Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Balance Bikes or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Balance Buddy Balance Bike

The Balance Buddy Balance Bike is a fantastic value for money balance bicycle, offering both an easy and fun way to get your child riding a bike.
Average Customer Rating:
3.737 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
13 of 19(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Review 1 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Balance buddy,
November 20, 2012
By Striv
from Preston
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Lovely looking bike, however quickly found out the back break sticks which seems to be a common problem with this bike! I took it back to the store where they were very helpful, the break was loosened as much as possible but I was informed from the shop assistant it is a common manufacturer problem when making the wheels. It still sticks slightly but has not been tested by my son yet so I cannot comment on the overall performance of the bike!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Balance bike,
November 12, 2012
By Haventgotonesofo
from Christchurch
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great little bike.good value and so far very sturdy.
Our 2.5 year old boy loves it and is balancing after only one week.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Balance Buddy Balance Bike,
October 30, 2012
By Tank20
from Cardiff
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Purchased this for my daughters 3rd birthday. Read a few of the other reviews and ordered the bike online and had it built in store to be on the safe side.
The bike is very good quality and is light, going to take a while for my daughter to get used to but she loves it and can't wait to go out on it again!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase,
October 28, 2012
By Vonnie1
from Lowestoft
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a great little bike, perfect for my 3 year grandson who is thrilled now that he has a 'big boy' bike (albeit minus pedals!) just like his older brother. Really good service from on-line order (one hour after ordering I had a phone call from James at Gt Yarmouth branch to say the bike was built and ready for collection). Well done Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Low quality product,
October 06, 2012
By Stevo55
from Perth
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: poor quality
"Bought this for my 2 year old daughter .The quality of the product is very poor . It's impossible to get the brake to stop rubbing , the wheels are buckled out of the box , the headset has lots of play and the rear wheel bearings are ungreased and themselves have lots of play contributing hugely to the brake rub/squeak issue . Would not purchase this again and would not recommend it ;-("
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little starter bike,
May 07, 2012
By Copagirl
from Rochford, Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great starter bike
Cons: fiddly brake set up
"I chose to self assemble this bike. Brakes were a little fiddly but only to be expected. My little lad loves his new bike!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Try another product first,
April 25, 2012
By Gags
from Bangor
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: looks nice
Cons: poor manufacture
"Head tube was dented to handle bars would not fit. Replacement bike was not available so we had to exchange for a more expensive bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit For The Job,
March 26, 2012
By tinkerbella
from St. Asaph Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: to carry
"This was a hit with all the children aged 18 months to 4 years old. Great for building balance confidence. Sturdy and good looking."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BRILLIANT way to learn to ride.,
March 05, 2012
By Amotherof4
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I brought a balance bike for my two year old. It looks like his brothers bike and he thinks its the best thing ever. He now whizzes everywhere on it what a brilliant way of teaching balance, steering and breaking without breaking my back!. I recommend it to anyone with a two - five year old who wants to have/ride a bike !!."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase,
February 16, 2012
By rabbiediddle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this item was all I expected it to be
excellent quality and great preformance a very good gift for a child learning to ride a proper bicycle
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Low price reflected in quality,
January 02, 2012
By an0n999
from United Kingdom
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: cheap
Cons: play in headset, seat very hard
"This is a cheap balance bike and it shows. Headset has loads of play due to design. Seat very hard. OK for the purpose I bought it as expected to be used for only a short period."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Is this the child's first bike? No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for price,
December 21, 2011
By Drewey
from Falkirk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality for price.
"Great looking bike for price compared to many other more expensive bikes.
Good quality and sturdy
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
if only the wheels were greased,
September 27, 2011
By gadgetfrombristol
from Bristol
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: looks like a bike, great to teach balance
Cons: poor quality due to the lack of grease which is a
"Purshased this bike for my son, he loved it untill the rear wheel seized up.
These bike are supplied with no grease in either of the wheel bearing.
Would be fine if the manufacture greased the wheel bearing. it seems madness that these bike are not being recalled, when i returned the bike, both wheel were replaced froma new bike, this time i insisted the wheel bearing were checked, and there both without grease.
The wheels are of a low quality so are slightly buckled, this make the brakes almost impossible to set up properly.
IF YOU HAVE ONE OF THESE GREASE THE WHEEL BEARING!!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
balance bike,
September 18, 2011
By Anonymous
from yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: also has adjustment for growth
"Grandson loved this bike from the moment he saw it, sat comfortably , moved it easily, alittle unsteady getting off at first but has worked it out with alittle practice. This bike does exactly as it says on the advert!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A lot of adjustments needed,
September 05, 2011
By DarlingtonMum
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: light sturdy frame
Cons: poor quality inner tubes, lots of adjustment needed to get rid of brake rub
"It has taken my husband several hours of adjustments so that the brakes don't rub and the inner tube split after only a few minutes of my daughter riding it. It a pity because apart from the tire/brakes problems the bike is really quite good. Once we've got these niggles sorted out, I think my daughter will really enjoy this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not a good experience,
August 12, 2011
By gibby30
from Bangor
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Purchased a balance buddy last October and kept it safe until easter when our two year old started taking an interest. During the summer with some moderate use the tyres began to crack open and the wheel bearings fell out."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice Little Bike,
January 11, 2011
By Clodster1
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: adjustable seat means it will last a bit longer
"Bought this for my 2 year old son for Christmas as my 4 year old daughter was getting a bike and I wanted to avoid arguments! I built it myself in about 15 minutes, all the tools required came in the box which was useful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brillant intro to bikes.,
December 28, 2010
By stuffing
from Lisburn, N.Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality, balance, ease of adjustment
Cons: brake rub
"So far the bike is excellent. Sturdy, easily adjusted, well balanced.
My daughter is quite timid and we were anxious about how she would cope and whether she would be put of easily, but she has found it really easy to steer and she can lift the front wheel to turn it round in our hallway when stuck (shes not quite 3 yet).
Only one negative - brake rub - because the levers don't move the same amount as on an adult bike they don 't allow the brake to move far enough away from the bike to stop some rub even after a couple of adjustments - not serious enough to cause unwanted breaking though.
Overall, an excellent product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Balance Buddy Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good,
December 22, 2010
By Vinnyg
from Wilts
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this for my 2 year old daughter, was easy to assemble, haven't yet used it because bought as an Xmas present but seems very good for the price I'm sure she will love it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.