Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna

The PURE Highway is a unique product that brings digital radio stations through your car speakers. Exclusive external aerial included for better signal.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 of 10(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna
Review 1 for PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says!,
May 03, 2012
By JJMclure
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: extra stations
Cons: more wires in the car!
"Bought this as I listen to DAB radio a lot at home. Found this very easy to set up and equally easy to use. I did find that on my particular car having the external aerial was a bit of a pain at the front of the car and the mount seemed to make the radio stick out a lot. Resolved this by moving it to the boot, not handy to change channel but seeing as I only listen to one station it's easy to put up with. It also saves the hassle of having the power wire and aerial wire dangling over the dashboard!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
May 02, 2012
By gggukok
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fantastic item but can be a pain to fit just for short journeys. reception in midlands great however wont work in the centre of Birmingham just to many tall buildings in the way."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dab,
April 14, 2012
By oledevil
from Potters Bar
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to install and use
Cons: supplied arial is useless
"I bought this unit and installed it in my car. I had a problem getting it to work, so I phoned the Halfords store I bought it from and they couldnt help but told which stores could. After going to the store that could the tech guy had a look and it was found the power lead was faulty and it was replaced with no hassle. After replacing the supplied arial I am very pleased with it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good buy,
December 31, 2011
By Anonymous
from Norfolk uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"dose what box says ,extra stations for your car radio, he is pleased !!."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy & Cheap DAB,
December 28, 2011
By StingyGadget
from Northumberland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy/cheap way to have dab in-car, works well good sound, allows use of mp3/ipod where no aux-in, easy installation
Cons: extra cables to install, needs external aerial unless strong signal area, won't receive rds traffic while using dab
"Nice piece of kit that does exactly as it claims. Once installed it works well and with a bit of time and care can be reasonably tidy and look OK.
Expect to need an externall antenna - the window stick-on is hopeless in my area as DAB signal is not great. Halfords deal with external aerial and installation was fantastic value.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Check area signal first,
December 24, 2011
By helpful121
from Kent
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: ipod connection
Cons: area dab signal strength, wires
"the area DAB signal where i live is poor to nonexistent as is the surrounding areas so i am unable to get a strong enough signal even with the external areal to use the radio. on the plus side you can connect your ipod through it. do your research before buying to ensure you can get a good signal in your area."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hissy on all frequencies,
October 05, 2011
By sandwichblaster
from glasgow
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"back to the shop next day with this. radio and ipod both hissing away like a bag of snakes. poor sound even after re-tuning the unit and car radio the guy in the shop said it might be that my car ariel has a signal booster and interfering with the dab unit ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pure Highway,
April 11, 2011
By Priceee
from North Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent little gadget, this is my 2nd one but you must have the External Mag Mount Aerial,this gives you the best signal and the difference is amazing. Easy to use etc"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good choice for the car,
April 03, 2011
By Spodders
from Aylesbury, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good sound quality, good dab signal even at high speed
Cons: a bit plasticy and bulky, windscreen mount a bit rattly
"This DAB kit addon is a bit plasticy but looks decent and more importantly works very well. The kit came with both the windscreen sticky antenna and a mag mount external antenna. My Halfords fitter used the windscreen one and the reception is fine even when moving at 70Mph on the motorway. My only slight criticism is that the device is a bit large and the windscreen mount can be a bit rattly because the DAB attaches to it using a magnet. Mount the arm so that the DAB rests on your dashboard or put some foam padding on it and it works fine. Also, be careful when selecting a FM frequency as if there is a radio signal there already the sound quality fades in and out. It is fine once you find a free FM frequency though."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PURE Highway In Car DAB Radio with External Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pure Highway DAB,
November 12, 2010
By chrizjb1961
from North East England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Was a little unsure as to how good this DAB would work using FM transmitter but hey, what a item, its exceeded all expectations, works superb, now i can listen to all my favourite DAB starions while on the move in the car and also as a personal DAB radio through headphones.
Very Happy !!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+61points
64out of 67found this review helpful.