Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps

Tom Tom IQ XL 2 with advanced technology features including IQ routes & advanced Lane Guidance
Average Customer Rating:
4.586 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(420 Reviews) 419
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (420 reviews)
5 stars
288
4 stars
107
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
5
393 of 416(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 169 Answers
Customer Reviews for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Review 1 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is worth it,
July 05, 2010
By googs
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"it is worht it, because if will get you to the place you are going without getting lost, therefore saving you money on fuel and time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+27points
178out of 329found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tom tom xl,
November 25, 2014
By superspark4
from soham
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"purchased this unit for my wife's birthday but it did not work having to return it today."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work properly out of the box,
November 24, 2014
By andy9876
from Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Decided on a new TomTom as I had had three previuos units over the years and it was cheaper to buy a new one rather than the cost of map upgrades - can never work that one out. Plugged it into the laptop to do the updates as instructed in manual. Unit updated and then froze, wouldn't even turn off. Exchanged for a new one, this did exactly the same thing. Looking on the forums it is a known fault and although there were some suggested fixes from users I wasn't prepared to mess about with it. Bought a competitor unit from Halfords instead. Guys at were great just a shame TomTom let them down"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
See the way ahead,
November 23, 2014
By Shoreline
from Orkney, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to set up with good on-screen instructions and options to "personalise" it. The route plan is invaluable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent update on the original TomTom I had before,
November 12, 2014
By Tack43
from Slough, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to setup and use, better graphics and more sensitive touch screen. Has everything I need."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product ideal as I travel alot with work,
November 12, 2014
By MinnieB
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought with an extra 10% off which was a great bargain. The larger screen is great and the ROI feature is ideal for my travel with work.
Easy to use
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LEIGH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value and user friendly,
November 10, 2014
By Jane2507
from Littlehampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: esy to set up and use
Cons: first one didn't work
"Great value, clear graphics and easy to set up and use. Unfortunately, the first one I purchased wouldn't go past the TomTom entry screen or turn off....!! I returned it to Halfords and the assistant rang TomTom who asked her for the serial number. This identified the unit as being one of a batch that had a software glitch. So TomTom know there is a problem with some units and they know their serial numbers so why don't they do a product recall...??!! Customer service from Halfords on this issue was excellent and the assistant could not have been more helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exl't value & great features.,
November 05, 2014
By KESTRAL74
from NORFOLK UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This an upgrade from my tom tom GO that I have for a few years. Larger screen, free maps + all the tomtom quality.
I still say that TOMTOM have the best maps. Quality and good price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent all round product,
November 05, 2014
By Cg21
from West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: uk maps
Cons: roi maps
"This product is generally excellent. Its biggest failing is that it has Republic of Ireland maps rather than continental Europe maps. This may be ok for a few people but for the vast majority Europe would be much more useful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? EAST GRINSTEAD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first sat nav,
November 02, 2014
By Julie33
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my first satnav. It's easy to set up, easy to understand and once it's positioned correctly, is a godsend. I haven't had this satnav long so only used it a couple of times. I was looking forward to some assistance with lane guidance as promised but there was none. Only this stopped me from giving a score of 5."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value great sat nav,
October 31, 2014
By Cheryl13
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brought this as a present as I have the older model and was really happy with this as it's even better than the older model. Great features and easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Parent
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
October 29, 2014
By JoBo8
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Christmas present for my son. I have the same model and he was so impressed he wanted one!
Clear directions, good visual aids.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple & straightforward to use - great value!,
October 20, 2014
By Charlotte41
from Blackburn, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really impressed with this item. Prior to buying it I had borrowed a number of different makes/models of sat nav's from friends and found some of them to be a bit complex to use. This one is simple and straightforward and most definitely the best one I have used to date. Great value for money!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent,
September 15, 2014
By Kimbolina
from Swindon, Swindon, Swindon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Gets me to where I need to be and its very clear to understand"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Sat Nav,
September 14, 2014
By 6666liam
from Saintfield, Ballynahinch, Down BT24, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this device for my father in law's 76th birthday. He finds it simple to use and clear to read and listen instruction from."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Friend
Which Store did you visit? DOWNPATRICK
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant little SatNav,
August 31, 2014
By NatBag
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I would recommend this product to anyone. I used to just use the SatNav on my phone to get me about but I was forever being sent on wild goose chases. Now i never get lost and can tailor my route to meet my needs such as avoiding areas where I know there is traffic. Really easy to use, didn't need to read instructions or anything. Overall brill product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use,
August 31, 2014
By RobMc
from Wallsend, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
"i used to own a different make of sat nav that was good however it was going to cost too much to upgrade so i decided to replace it altogether and buy the TomTom.
it was only after using the TomTom that i realised just how poor my old satnav had been.
the TomTom is in different league - very easy to use
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
reasonable spec for the price,
August 25, 2014
By travellingwoman
from West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Easy to use, quick at finding rerouting and gives clear instructions. User-friendly and compact."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good solid product.,
August 23, 2014
By Jamoke
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Intuitive to use, I liked the choice of voices so I could pick one that was easy for me to hear. Excellent volume, as my car is not well protected form road noise. I also liked that you could choose whether to have road names out loud or not. good clear display. Would recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BURTON ON TRENT
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom XL 2 IQ 4.3" Sat Nav - UK & ROI with Free lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use,
February 25, 2014
By princess1404
from cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really pleased with this product . I've never used a sat nav before and I found this one very easy to understand ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BODMIN
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>