Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Balance Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Balance Cruiser Balance Bike

In captivating bright colours, the Balance Cruiser Balance Bike is an excellent premium step through balance bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Review 1 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great colourful look,
March 19, 2013
By clair10
from Exmouth, Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This balance bike is great, my little boy is nearly 3 and he loves it. It is nice and colourful has a place to rest feet, a brake and a kick stand. great value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A super buy,
March 03, 2013
By SirBoris
from Derbyshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: handle to pull the bike along with, 'cruise plate' - somewhere to put your feet, brake
"We have been really pleased with this little bike. It has a robust structure and its cheerful colours really appealed to our little boy who has been delighted with it. The handle on the back is really useful for those times when little legs are tired and mum or dad need to haul it back up the hill! The 'cruise plate' is a useful addition as it provides a ledge to rest your feet on whilst learning to find your balance. It also has a brake which is an added bonus."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks like a real bike,
February 27, 2013
By Tony61
from Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the look padded seat robust
Cons: minimun seat height is a bit too high
"Bought this for my Son who is nearly 2. When he saw it he was very excited and ran to get on it. He went to sit on the saddle but couldn't reach the floor. I lowered the seat to the lowest possible setting but he could still only reach the floor properly on one side and he's fairly tall for his age. The bike, however, is fairly robust, has a nice soft saddle and looks like a proper bike, just without pedals. Once my Son is tall enough I'm sure he will have hours of fun on it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sturdy bike,
February 10, 2013
By Jay1969
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent bike would have given 5stars but the inner tube split after two rides and then was made too pay for it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceeded expectations,
January 22, 2013
By Andy247
from Yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good service, walked in and bike was there built waiting for me. assistant gave a bit of a run down about it whilst handing over. can't fault the process in my experience.
Slight amount of play in front bars which I was informed was due to a plastic fixing, but is so insignificant caused no concerns for me or had any effect on bikes performance. My boy loves it and had his feet up within 20 mins."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built and ready assembled.,
December 31, 2012
By grumpy72
from Leigh-on-Sea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased for 3 yr old grandchild - he is thrilled by it and sure it will help in teaching him to not be afraid to trust in himself being able to balance. Cannot really fall of as just needs to put foot down if necessary."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
December 23, 2012
By Vd83
from B'ham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great for the money and good size too :) a lot of other balance bikes were too small for my son but this one is perfect, thumbs up to halfords :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not bad just average,
November 28, 2012
By Anonymous
from Coventry
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Quality reflected in the low price but on the whole ok. No size in description, only suitable age. We found it a little on the large size compared to the balance bike we bought for another child"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lovely bike,
November 20, 2012
By StormyRaincloud
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this for 3 year old's birthday, at a reduced price, which was ok. Don't think it would be worth full price though. Full price was pretty steep.
Our 3 year old loves it, it's a great little balance bike, and he's already zooming around on it. our 6 year old could ride a bike without stabilisers before he was 5 so hopefully it'll be the same here.
The reserve service at Halfords wasn't very good though, lack of communication.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VERY DISSAPOINTING,
July 05, 2012
By MARIEB
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Bought for my sons birthday, on his first outing he complained that the seat was hurting him and after further inspection we found a screw was poking up through the saddle!. the saddle overall was very hard. When we took it back to the shop we had a look at the one on show and it had exactly the same thing wrong with it but in a different place on the saddle. The assistant himself agreed it was 'ridiculous!'. The front mudguard also had a small crack in it after one outing of about 30mins!.
So i would definitley not recommend this product as feel it was very poor quality. The staff were helpful though and helped us to pick another bike with stabilisers that my son loves.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3 year old is having great fun with this bike.,
March 26, 2012
By composter
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great little balance bike. Colourful and robust. Brake and stand are good features. Good introduction to cycling, balance skills are more natural using this type of bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great First Bilke,
December 04, 2011
By Anonymous
from Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brake on the bike is great
"Really impressed with this little balance bike, it is light but sturdy and the bright colours are great. The stand is a useful addition for when you are out and your child wants to have a run around.
The brake is also a great addition not seen on any of the other balance bikes I looked at it get the child used to using a brake for when they upgrade to a pedal bike.
The seat and handlebars are fully adjustable again this is great for ensuring the bike is comforable to ride.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fab first bike,
May 01, 2011
By tiamaria123
from wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought for my sons 3rd birthday and he loves it! great fun colours, lightweight and easy for him to control. great service at halfords too who assembled bike also."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb!,
April 20, 2011
By BalancingBob
from Norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great idea, colourful
"When I first started looking into balance bikes I thought they were a great idea. This bike is bright and well built. After a couple of scraped knees, the technique was soon picked up. I am 25 now and well on my way to learning how to ride a bike - thanks Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+17points
24out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great balance bike,
April 07, 2011
By AminaV
from Hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This balance bike is great, my daughter got on it and managed straightaway to manouevre this bike. The lowered foot rest makes getting on and off easier than if there was a bar across to step over. The colours and bright and cheerful and unisex, it's nice not to have to choose between a blue or a pink one!
Only drawback is the brake is so far away from the handlebar that my daughter cannot hold the handlebar and reach the brake at the same time but then I think it will be a while before she wll be able to manage using a brake anyway."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cheap nasty bit of kit,
March 13, 2011
By Craig9173
from Cambridge
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: shop was open late on a thursday
Cons: very low quality tyres, very low quality inner tubes
"bought this for my 2.5 year old for christmas, within two days use on carpet it had a puncture,
I have been a commuter cyclist for approaching 30 years, and this week (march 2011) the bike not only got a puncture on the front wheel, but the tyre was totally perished, I would only expect that kind of wear on a tyre that was around 8-10 years old, not 3 months old.
only buy this expecting to pay to replace the tyres and inner tubes.
my son loves the bike, but as a parent I wouldnt recommend it unless you like fixing punctures"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Balance Cruiser Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 year old birthday,
November 21, 2010
By sssmmm
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: seems tough enough to withstand some abuse
Cons: maybe a little big for my 2 year old
"Really nice little 1st bike, nice extras including stand, brake and handle for adult."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.