Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Shampoo, Polish & Wax or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml

The Turtle Wax Colour Magic Plus masks and protects your bodywork which can resist up to 25 washes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Review 1 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a product that does exactly what it says it does,
June 04, 2016
By
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: good price, amazing results, covers up small chips and scuffs
Cons: should probably come with gloves, the stick doesn't quite do the job
" I've never actually written a review before but felt I had to with this magic bottle. Since owning a black car I have longed for that wet look, reflective shine and this product does the job perfectly. It was easy to apply and you could see the results instantly.
What impressed me most about this product was its ability to cover up the small white chips and scuffs around the bonnet from every day driving. Whereas other products tend to fill these chips with white, this product fills it with black so it hides the imperfections perfectly.
I'd definitely recommend getting some gloves as it is a bit of a gloopy mess. Although it does come off very easily with a little soap.
Not convinced by the stick that comes with it. The bottle does a better job of covering blemishes.
I have no hesitation in purchasing this product again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average - nothing special,
May 02, 2016
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I purchased this after reading many reviews.
I had quite high hopes that this product would perform well and cover minor scuffs and scrapes, but I was rather disappointed.
I applied the chipstick to deeper scratches first, then went over with the polish. I really needed to work the polish into the car body for it to make any difference. In doing so, it "pulled out" the chipstick that I had already applied so I had to go over it again.
Overall it was a messy process that took real effort for not much gain.
I bought the black for my daughters 10 year old Fabia and the dark blue for my 6 year old Audi. Both looked better after use but not much more than using normal polish.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stunning results,
April 27, 2016
By
from Chester, Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: chip stick for stone chips (fills them in nicely), doesn't leave a white residue in chips/scratches
Cons: can't buy chip stick by itself (not that i know of
" Having bought a used black car, it needed some work to mask stone chips on the bonnet. The garage had used a standard polish suitable for all colours of car, which left white residue in the chips which somewhat took away from the looks.
Found applying the chip stick liberally into a chip, then the polish over the top, before buffing up filled in and masked the chips nicely. Used the polish all over the car, on metal and colour coded mirrors and bumpers, which resulted in a stunning high gloss mirror finish.
As was a sunny day, found when applied in good sunshine it does dry quickly and harder to buff (a good work out!) but doesn't affect the finish, and the instructions do say to avoid applying in direct sunlight (imagine because of this). Unfortunately had no choice, just had to work a little harder.
Will continue to use and prefer this coloured polish to a standard white polish that will leave unsightly residue in chips and fine scratches.
It's a big car but didn't seem to use as much polish as I expected. Definitely my preferred choice for keeping the car looking good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
March 07, 2016
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to apply and remove, excellent mirror like finish, finish looked excellent
Cons: very messy on the hands i'dadvise to wear gloves!
" I've used many different waxes and polishes for my car and previous cars, this one is up there with the best. I have a black car with a metallic finish which needed some life breathing back into the paintwork, this certainly did the trick. I find I can spend ALOT on a Polish or was and notice little difference bar a slight shine to the finish afterwards - I stood back and was very impressed with the results. Application is easy and removal is a breeze. The product left a very deep mirror like shine to my paint work!
I tried the chip stick on a few small scratches but I wasn't that impressed, but it's OK.
Overall a fantastic product and certainly my product of choice from now! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for wee blemishes,
January 11, 2016
By
from Uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: covering small scratches
Cons: the scratch stick is poor
" The product is good for covering up wee blemishes and doesn't leave white lines in scratches like normal polish.
Changes grey to black :)
I use t-cut first for best results
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Polished Act,
October 11, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the coloured wax pen.
" Really pleased with results this gave, took time and patience and a bit of effort but managed to 'remove' some serious scratches that were on my nearly new car at handover time well worth it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good,
July 25, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
" Covers well buffs up chip stick is good for scratches but dont think will last permanently
bought on offer so good deal
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
June 27, 2015
By
from Paignton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It worked well on all the scratches on my car. the chipstick work very well on the deep scratches "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great finish but hard work,
April 05, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great finish, very difficult to buff off
" It was an absolute workout to buff this polish off! Took twice as long as the Autoglym super resin polish. Maybe i applied it to generously and thats what caused it?
Anyway my hand were aching and i was genuinely sweating after buffing the whole car..i was just about to write the product off before i looked at the finish! Its outstanding! Masked in minor scratches and left my paintwork looking like a mirror!
If you purchase this i suggest you apply it lightly unless you have time and elbow grease in abundance.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? COLERAINE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff,
February 04, 2015
By
from Oldham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Realy like the finish this gives I would put an extra coat of wax on after to help the finish last longer "
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
November 29, 2014
By
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Colour magic works wonders!!! The few usual bad reviews about the stick are totally rubbish. Wash the car ,use the stick ,wax with colour magic and then take all the polish off. Simple and great finish. The stick won't work miracles but definitely takes your eye of minor scratches. If used properly, colour magic is one of the best waxes out there. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glass finish,
November 25, 2014
By
from Frome, Frome, Somerset BA11, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I found this product very easy to apply and remove and the finish is fantastic -- just like glass! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? FROME
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Turtle wax,
September 09, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really gives a good shine and repels the rain all in all very pleased with the result "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says,
August 11, 2014
By
from Leytonstone, London E11, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent product for covering up light scratches with the minimum of effort or fuss. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHINGFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product & Great service,
November 03, 2013
By
from Whitstable, Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to apply, great finish
" Well what can I say it was my first trip to Halfords having just bought a new car for the first time and I was a bit like a rabbit in the head lights! Luckily as soon as I walked in that all changed the staff were so helpful they couldnt have done enough in finding me the best cleaning products for my car, the turtle wax and wet wipes for the interior mean my car is spotless - I would highly recommend this store and product to any potential customers. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HERNE BAY
-7points
8out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great,
July 12, 2013
By
from Plymouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Did a fantastic job getting rid of the mild scratches. The chip stick also helped to mask the deeper ones too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Stuff,
April 27, 2013
By
from Somerset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Absolutely black! My Car is black and Shiny. Remember to only apply the wax thinly as it leaves a slight residue if not applied thoroughly. Don't forget your gloves when waxing your pride and joy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is amazing,
April 15, 2013
By
from Kings Lynn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: deep shine
Cons: messy but just wear gloves
" Scratched the petrol tank on my Honda Blackbird as some dirt got under the magnets on my tank bag. It was quite bad as I even thought I may need to get the tank re sprayed. Thought I would give this stuff a try and once I had used the scratch pen and polished the tank it looked great. Okay you can still see the odd scratch if you look closely, but no different than it did before. the people saying the pen is no good must be using it wrong as it filled the worst scratches with ease. Biked shined like it just came out of the showroom. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't remove scratches,
April 05, 2013
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: forget fixing any scratches
" Bought this in good faith as I read about the chip stick. A complete waste of money. I'm not sure what they mean by ''Deep scratches' but it didn't remove even a blemish! Followed the instructions to a 'T' ( no pun intended) off to pay a professional. Oh my car shines afterwards but it did after paying at the local car wash too! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
-22points
0out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Turtle Wax Color Magic Plus - Black 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great,
April 15, 2012
By
from scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: stick does'nt work that great
Car Make bmw x5
" made my paint work like new covered up alot of scratches. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>