Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Boardman Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"

The Boardman Mountain Bike Pro Medium 18" features a light X9 frame for perfect trail performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Review 1 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazed and outstanded by the performance and weight.,
August 18, 2013
By JHands
from Chepstow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: amazing performance and spec.
" I brought this bike on Saturday through the Salary Extras Program at work, it's worth noting that if you reserve this bike online you can pick it up with the Salary Extra LOC at the web price.
Last year I purchased a Boardman Hybrid PRO, hoping to be able to cycle to work via the roads & trails, but soon found that the forks were to rigid for the trails, even when I fitted Cyclo Cross Tyres so wanted a bike that would cope with 40% road and 60% trails.
Spent yesterday setting the bike up with Shimano SPD MTB pedals, a Sella Italia SLR saddle, my trustworthy Garmin Edge 500 computer, Ritchey Pro Bar ends, Topeak Aero Tool Bag and as I have a bike stand was able to fine tune the gear cable tensions, as the gears were a bit noisey and not quite there by the setup at the Halfords store in Cribbs Causeway.
Just went to a local forest in the Wye Valley to ride a short trail in order to fine tune and I can't believe just how good this bike is.
Lightweight, gear changes are a dream now set, the forks are out of this world with a really nice adjustment lever which you set with positive notch clicks to ensure it stays where you want it to, the rebound I've left in the middle position and has been fine on the course and fine gravel trails I've just ridden.
I've heard people say that they have ridden bikes that they can't stop smiling once their on it and I have just had that very same experience.
Originally I was thinking of getting a Full Suspension version, but when I saw one in the shop I was surprised just how heavy it was in comparison.
As I now have a commute that will take me through some steep incline trails, weight is everything and this bike is so rigid with the BB30 Bottom Bracket and yet so light and a dream to ride, really comfortable over the trails thanks to those amazing forks.
Highly recommend to anyone, but will say that if you buy this bike then it's worth spending a day setting it up and get to ride on a trail in order to fine tune before starting your weekly commute on it.
No disrespect to Halfords but you do need to tune a bike like this to your riding style as Halfords can only provide you with a rough benchmark setting to start with.
Really delighted with this purchase and really glad I never went for a full suspension bike, the only improvement I would say they could do, is offer this bike with 29" wheel.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Build quality...,
July 31, 2013
By kswitch
from uk
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: weight handling frame.
" For the money vs components its an excellent buy however the quality of said components is debatable since I've owned mine a month and its now in shop on its 4th repair so I should take that statement back. Derailleur-loose and bent, gear cables gone, gear shifter gone, back brakes gone and derailleur away again. Spent more time in the repair shop than I have had riding it. If you get a working model then happy days and enjoy! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike and worth that extra cash,
July 23, 2013
By cheesecake11
from Oxford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: steering, brakes, weight
Cons: white grips, saddle
" This really is a superb bike. Just taken it on to the Ridgeway (single tracks) and everything is effortless. The bike seems to urge you on.
On road as well it's fast with the tyres inflated to almost maximum.
Really impressed with the steering of the thing. It really is a pleasure to ride it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords boardman,
July 17, 2013
By L1wll
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bike would recommend light great gearing super brakes A++++++ "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Pro MTB,
July 17, 2013
By Fordster27
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: mountain king tyres a bit extreme my type of use
" Delighted with my Boardman Pro - great value and build quality is excellent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality bike,
July 14, 2013
By CBPRO
from NE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent bike very pleased with the quality and spec "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman mountain bike,
July 13, 2013
By Griffo13
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Just getting back into my biking and really happy with my purchase, the staff at Halfords Bilston were very helpful with good customer service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BILSTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light and strong,
May 19, 2013
By P7mns
from Northampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very happy with bike, very light, will need to change tyres as will use on road more than rough, good buy and very cool "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman pro mountain bike,
April 18, 2013
By Phuket
from Norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight
Cons: white bar grips on a mountain bike.
" Collected bike boxed as I prefer to build my own bike up so I know everything is setup how I like it. Very simple build and only required minor gear cable adjustment to stop front mech rubbing. Excellent bike to ride, light and very comfortable riding position. Mountain king tyres seem to roll better on the road than the speed kings on my old team mountain bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Impressed,
April 27, 2012
By PetHair
from New Forest, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is my first mtb so I can't really compare the performance of this bike to other bikes. However I did a fair amount of research before the purchase and certainly the spec of this bike seems to stack up well against bikes costing several hundred more. I do know road bikes, where the Boardman brand has a similar reputation, and the fact that this particular bike has won "best buy" awards was really the clincher.
I picked this bike over others in the range purely for budget reasons. More expensive bikes were out. I did have a look at the next cheaper version, but just looking up the prices of a couple of the individual components convinced me that for the extra couple of hundred spend, I would be gaining more than that in terms of parts.
