Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike - Medium 18"

The Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike features a lightweight fully triple butted aluminium frame, designed with female specific components.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike - Medium 18"
Review 1 for Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Bike,
July 17, 2013
By fluffyunicorn
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For the money, I have found this bike to be a good buy.
Lightweight, great speeds and fairly comfy ride.
Definately recomend!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Perfect Gift.....,
June 17, 2013
By Derek50
from North Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A great quality Hybrid bike, lightweight easy to handle with super features... disc brakes, easy to use gear change, the perfect choice as a engagement gift to my girlfriend (along with a Tifany ring) .... see loves it... ps she did say yes too...."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic value bike,
May 28, 2013
By roadrider99
from west yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value frame geometry tough wheels
Cons: mechanical disc brakes
"I reserved one for my wife as a way for her to get back into cycling. I already have a Boardman road bike so knew that I could trust the brand, and was not disappointed. I liked the hybrid so much that I bought myself one at the same time and love it. the geometry is quite road biased as are the 700c wheels but the quantity of spokes mean that the bike is ideal for gentle off road use. The 2x9 gears have a good range which will get you up any hill and the shifters and mechs are more than up to the job. My only gripe is the use of mechanical disc brakes which will be getting upgraded to hydraulics shortly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A perfect entry into the world of cycling.,
May 20, 2013
By Chrissyboy11
from Norwich, Norfolk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, good quality for price, nicely finished frame and forks
Cons: brake squeal when bedding in
"I got this bike for my partner as a way of getting her into cycling and she's well and truly hooked! After looking at lots of different bikes the Boardman CompFi is probably the best bike in this price category, the quality of the frame and finish is what you would expect of a bike with a much higher value and the SRAM components used all work very, the female specific geometry is perfectly suited and after a few long rides with my partner the only complaints have been from fatigue and not lack of comfort! :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cycle,
February 08, 2013
By Tt86
from Bath UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike.Read reviews on line & ordered on line.......Best way to buy things!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good for the money,
February 01, 2013
By billonabike
from leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: most of it
Cons: peddles and clips
"I bought the bike, ready built up by the chaps in the shop, for my wife. Seams a good bike not cheep but not bad for the money.
It has not been used enough yet to judge how robust it will be but it looks well made. The welding is very neat around the head tube, the frame is butted for lightness and the paint finish is good although it may prove to be a bit soft (there is a minor chip where the brake mechanism attaches to the forks but being alloy this shouldn't be a problem). The disk breaks are cable type which I had to adjust when I got it home they were both binding on one of the pads (I adjusted the inner pad with the red knob on the spoke side and the outer with the screw on the leavers) they are powerful and work fine now. The headset is smooth with no play, the chain-set and gears all work well and appear to be quite good quality. I am not sure about the make of the front gear mechanism but the rear is a SRAM x5, I had to adjust the position of the leavers with an Allen key twisting them down to enable my wife to reach the levers with her thumbs again no problem (and I am sure the chap in the shop would have done it if I had asked). The wheels run smoothly and true and the tyres are good. I am not sure I got the right pedals and toe clips as they are vastly inferior to the rest of the bike, but an easy swap.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing bike,
August 07, 2012
By Timbodoobydoo
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had not cycled for years and was looking to get back into cycling after a back injury, so did ot want the handlebars of a road racing bike, I have the perfect bike for mei love it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase Ever,
May 06, 2012
By Babebeauxxx
from Newport
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fantastic bike, worth every penny, really light and agile ... I actually love cycling again, can not recommend this bike enough!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Fi Hybrid Comp Bike - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT VALUE,
November 24, 2011
By pikemaster
from DRIFFIELD, EAST YORKS
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I WAS IMPRESSED WITH THE WEIGHT OF THE BIKE, THE BUILD IS VERY GOOD, STURDY, GOOD GEAR CHANGE, A COMFORTABLE RIDE"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+39points
43out of 47found this review helpful.