Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clarks SX Hydraulic Rear Disc Brakes

Clarks SX Hydraulic Disc Brake combines great features for top performance in extreme conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks SX Hydraulic Rear Disc Brakes
Review 1 for Clarks SX Hydraulic Rear Disc Brakes
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent braking, in most conditions.,
February 26, 2014
By JayJay129
from Birmingham,
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: how well they work
"I have had these brakes for a month now, and they work amazingly, I took it up the hills and got it completely covered in thick mud, including the rotor, they still worked really well, they work really well in the rain too, after the second pull you'll stop.
Great brakes, great quality and really reliable"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks SX Hydraulic Rear Disc Brakes
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Disc brakes,
February 15, 2014
By Sabre04
from Arbroath
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks good easy to fit
"Easy to fit well happy recommended does what it says in the instructions comes ready bleed just fit and go"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ARBROATH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks SX Hydraulic Rear Disc Brakes
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Annoying,
August 11, 2013
By jackychanhahahahah
from east Kilbride
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: look nice
Cons: hard to adjust
"I got a puncture and had to remove the wheel which then required me to center the brakes which just isnt happening no matter how many times I try they keep moving out of place I think this is to do with the bad designed bolt holes which seem unusualy big .
When they are working they work perfectly but if you ever have to remove tyre or bleed braked good luck.
I also took my bike to halfords to get the brakes bled two days later my back brake started rubbing to the point my tyre stopped moving on inspection couldnt see what was causing it so I removed the reservoir cover which revealed a large rubber seal which clearly didnt come with my brand new bike and the oil was manky when I went in to halfords without even looking at my bike the manager tried to tell me I was wrong and it wasnt them who done it
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? EAST KILBRIDE
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks SX Hydraulic Rear Disc Brakes
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value brakes,
August 03, 2013
By Samb83
from Huddersfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: built-in bleed nipple & easy access bleed chamber, look good, easy to install, good value
"I required a replacement rear brake set, I didn't want to spend much and wanted something that would be quick to fit, look good and work. These brakes fit the bill, v good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks SX Hydraulic Rear Disc Brakes
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
burnt my disc brake but they worked, superior qaulity and excellent stopping power,,
June 18, 2013
By dave299122
from plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: theyre ability maintain braking
"I bought them and fitted within 20 minutes if that, pre bleed system and I burnt the disc out on the first dh ride, pretty impressive, they worked and never faded, would recommend you set them up properly first and check there tight after each use, looks are amazing and they suit my custom built push bike so 10/10 from me"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks SX Hydraulic Rear Disc Brakes
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good brakes at a good price,
May 02, 2013
By Harryf
from Winchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What I like about these brakes, is that they include a rotor & a hose shortening kit at a decent price! The brakes are easy to fit, bleed, set up & work well on the trail! What more do you need"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks SX Hydraulic Rear Disc Brakes
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hydraulic rear breaks,
October 19, 2012
By Shark7
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very helpful, ordered online with discount, your called me to say my item was ready for pickup, friendly staff.
"Great and affordable rear brakes.
Easy to put on and work perfectly,
with the prefect price.
Couldn't find an other place cheaper.
I'm very happy with Halfords :-)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks SX Hydraulic Rear Disc Brakes
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brake disc,
September 17, 2012
By segullsticks
from Margate
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great price with online discount
"I bought theses as a replacement for broken machanical brakes, I found them easy to install, and they work very well, only took 1 hour to install. These are very well made and made in britian"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.