Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Boardman Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm

The Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike Medium 50cm is a bike built for comfort and performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Review 1 for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
boardman road comp,
April 05, 2014
By bob1964
from newry
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Fast bike with good gear ratio for hills, on the level ground you can find yourself looking for a gear thats not there your either to high or to low. Having had one of these for over a year now find the paint marks easily and bottom bracket has given in after 9 months (fsa grossamer chainset is compatable with ultegra 6700 hollowtech bb) half the price and bomb proof. White handlebar tape hard to keep clean. Would recommend this bike to anyone well done boardman. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for a Male but only a small one..,
March 17, 2014
By Martin0021
from Huddersfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent build quality
Cons: white grips get dirty very quickly
" I got this for myself, male 5'6" and I fits really well. I have short arms and legs so the male bikes were not to my build and I also got this bike as a super price.
The white and pink is a nice touch, as my friends keep telling me (as I'm going past them carrying so much speed).
Gear changes are clean and brakes are superb.
My only fault with this bike is that there is a nut on the crank which keeps coming loose and the shop have to re tighten it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delighted!,
January 14, 2014
By Gill77
from Chelmsford, Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my first ride bike and having read lots of reviews and spoken to lots of road cyclists, the Boardman brand came up time and time again. Having made this purchase, I am not disappointed as it truly is a dream to ride and there is absolutely nothing I dislike about it! I would highly recommend this bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice bike,
January 06, 2014
By Bojo2
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this bike for my wife after spending a month looking at various options. No problems so far and she is really enjoying riding it.
One minor gripe is that the saddle post is much too long for the frame. I was obliged to cut it with a hacksaw to get it down to a reasonable height. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent womans bike, and customer service,
August 11, 2013
By PigletA
from St Ives
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bike is fantastic for a woman, with the correct sizing for the frame.
It also looks very impressive and a good colour scheme,
I love it !!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely smooth ride,
July 27, 2013
By KTcycles
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: the s-ram gears, the look of the bike
Cons: the saddle
" I upgraded to this bike from a hybrid, which I'd been riding comfortably for 2.5 years. I wasn't sure how much of a difference having a road bike would make, but as soon as I took it out for a spin I was hooked! The gear changing is so smooth, and the bike seems to glide along easily. The saddle isn't the most comfortable but this probably just needs a bit of getting used to. Overall, for this price bracket I would definitely recommend the Boardman Fi Comp Bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CANTERBURY
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good First Road Bike,
July 26, 2013
By mightymatt9
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My first Road bike and it is all I could ask for. Good Boardman quality for a not too expensive price. very happy so far "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleasantly surprised,
June 24, 2013
By Jossfrombrid
from East Riding of Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have never before owned a road bike, my last bike was a hybrid, which I though was OK. Then I started going for cycles with my partner, who has a road bike, I really struggled to keep up with him so decided maybe I should try a road bike.
I was a bit worried about getting used to the different riding position, brake position and narrower handlebars but soon got the hang of them Now I wish I had purchased one years ago, I absolutely love it.
The Boardman is excellent quality and lovely to ride, I do find the saddle a bit uncomfortable, even with a gel cover, but I don't think there is such a thing as a comfortable saddle (at least not one that would look good on a road bike). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good first road bike,
April 12, 2013
By femalefreerider
from north yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spec
Cons: saddle
" I purchased this bike as my first road bike after having hired a few hybrids to see if cycling was something I wanted to take up as a 'proper' hobby. The bike is great - good spec, fits well ( medium was purchased and I am 5' 6"), much faster and more pleasurable too ride than a hybrid.
However, the saddle is awful. The first time out after about 60 minutes I was incredibly uncomfortable. A new female specific saddle ordered and the comfort levels have gone through the roof.
Here is to many more memorable miles.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great first road bike,
March 02, 2013
By Pammie70
from Moray, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the gear changing
Cons: the white surround at gear & brakes easily marked
" This is my first road bike having been cycling a hybrid for the last couple of years. I had read many reviews etc of different road bikes and settled on this one because of it's reputation, look and value for money - and I'm glad I did because I LOVE this bike. Previous reviews have stated that the seat was very uncomfortable however I haven't found that to be the case. It's light and easy to ride. Really recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ELGIN
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Fi Road Comp Bike - Medium 50cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic package,
February 15, 2013
By neatpetite
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The Boardman FI Road Comp is an excellent bike and comes with a great package including Sram integrated gears and Mavic wheels. Other comparable female specific bikes at a similar price do not come close in terms of all-round value. The BB30 bottom bracket and FSA chainset are also great touches. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.