Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Turbo Trainers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer

The Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer is a great way to bring your cycling and fitness training indoors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(366 Reviews) 365
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (366 reviews)
5 stars
233
4 stars
125
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1
357 of 359(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
104 Questions | 225 Answers
Customer Reviews for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Review 1 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
December 13, 2014
By chris1853
from notts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: better value than competitive products.
" Take care when mounting your bike when it's on the trainer, as it's about a foot higher off the ground, a stable step ladder will help. Many reviewers complain about the noise, but I didn't find it so. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the money,
December 10, 2014
By Stuboy45
from Harlow, Essex, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great for the winter evenings when there's ice on the roads! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is ideal for indoors,
December 10, 2014
By noremac
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is just fantastic for training indoors and is so easy to use and great value for the money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elite magnetic trainer,
November 18, 2014
By CornwallCoasty
from Cornwall, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Was an easy on-line reservation and collected from the store in St Austell. Was all ready when i arrived. Staff helpful.
The unit was easy to set up from the box, and has been good so far. I would defiantly recommend the training tyre as allot quieter, and doesn't then wear your road tyre out.
Overall very impressed with the units. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? ST. AUSTELL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good Value,
November 17, 2014
By robpitt
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this not knowing what to expect, but he build quality and finish seems really good. I have been very impressed with the performance even if the remote does not stay on the bars very well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (IVYBRIDGE CENTRE)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Money well spent,
November 15, 2014
By BooBoo1
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product well built . A great way to keep fit without spending a fortune on joining a gymnasium to use this type of equipment. Well done Halfords "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product but gutted to see it reduced,
November 12, 2014
By Anonymous
from Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quality and functionality
Cons: price
" As I've said above, excellent product and using it loads, however they've knocked an extra £20 off the product since I bought it - gutted!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
November 12, 2014
By Luket6657
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does exactly what it says, and the bundle made the turbo trainer even more of a bargain "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (HANLEY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, easy to use.,
November 12, 2014
By Peter04
from Ramsgate, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of storage
" Up and running (cycling) in under 5 minutes, easy to understand instructions and with 5 resistance settings can really give you a good workout. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MARGATE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great way of keeping fit,
November 10, 2014
By supaloob
from Cramlington, Cramlington, Northumberland NE23, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" A good , sturdy and easy to use piece of apparatus.Easy to set up, and take apart. Very useful in the winter months, when the weather is too bad to go out on the road. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy!,
November 06, 2014
By Tony02
from Skipton, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought for my daughter who's decided she wants to start doing triathlon. 2 minutes to set up straight from the box, looks great and my daughter has already spent hours on it in the garage! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
November 05, 2014
By Ade62
from West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up
" Purchased this to use for a bit of exercise over the winter months, so far really pleased, comparing the price to gym membership its a no brainer "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up,
November 03, 2014
By SueLew
from Taunton, Taunton, Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really pleased with this. It was very easy to set up, and has already been very well used! Definitely worth getting a proper turbo tyre to cut the noise levels though. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money,
November 02, 2014
By driller1
from Newtownabbey, Newtownabbey, Newtownabbey BT36, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my 1st turbo trainer and very happy with it especially as it has 5 different resistance settings. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick and easy to use.,
November 01, 2014
By Steve277
from Rayleigh, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it runs quietly and takes a few seconds to set up.
" It's great for fitness and gives a really good workout in just 40 mins. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Product at The Price....,
October 30, 2014
By DDDDDixie
from Scottish Borders, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: automatic roller pressure adjustment, robust no frills value for money.
Cons: none !!!
" Bought this as a replacement for my expired 1996 model of which this appears to be the latest variant. I had previously used my trainer in the garage but, since recently downsizing, have now used in our bottom floor flat and was very surprised how quiet it was. I used a Conti "Trainer Tyre" in the past but have already decided this will not now be necessary. The thing I most like about the Elite trainers is the spring automatic adjustment of roller pressure on the tyre. The proof of the pudding is always in the eating and I am already very happy with this trainer. It was especially good value being bundled with the front wheel riser block and sweat mat, neither of which I had used in the past but both of which are worth using - especially for effectively free !!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? GALASHIELS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value indoor trainer,
October 20, 2014
By MrsALM
from Durham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money, easy set up, remote resistance adjustment, quiet performance
" Bought this as a gift and it was very well received. Easy to set up and very sturdy. Remote resistance control a great feature on a trainer. Excellent value compared to high end competitors. Would definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built, easy to use,
August 15, 2014
By Spasch
from Brixham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this unit as a trainer for the upcoming winter months and for when I'm working from home and need a 30 minute break.
Very easy to setup and the unit is very sturdy.
Others state it's very noisy, but with a training wheel, it's very quiet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surprising bit of kit,
August 02, 2014
By Pete1778
from Salisbury, Salisbury, Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, good work out for all types, small and compact
Cons: have to buy a separate front wheel raiser, noisy with road tyre
" I'm newly back to cycling after many years off the bike. Mainly to boost fitness. As the great British weather is some what unpredictable I deceived to invest in a trainer for those rainy days, especially in winter.
First impressions of the trainer. Well after unboxing I was surprised at the strong and sturdy frame and the finish of the components.
A dodle to put together (theirs not that much to do)
Anyway all ready to go I got me mountain bike, locked in and away I went. It is a bit noisy but that is 90% due to the standard MTB tyre I was using. I just turn tithe music up a bit but I have ordered a slick tyre to use on it. The resistance adjustments are good and simple. Not to put you off it it did the job very well. I ended up in a big sweaty mess! Job done. It all folds up nicely when you've finished also. The only things I would say is get yourself a lock to raise the front wheel as it'll soon make your hands hurt as you'll be leaning on them and get a training slick tyre. The only thing to watch for is if you decide to get or have a trip computer for your bike not all will work very well on the rear wheel. If a wired type the cable will prob be too short or if a wireless type the signal won't reach the unit. So you may have to fiddle to get one to work properly but that's not the trainers fault by any means. Overall brilliantly inexpensive bit of kit!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Elite Magnetic Cycle Trainer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it's supposed to do,
July 23, 2014
By Pete663
from Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: simplicity, sturdy frame
Cons: lack of front wheel block, plastic clamp lock
" A good product overall, my wife uses it every day at least twice a day. The plastic 'lock' securing the clamp does appear to be a bit 'tacky' but it works, how long for will probably depend on how often you remove the bike from the device, fortunately we have a spare bike. I found the control remote does work loose with monotonous regularity. However, dispite those two minor shortcomings it is a good product, if a little dear, could do with including the front wheel block as standard to make it better value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LETTERKENNY (ROI)
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>