Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor

The Sonichi S1000 DAB digital radio tuner gives you a wider range of digital radio stations. Comes with an external magnetic antenna.
Average Customer Rating:
4.237 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
32 of 36(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Review 1 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says,
March 21, 2013
By rippa
from west mids
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost
Cons: feels a bit flimsey
"excellent
worked straight away when plugged in hav'nt need to use the ariel yet as it picks up planet rock ok without overall well pleased
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb Radio,
February 24, 2013
By RadioMann
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about it.
Cons: haven't found anything i don't like
"I've been debating since before Christmas whether or not to buy this unit. I had previously bought a Pure Highway which was very disappointing and was returned to the store within a couple of days.
I finally took the plunge this week and now wish I'd done it months ago.
Perfect reception, easy to set up, and the magnetic aerial secured safely in the boot.
Local and national stations play in crystal clarity.
I would recommend highly.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple solution,
February 10, 2013
By Paulicus
from Northamptonshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: no hard wiring required, easy to swap between vehicles, works in any vehicle with an fm radio
"Excellent solution to receiving digital radio when you have a remote display and controls. Took about 5 minutes to install and can be transferred between vehicles just as quickly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works brilliantly,
February 02, 2013
By Gronik
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compactness
Cons: loose aerial connection
"Great piece of kit. For the price you get everything with it you need. The aerial is great, very strong magnet. I don't bother mounting it, as I just listen to 6 Music. Comes on and off automatically and always tuned into the last station. Music quality is good, but lacks a little umph at times. The aerial socket is a bit loose so it can come out occasionally. For the money there is no comparison."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor,
January 27, 2013
By Ph1l
from medway
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good little box found if your in town the Arial isn't needed"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor,
January 09, 2013
By Buttskii
from Chester Le Street
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was for my dad for Christmas and he really loved it. Now he can listen to his favourite radio stations in the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Parent
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the effort.,
January 09, 2013
By Fatboywhoosh
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy set up, good sound quality
Cons: can only be powered by auxillary power outlet
"Rather like another reviewer has mentioned, the build quality of the unit may be a bit questionable - my initial unit had the faceplate detached straight out of the box! However after getting a replacement the next day (good customer service), I was able to install fairly easily. This really was pretty straight forward and I found the station set up to be a breeze. Like others have said in various reviews, I was able to get a good signal without using the aerial. I have still installed it though, by running the cable until the door trim etc, and sticking the magnetic aerial base onto a bracket inside the boot of the car. This has worked well so far, but will need to see if this is to become the permanent home. All in all I think this is a pretty good unit, so much so that we are considering getting another one for the wife's car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic product,
December 31, 2012
By chevy59
from Preston
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i bought this aa a present for my husband it took minutes to fit and works fantastic with his current car stereo i would recommend this to anyone wanting an upgrade without all the cost, the only small complaint is the aerial connector is not the best but as long as you fit it and leave it does not seem to cause any problems"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dab tuner.,
December 30, 2012
By Nige2
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the phone call.
Cons: nothing.
"I purchased a Sonichi tuner,and the product is excellent.The staff at my local store were very helpful,and I found the phone call from them to say my product could be collected,was very proffessional.I enjoyed the whole experience.I will certainly shop this way with the Halfords team again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use,
December 30, 2012
By budd
from birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great product and suprisingly easy to set up the ariel has a good stong magnet so stays on vehicle even at motorway speeds had one before and it slid off and went where i dont know ha highly recommended if you like a vary of music the only thing i can think of is that it has to be pluggedd in at all times for the power but not a big problem and i keep flickin the stations but all in all a good purchase"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works very well but a few little issues,
December 27, 2012
By Jr119
from Herts
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: excellent reception, easy to use, magnetic aerial provides excellent reception
Cons: no batteries so must be plugged in, glue on dashboard mount useless, having to remove from car
"Previous car had fitted DAB, new car did not and stations on FM to limited, as I did not want to remove fitted stereo so bought this as the easy option. Simple fitting, excellent reception, far superior to previous unit's windscreen mounted option."
