Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Boardman Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"

The Boardman Team FS Mountain Bike features a 6061 triple butted aluminium frame with 130mm front and 120mm rear suspension travel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Review 1 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome bike,
December 10, 2013
By Woodhouse1
from Huddersfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality, ride comfort, components
Cons: nothing
"Excellent bike, great value compared with similar bikes on the market.
Performs exceptionally well on rough terrain as you would expect.
So much fun to ride, already looking forward to taking it out next time.
Would recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Team FS,
July 08, 2013
By Jonesy1976
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, good build, light, i could go on
Cons: none
"I had a budget of 2K. Didn't need it. This bike is AMAZING!! I've rode for 15 years, all hardtail, Im 37 and thought it was time for a full susser. Many months of research, 3 test rides on much more expensive bikes, And this Boardman blew them away. It is light and easily controllable on all types of terrain. I regularly overtake my mates on 4K carbon no problems. I've had it for 2 months and no problems at all. Gears needed tweaking last ride, apart from that keep it serviced and you'll have a great bike for years, I thoroughly recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? YATE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
July 04, 2013
By Kid84
from Barrow in furness
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Has the bike for a few days now it's really nice to ride, some problems with gear changes but I guess these are the bedding in problem"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent bike!,
June 30, 2013
By punkgs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sram x7, light frame, rockshox shock, rockshox fork
Cons: grips
"been looking for a bike to use up on the trails, after checking all the different bike/price/reviews I went for this boardman! (was a bit sceptical tho' of getting it from halfords)
believe me, for this quality and components you wont find the bike cheaper than this.
this bike is the best value for money!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: More than 3
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Very proud new owner,
May 13, 2013
By djporky
from manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value, looks
"Finally got my hands on one of these bad boys.. Still not took the bike out yet, Just sat looking at it for the past few hours.. hahhahaaaaa. TBC ;)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ASHTON UNDER LYNE
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so much for so little,
April 24, 2013
By muddymonkey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sektor air forkslight weight for a full susser, huge value for money, did i really pay that little for the spec
Cons: white seat and grips
"wow this bike has blown me away,hours of searching the web with a £2.5k budget and was advised to seriously look at the boardmans,i did a search for owners reviews and could not find a single bad word about the boardman fs, multiple mtb magazine review winner and i can see why,light for a full susser top components air forks and shock (a dream on the trail) just sold a specialized fsr and dont regret it one bit,this is light years ahead of the specialized get one now you wont regret it one bit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike,
April 10, 2013
By Joew022
from Bolton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: verey light, great pice of kit
"This is an excellent bike, gives you the confidence to chuck it into corners and jumps couldn't recomend it more, I've switch to this from a hardtail and wouldn't go back."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (MANCHESTER RD)
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good,
June 11, 2012
By demon90002004
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light, fast, grippy tyres
Cons: white grips and saddle, can't lock out rear damper
"i love the bike to bits, really comfy, great control, great to throw around cannock chase, and fills you with confidence when riding. my carrera fury 2009 is nice to ride, but this is even better.
only thing i would say is that the rear suspension system creaks abit, so just drown the joints in gt85 once in a while and it works really well, not had a problem since"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
March 08, 2012
By jamt
from york
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very good bike , good to ride,bought from the york branch ,from jame's who was very helpful , had bike all made up and working fine for me . bike is very light for a full suspention ,gear very smooth .looks the part."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2011,
September 25, 2011
By chuckie39
from sheffield
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: parts
Cons: white seat/ handle grips, not enough room to fit a decent winter rear tyre, if you have large calfs they catch rear seat stays, if you wear spd's they catch chain stay
"had this bike afew months now and can say i could'nt be happier untill the last couple of weeks, yes i had to adjust my spd's but for what i can gather this is common on full susp bikes.
i had to take the bike back for a replacement rear mech what broke in half, but rarely heard of now days, and the bike is back in the shop now for a suspect crack on a weld where the rear brake caliper conects to the back end, is this a sign of things to come?, will keep you updated.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boardman fs team,
September 19, 2011
By jace1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: amazing value for money, excellent too ride.
Cons: check rear chainstay nuts are tight.
"i am one of the lucky ones to have got this bike 3 weeks after its release date, after reading "what mountain bike" review i couldn't wait to get hold of one, i bought it from halfords, crewe who were helpful in getting it shipped in from another store and when i recieved it i wasn't dissapointed, this bike is absolutley gorgeous to look at and a dream to ride, the price is more than reasonable as the components alone add up to more than the asking price, i ride it at my local trail centre (cannock chase) and is more than capable of handling anything you throw it at, whilst leaving you with a great big grin on your face, i am 5'9'' and this size is perfect for me, my only problem was the rear chainstay frame nuts were loose but after some locktight they seem fine. if you are like me and require a quality fs bike that is value for money, good to look at and excellent to ride then this bike is for you. happy riding. :)))"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman Mountain Bike Team FS 2012/2013 - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice bike,
July 11, 2011
By Rikracer
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high qualityreasonable pricequality of the ride.
Cons: white grips and saddle.l
"Finally managed to buy this bike,was assembled very well by the guys at Halfords Stroud Gloucestershire. Bike is awesome.It's like mountain biking whilst sitting in a comfy armchair,the ride being very smooth.Gear changes nice and precise. I am 6ft with inside leg of about 31 inches and a medium is fine.Can't imagine the white grips and saddle looking quite so nice after a couple of decent rides though.The attention to detail on the bike is great with the smooth welds making it appear far more expensive than it really is.Only other thing to mention is that your shoes can catch on the rear chain stays meaning you have to adjust your feet to be slightly toe in,i can imagine this area having no paint left on it eventually if not carefull."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.