As regards the riding experience, it has been very pleasurable so far. I've done a mix of on-road and off-road, as you might expect it is nothing special on the road, but off-road it is great. I was initially worried about getting stuck in ruts along the paths (too much time spent on 23mm tyres!), but needn't have been, the bike coped with ease. But the biggest impression was the performance. The bike felt very light to ride, very responsive. I was surprised at just how quickly I was able to accelerate on it. So when the descriptions talk in terms of "sporty" and "competitive", I can see what they mean. I think this bike is going to be great fun to get muddy on! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman HT Pro - a great buy,
March 27, 2012
By Raindog1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light, great gear, fantastic value for money, handles well in dry wet and mud
Cons: if i was being picky one more gear at either end
" A light, fast hard tail with a great spec. I wanted something that would be easier to push up the hills and this is it. No more being left behind. What a difference to climbing and general rolling over uneven terrain. Great value for money - no wonder it keeps winning reviews, and the improved kit and 120mm travel a bonus. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
March 13, 2012
By Mcdaddy
from Exeter
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought a boardman pro mtb from Halfords and the bike is amazing. Their service is great too "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HT Pro 2011/12,
March 06, 2012
By MtbRider
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great frame, spot on geometry, crazy value for money, lightweight, upgrade potential, fun to ride
Cons: thin paint, check bb30 pressed correctly, makes all other bike companies look overpriced!
" I went for the medium after testing the large and there really isn't much between them for this year’s geometry compared to the pervious large models that looked like a farm gate. The large is just over 19inch and medium 18inch with a slightly shorter top tube for nimble handling – that’s the reason I went for the medium. I'd recommend putting a 70mm stem on as this makes the bike come alive. I'm 5ft11 and it’s not cramped at all – try side by side in the shop.
The bike really has impressed me on how well it corners, especially when pointed downhill. I’m used to a fr/dh bike and have gone back to a hardtail for general xc/trail riding and I’m not disappointed at all!
I chose this bike due to it having all the latest technology from the mtb world such as the tapered headtube, bb30, direct mount front mech & rear caliper and 2x10 drive chain. All these features aren’t just for show but make for a super stiff front end (but it would benefit from a through axle fork), a super stiff crankset with good ratios and just an overall great feeling bike for those long xc rides or thrashing around on fast single track.
There are some bad points though; one being the paint seems thin and has already chipped off in certain areas but this is only when a small stone or piece of flint is flicked up underneath also the bb30 bearings MUST be taken out, re-greased and press fitted back into the frame manually before any riding (or make sure its fitted correctly in the 1st place). If you don’t have this done (halfords bikehut staff are instructed to do this anyway) then you'll end up ruining the bearings straight away and having them replaced under warranty due to the factory not pressing them correctly, although this problem might have been fixed now as I bought the bike 6 months ago.
Overall you won’t find a better spec’d bike with a brilliant frame, great geometry and genuinely fun to ride for under £1k.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MTB Team Pro,
February 12, 2012
By Seadreamer
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Top bike with a top ride, small circuit this morning through the woods, snow and all. The brakes are fantastic, love the gears and the overall weight is non-existant. Changed the pedals, will shorten the handlebars but that's it... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great purchase,
January 06, 2012
By Geordo
from Oakham England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Luke and the team at Halfords Lincoln were really great and the boardman pro bike is every bits as good as all of the reviews state would recommend both shop and bike to anyone. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman Mountain Bike Pro - Medium 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boardman HT Pro,
October 28, 2011
By lerouleur
from Middx
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great frame worthy of upgrades, great gruppo/finishing kit, ok wheels
Cons: poor backup, poor warranty terms
" • Great hydroformed triple butted Al frame. Stiff in all the right areas, and yet compliant where it needs to be.
• The bb30 bottom bracket is united in one goal with the rear wheel - full speed ahead whilst the conical headtube and tapered steerer help keep you on course.
• Stable but yet responsive handling, which instils great confidence and rewards a little cheekiness. The 120 mm travel RS Reba RL forks offer great scope from either an XC or Trail perspective.
• The SRAM x9 gruppo works well; it feels odd initially without a granny ring but funny enough it all becomes very intuitive.
• If the frame is the heart then the wheels are the legs and wings. They’re up to the job, but second on my list of upgrades after the saddle.
OK, that was the good, now the bad!
• Only comes with a 2yr frame warranty – look at the Waterloo Wisconsin gang and the Morgan Hill California crew they offer a LIFETIME!!!
• There’s no crash replacement programme. Do you want to build solid brand loyalty or are you only looking for this to be a loss leader with the margins being supplemented by accessories sales? (Marketing men now scratch heads in unison with a puzzled look)
• No info regarding how to set up forks or optimizing brake set up. At least provide links in the manual/Boardman w’site or a CD with PDFs. I had to do a lot of trawling – Bikeradar/SRAM w’sites.
• The Halfords site shows the wrong replacement derailleur hanger. Where’s the backup? BETD/Goldtec produce one, #238. Thank you Dan! If you have one you’ll never need one, and it’s better than pushing your bike home or to the CP.
• No shock pump. Newbies be warned.
• Saddle like a Belgian waffle, sorry I know that’s such a personal and contentious subject.
• 4 emails Boardman HQ, only 1 response. Poor customer relations.
Conclusion:
I’ve still got a smile on my face after my first ride 3 days ago.
It’s got all the fundamentals to warrant upgrades.
I would recommend it to others, but with certain reservations as mentioned above.
I would buy another one for myself or wife /kids.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.