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shame,
December 23, 2012
By Bubbleinhull
from Hull
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Lasted 2 days and stopped working. Took this back. Poor quality parts inside unit. Nothing but a budget build. Come on Halfords, for the price of this unit, you can make sure it is better than this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sounds good,
December 14, 2012
By alanmc07
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to install ( a few mins )
Cons: would be better with a window antenna
"Bought as a xmas present but i've tried it out in the car, the amount of stations you can recieve is surprising and that's before the antnna is fitted. It also allows you to play your Ipod,so all in all realy good value for ths price.
Alan"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DAB adaptor easy to install,
December 02, 2012
By Anonymous
from Plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clarity of the stations, easy to read display, build quality
"I have looked at several DAB adaptors to fit in my car.
The Sonichi S1000 was chosen due to its good reviews on this site and the recient price drop...
The unit was easy to fit and the wiring fitted neatly around the door seals and carpet strips.
Good idea from other reviews to put the antenna in the boot upside down, it works well, and you dont have to worry about the antenna being outside.
The only downside is that the sucker cup holding the unit to the windscreen came off twice, fortunately the unit is build well enough to prevent any damage.
All new digital channels came in loud and clear.
Overall very pleased with the unit. Rock on!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty pleased with this,
November 25, 2012
By thermidor
from Worcester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, easy of use
Cons: mounting options, aerial connector
"Having bought the SB50 head unit for my van and been very impressed, I bought this for my car.
Once I externally mounted the aerial, the reception was excellent; the aerial is on a nice long lead so you can get all the way back to the tailgate in a Volvo estate. The aerial picked up electrical interference from chargers etc inside the car unless I stuck it on the roof.
The unit is very easy to use and provides good quality sound. Switchable Aux In (unlike the old Pure Highway I replaced with this) is very handy. The radio loses a little treble compared to my FM head unit, which is a shame, but on the whole the quality is good.
I particularly like the fast auto-retuning of the FM output; my head unit automatically retunes to the S1000 when it changes frequency, so I don't even notice that it's done anything most of the time. I also like the easy of use, bright display and quality of the unit.
One down side is that the mounting options supplied are limited; if you don't want to use a windscreen mount (and who would) then you're pretty much on your own when mounting it to the dashboard, unless you want a huge long stalk attached to the back of the device. Also, as has been mentioned elsewhere, the aerial connector is pretty lousy.
Compared to other DAB devices this is excellent, providing you stick the aerial outside the vehicle if you have a Volvo!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing piece of kit,
November 22, 2012
By mikeden
from cambridgeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing maybe a remote
"I bought this as a web deal and it was £20 cheaper than the shops and what a bargain! It is small and very neat looking and works superbly well. I travel 60 miles daily to work and irrespective of what station I have on, do not experience any drop outs. I am very pleased with this purchase and people who have seen it in my car are always impressed with the unit. Would recommend to anyone, and no need to change my radio either, excellent!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great quality of sound,
November 21, 2012
By Mickie8
from Merseyside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sound quality especially am stations
Cons: setting presets
"This was easy to connect.The aeriel sits in one of the cup holders between the front seats so no need to put on roof.The only problem was car radio retuning to radio 2 as frequency close to default frequency for wireless connection-deleting radio 2 from preset stopped this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sonichi DAB Radio Adaptor,
November 20, 2012
By taguchip
from Lancs
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good value product - does exactly what it says it does and is easy to install"
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In car dab,
November 18, 2012
By Fred4
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent addition when yor radio is in built and can't upgrade to dab"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sonichi S1000 dab adaptor,
November 18, 2012
By carson57
from Fife Scotland
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy set up, good choice of stations
Cons: aerial attachment very very poor
"the adaptor is ok if one does not constantly remove same from car , after a short time the inlet for the aerial ( on the adaptor) gives up and breaks.
Very poor design regarding the aerial attachment but if one leaves unit in car then no prob with unit.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
12next>>