangor norther ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" excellent wee device, its brilliant for those cold nights as you can just stay in the house and get a full blown workout, you wouldnt want to be out there in the cold at night...you wouldnt be long gettin frost bit "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR (N. IRELAND)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy,
January 27, 2015
By Norky63
from Lancaster, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is an excellent product, it does exactly what it says on the tin, its quiet, easy to use & keeps you safe from those dangerous Winter roads. I would recommend this product to anyone, it is also excellent value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elite Mag Turbo Trainer,
January 26, 2015
By Wiggo49
from Oban, Argyll and Bute, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" At this price (£74), what is not to like ? :-)
Elite turbos are well made, reliable and do the job.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CLYDEBANK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1st Time Turbo'er,
January 26, 2015
By LuluAl
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick to set up, looks good, pretty quiet, good quality
" I looked around for a turbo trainer that would suit my (novice) needs and budget and came across this. It took about 30 minutes to set up and was pretty straightforward. I was concerned about it being noisy but have found that if you use the bikes gears in combination with the turbo trainer dial you can keep the noise down a bit more. I can happily ride and watch TV tho so it wasn't as bad as some of the stories I had read.
I am overall very pleased with the purchase and now can be a fairweather cyclist to my hearts content :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>