Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Boardman Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"

The Boardman Mountain Bike Comp Large 19 inch is definitely a bike to write home about.
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
45 of 48(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Review 1 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
falling apart,
March 01, 2014
By elliot172014
from dagenham
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: the receipt
"ive had this bike since xmas and the front brake needs bleeding, the gears need adjusting when u scratch it lightly it goes to bare frame, the cables take the paint away, the peddle is noisy and annoying and about to fall off, the chainset arm is loose, wouldnt recommend this bike at all, not worth half the price!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DAGENHAM
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boardman mtb comp,
January 04, 2014
By Dt30
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this bike is a world away from my old one. only downside is the cable rubbed the paint off the top of the fork on the first ride, i had read other reviews saying the same.
very good service from keen riders in the mad stone store"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
very disappointed,
November 06, 2013
By oldgit11
from oxfordshire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"purchased this bike 18 months ago pedals lasted 2 months bottom bracket lasted 12 months rear wheel lasted 12 months seat post bracket lasted 13 months jockey wheels lasted 15 months just a constant replacement or upgrade everything else is ok so far"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bike but faulty back brake,
November 01, 2013
By Ozzy1995
from Preston
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When I received the bike the back brake was faulty and air was leaking everytime I pressed it, other then that the bike is good"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
peddles,
October 17, 2013
By peddleman
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First ride out of less than 1 mile peddle came loose. Took bike back. Thread worn new crank fitted. Second ride about again 1 mile ,this time other peddle fell off.New crank fitted because thread totally duff.The peddles could never have been tighten up when first fitted.The guys in the shop sorted the problems, but they should never have happened."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty good so far,
October 17, 2013
By Jg123
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light weight reasonable fork for he cost
"Bought this with 20% off as it's no longer a current model and there was a 10% off weekend offer! I suppose it might even come down cheaper as they clear the stock. Seems pretty good value to me, good spec for the money with what look like better forks than the replacement model. Rides really nice, certainly will do all I am capable of at the moment but encourages me to attempt more so I really like it. The bike did not come with any useful manuals but they can all be found on SRAMs and other web sites. The forks came well over inflated for me at 80kg but letting a bit of air out soon made them more compliant with the correct static sag. I bought it boxed and assembled myself as I enjoy the mechanical side!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
problem after problem.,
October 10, 2013
By els8
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very good ride.
Cons: all the problems
"Since I got this bike, I have had to replace it twice, and have it in for a service 5 times. And I haven't even had it for 6 months. There are so many problems such as the bottom bracket being absolutely awful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
September 24, 2013
By CharlieN
from Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, lightweight
Cons: expensive
"This is a great bike, its light and easy to ride. I haven't ridden a bike in years and found the gear change smooth and easy. You can really pick up speed quickly, and the suspension is adjustable so great for road or off road use.
The service at Enfield was great, the sales guy even put on the mud flaps, water bottle and pump onto the bike before I left.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great lightweight MTB.,
July 29, 2013
By Flexman
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks, build quality, lightest
Cons: not as strong as some others
"Bought mine from grantham whilst the trade in bike offer was on saving £65, helpful staff "Jase" advised on different bikes, etc within price brackets, couldn't resist the boardman though as its so beautifully made and light weight
Thanks guys"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: More than 3
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great spec for the price,
July 25, 2013
By beakx2013
from bracknell, berks.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: its white!
"great looking bike, like the option to lock out the front forks. nice and light if you need to carry it.
you get a lot of bike for the price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRACKNELL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Comp MTB,
July 24, 2013
By Chinny9
from Uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks, brakes, lightweight
Cons: gear position
"After several weeks searching reviews for a decent value MTB, i finally went for this one, as the spec and looks were the best i could find at this price. Im pleased with the bike, now done several rides, smoothmon the road, and vey secure and comfotable off it. I had to change the gear position as i felt this was awkward, having now done and happy. I would defo buy another Boardman and now looking at roadbikes for next year"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Mountain Bike Comp 2012/2013,
July 23, 2013
By piperjsl
from Aberdeen Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light wieght, colour
"I'm new to biking but took my son's advice to go for a Boardman Mountain Bike. Its really light, robust well built and a joy to ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman must,
July 22, 2013
By Alan1908
from Northumberland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Greta weight, build quality and suspension on the front works great. Worth every penny. Halfords service was brilliant and they couldnt help enough."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MTB Comp,
July 09, 2013
By DS72
from Warwick, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: specification is good
Cons: gears can grind when changing but not complaining
"Purchased from Halfords Leamington, in store support from the team was excellent. Built and available within 24 hours. Wanted to spend a suitable amount of money and after consulting a few friends who are serious bikers I went for this model! Great on the local bridleways, tow paths and lanes. Also handled Cannock Chase MTB runs (follow the dog etc) with ease. Lots of fun!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The search is over...,
July 07, 2013
By DesignEngineer
from Home
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fantastic well engineered machine.
Cons: the white seat & grips are a 'fashion' faux-par
"Once the set-up was complete... I ragged this little puppy down some local bridleways & I'm satisfied it'll take lots of hammer.
I've never had front suspension before & I'm happy to reveal it made a great ride, a superb ride.
Top quality components give confidence & allow you to ride with a smile.
At 43 I'm no spring chicken, however, I did manage to leave some teen's in a could of dust. Job done!
Thanks to MATT @ the Wisbech Store for carefully stepping me through the buying process, highlighting the pro's & con's & convincing me to buy 'Fit for Purpose' accessories first time round. (Buy cheap, buy twice)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good,
June 24, 2013
By taylor8701
from preston
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"for the price i paid there no better bike out there i would say very well made bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MTB comp,
June 21, 2013
By Bvs786
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: design
"Excellent product
Excellent build quality
Excellent ride
Excellent gear transition
Light weight
Should have bought one a long time ago
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow,
June 17, 2013
By Golferno
from Falkirk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the bike!, the staff at edinburgh, this bike just wants to go
Cons: gear and brake leavers need to be set up at source, the staff in falkirk, none yet!!
"How impressed am I?? I bought this bike last week and it had its first outing on Saturday afternoon. A gentle 25 mile towpath with some off road and some good downhills thrown in and it just wanted to go.....
I have an older GT and this is a very good bike but think BMW 3 series! and then think DB9! (maybe over-egged it)... this bike not only looks stunning it has all the ammo I need! Still to be tested I'm sure and there may be some teething issues but we'll see........
I bought the bile through Halfords in Hermiston Gate Edinburgh as they we're the only guys who seemed to know what they were talking about especially the guy called Craig........ (knowledgeable, informative, pleasant & a credit to Halfords)........... Take a bow Craig.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike,
June 16, 2013
By Naxtilian
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bike is awesome had it for 2 weeks and love it. I would recommend it to anyone"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman Mountain Bike Comp - Large 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Bike,
June 13, 2013
By Roly123
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Used a few times and quite impressed, still prefer to ride my Boardman comp hybrid on roads and cycle paths, I tried my preferred road route with this bike and found it much tougher and harder work!. Bought this really for for off road biking only and its excellent over tough terrain, only down side is chain came off twice, same happened on hybrid, maybe both bikes are not set up correctly. Suspension is excellent and I like how you can turn it off for road use. It is also light enough to carry over your shoulder when needed. 3 weeks in and I would still buy the same bike. If you want and mountain bike buy this, if road biking and cycle paths are more your forte buy the hybrid comp, or if you do both buy both! I did!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>