Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee

Yuasa Silver Car Battery HSB010 with 5 Year Guarantee.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Review 1 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a battery,
March 18, 2016
By
from Lincoln, Lincoln, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: same shape as old one
" What can I say, it fits & it starts the car.
Ask me again in 3-5 years if it is a good battery or not.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (WRAGBY RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far, so good,
January 16, 2016
By
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: in stock at a reasonable price
Cons: poor customer service
" The key question is 'Will it last 5 years?". Receipt filed in a safe place, just in case!
Bit of fiddle to fit because the lip on the bottom of the case was too thick to fit under the retainer on the battery tray. Can't say if this a fault with the design - it may be that my battery tray is damaged.
Battery Condition indicator doesn't line up with the inspection hole in the battery cover.
Quite a few people selling at this sort of price. Halfords were a bit more expensive, but they had one in stock.
Had enough charge straight from the shop to turn the engine over at a moderate speed, but now its fully charged it spins the engine much quicker.
Only significant bad point was customer service. The battery is inevitably quite heavy and nobody offered to carry it to the car for my wife.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy with extreme caution,
December 15, 2015
By
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Folks, a friendly word of caution. Please please please do some research before choosing one of these calcium/calcium batteries. The calcium/calcium technology is not like its traditional lead/acid cousin. When a lead/acid battery becomes flat (i.e. discharged) you simply recharge it with your trusty old battery charger and you are good to go. However, if your calcium/calcium battery becomes discharged beyond a certain voltage, no matter if it's 5 weeks old or 5 years old, then you will NOT be able to recharge it, not even with a modern electronic battery charger designed specifically to charge calcium/calcium batteries. I know; I have had two of these batteries and both suffered the same fate. So, if like me, you park your car in the airport car-park and fly off for a few weeks holiday, don't be too surprised to find that when you return your brand new calcium/calcium battery is not only flat, but also scrap. This has happened to me twice now. The first time it happened I was able to get a replacement battery under guarantee but unfortunately not so the second time. IMHO these batteries are really not fit for purpose. Read the literature at manufacturers website and please, buy with extreme caution. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great fitting service on a wet windy November.,
November 30, 2015
By
from Wembley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very quick fitting
Cons: model wasn't listed for my car in store or web
" Only downside was my Ford Fusion model wasn't listed on the website or the in store selection cards, so i had to jump start the car and bring it down. Once there the battery was immediately identified and in stock, and within minutes the technician had it fitted. Great service, very professional which makes it so easy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HENDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery fitting service,
August 05, 2015
By
from Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" value for money compared with other providers. This battery was in stock so I did not have to order. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2006 Focus Mk2 1.8 TDCI,
August 04, 2015
By
from Stafford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brand you can trust, starting power, warranty
" I got 9 years out of the standard battery, but it eventually died the other day.
Halfords had this in stock so I bought it as I wanted a branded one, and Yuasa are pretty much the best.
Fitted it in 10 minutes, and haven't had any issues since!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010,
March 10, 2015
By
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Battery runs okay, Not at quick at turning the engine as the original stock fitted battery but the car starts. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WEST THURROCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010,
March 08, 2015
By
from Cardiff
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Replacement battery for my Focus TDCI. Silver calcium because of the smart charge system on the Focus so cost a bit more than the usual lead acid ones. Has a 5 year guarantee which is a bonus. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (GABALFA)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010,
March 08, 2015
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Booked on line, then got a jump start to drive to Halfords as the car was dead.
They had the new one ready and waiting and for an extra tenner they did all the fiddly dirty work of swapping it out in about 15 minutes. And it was fiddly, the battery was not easy to get to at all.
Car had been struggling to start for weeks but now starts immediately. So far so good. Only problem I had was with the radio code but they did warn me about that.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CATFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job - no problems!,
February 17, 2015
By
from Winchester, Winchester, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" What does one say about a car battery? The car starts without problems and I haven't had any sense the battery was struggling on cold mornings. How well this premium battery will do if someone leaves a light on overnight or after a couple of years is yet to be tested! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WINCHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great battery,
February 08, 2015
By
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Not had it long but starts better than it ever did over the standard factory fitted one ,so alls good "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome!!,
January 22, 2015
By
from Gosport, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, manufacturer, performance
" Purchased this battery and was the best decision ever. Halfords recommended this battery for my car and they were spot on - great price and best around. My car now starts first time every time. Thanks Halfords! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent guarantee,
January 16, 2015
By
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: handle
" great battery easy to carry handles and great value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DAGENHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value,
January 13, 2015
By
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very strong Brand image, I have used Yuasa Batteries for over 20 years and never found a faulty one. Price was reasonable for such good quality. Very happy to recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
January 12, 2015
By
from East Anglia
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Quite a bit cheaper than a well known Breakdown service for a similar product.
With a 5 year warranty you cant go wrong.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery for Diesel Zafira,
December 24, 2014
By
from York, York, York, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: 5 year guarantee, competative price, on-line reservation
" Shopped around to find best reviews/prices for a replacement battery for a Mk.1 diesel Zafira and found that Halfords were competitive and had the battery in stock. Reserved on-line and picked up the following morning at our local depot. Battery is excellent & engine turns over better than ever + 5 year guarantee. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SELBY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ford Focus battery,
December 22, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good physical fit for 2007 focus
" A great replacement for a 2007 focus 1.8 diesel. Only these calcium batteries recommended for diesels. If you suspect battery failure, get it checked out. Halfords can do this for you. Often the alternator might be at fault. Batteries are not cheap. No point in replacing if not the battery that is faulty. Good online experience. Click and collect worked well. Halfords will also fit for a small fee. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good service,
December 14, 2014
By
from Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Needed a battery at short notice the online shop with its click and collect was first class at the shop when i collected the assistant was very helpful "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (PENARTH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product works fine - it's a little early to judge a battery,
August 31, 2014
By
from Canterbury, Canterbury, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Replacement battery has solved the issues we've had because the car normally does short runs. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CANTERBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Yuasa 12V Silver Car Battery HSB010 - 5 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Helpfull Hero,
January 23, 2014
By
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easier starting, realiability, maintenance free.
Cons: wallet a bit lighter
" Currant battery had failed on me twice despite showing over 12v when charged so needed a new battery for my 55 plate 1.6 TDCi Focus Sport. I struggled to find any relevant info for my cars battery elsewhere. Rang Halfords to enquire which battery I needed and was told straight away which one I needed. I didn't order one then but a few days later just went to my local store and had my battery tested and found it was down two thirds of it's original power. I bought a HSB010 and paid a little extra to have it fitted there and then. A very helpful assistant named Owen, performed the task without a hitch.
Although this battery is a little dearer than the battery that I could have bought it is rated at over twice the power and performance of it. It has surprised us just how much difference there is now turning the engine over and much easier starting.
Thanks Owen.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>