Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Boardman Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm

The Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike Medium 53cm features a carbon frame with great power transfer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Review 1 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely light and powerful,
January 07, 2014
By Scott19
from Dumbarton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: speed, weight, specification, looks
Cons: nothing
" Having had a Boardman Hybrid Comp for over 3 years covering 3000 miles commuting, I eventually plumped for a road bike. Spending hours and hours, much to my wife's dismay I settled on this bike due to its full carbon frame and 105 groupset. What a combination! On my first ride to work I smashed every record and although I expected an improvement I was amazed by how much a difference it made. Strong, comfortable, light, responsive, it has it all. I commute 32 miles each day and fell like a weight has been lifted. I'm nowhere near as tired each day and love the effortless speed it delivers. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CLYDEBANK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boardman Team Carbon....,
August 17, 2013
By Boardmanflyer
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Have never had a road bike before and wanted to start completing in triathlons. After loads of research I choose the team carbon and not been disappointed. It's been a joy to ride and only had one little problems with the crank and dab of grease and all sorted.
Have now completed in my 1st tri, with loads of other great looking bikes around and was in no way let down by my ride.
In fact I passed more bike than ones that shot by me....
Would say I made a good buy and YES and would buy another Boardman....
I will be replacing the wheels and the paintwork could be better and I love the bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Rd Team Carbon,
August 03, 2013
By Minter1
from Chester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: frame set-up is great for hills
Cons: none
" Love the bike, ridden several high spec road bikes, MTB's and hybrids over the years and this bike hasn't disapointed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bike but incompetent mechanics,
August 02, 2013
By RickyG
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good bike for the price
Cons: incompetent mechanics
" Bought this bike here as only Halfords stock this brand although hesitant as had previous bad experience with their mechanics. Well true to form they remain completely incompetent at the Chelmsford store. Having supposedly built and set the bike up , when I got it home the front gear mech rubbed across half the gears. After 2 further attempts, the mechanics failed to adjust them correctly and told me I would have to accept the rubbing as a compromise and just use half the gears! So, I took it to a 'proper' bike shop who sorted them in 3 minutes - no rubbing and access to all gears. I've recently spent a couple of hours trying to adjust the saddle angle to find after alot of messing about and failure to adjust it how I wanted, that Halfords had put the seat post on back to front!! I absolutely despair at the training these people get to service their products. By all means buy the bike as it's a good spec at the price but don't let their mechanic anywhere near it - take it to a proper bike shop to get it set up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Team Carbon,
July 10, 2013
By Doris7
from Worcester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A quality product at a great price, highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Early days but very happy so far..,
June 26, 2013
By Jettt
from Burbage
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Hi
I don't normally write reviews but felt the need to..
Firstly having done a fair amount of research I'd narrowed down my shortlist to a Giant TCR, this Boardman Carbon Team, the Boardman Carbon team LTD, Trek Manone, and Ribble sportive.. not much of a shortlist still very much a list list..
The fact of having to purchase a boardman bike from Halfords was a little off putting and on the basis that I couldn't ride the bike was a real turn off. Having called into 2 branches (Leicester & Leamington) over about a 6 week period and had no real joy, I thought I'd made my mind up to go with the Giant. Until I gave it one last shot, NUNEATON branch. The manager answered the phone to me one Sunday morning, checked shock of the team & Ltd bikes in both medium & large sizes (so apologies for give you the run around if you are reading this). I then asked if it would be possible to come over and try them out? to my surprise got the response 'yes of course'. We agreed a time which suited us and I when about my day at 3:30pm I arrived (i was due at 4pm) the shop was mega busy and I now know why, the sales staff were really apologetic as they were not prepared the bikes for me, they actually appeared to care and gave great customer service. I gave them the time they needed to get two bikes ready for me to test. When it was my turn they spent quite a while fitting the bikes to me, to allow me to make the right choice.
Well done to the team at Nuneaton and thank you for your help.
About the bike - I'm a MTB this is the first Road bike I've owned and so other than the test rides i have nothing to compare it to. All i can say is so far no complaints whatsoever just wish i could get out on it more! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
-9points
10out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
June 09, 2013
By Trish19
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my first road bike and it has been great,they helped fit my shoes and cleats and I have had no problems so far! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great specification/value combination,
June 03, 2013
By Ianski
from Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value for money, looks great
" I've done a lot more mountain biking, but was looking for something that could take me further/faster on roads so started looking at road bikes. Having done research I'd narrowed it down to Trek/Specialized and was prepared to spend up to £1,800 but a friend suggested I look at Halfords before I made a final decision.
I'm glad I did as I decided to buy this model as:
1) I knew Boardman had good reviews from reputable websites
2) It was £500 cheaper than the models I was close to choosing for a full carbon frame and decent spec (plus additional 10% off as part of the Halfords promotion)
3) It was available fully made up the same day (to buy thealternative was a seven day wait )
Halfords wouldn't have been my first choice, but I'm glad I went in as the bikes great and great value for money.
I'd also like to complement the service I recieved from Tim in Guildford store. Good advice, no hard sell and made up and available for collection within a few hours. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fast & Furious,
May 26, 2013
By adrian85
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Hi there. I am a new owner of a Boardman Carbon Team bike. It took me a while to buy it but after so many financial concerns and the need of an upgrade I finally got it. It is a fast and strong bike and I would recommend it to everyone. Compared to my Carrera TDF this one is at least 10 times better. I also want to thank to all the Halford team, Hendon branch, for the good customer service skills. I must mention MICHAEL though, one of the staff, for his great effort and patient he had sparred with me and guided me throughout. He is the best there and I suggest you talk to him firstly. Good luck! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smooth running,
April 15, 2013
By Newgirl200
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The ride on this bike is really smooth and I really noticed the difference when out cycling with friends. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent spec at an unbeatable price...,
April 12, 2013
By ilpirata
from Lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: overall features/spec
Cons: nothing as yet
" I carefully researched a variety of different bike options in this price range, some aluminium, some carbon, with varying degrees of front/rear mechs and components. However, ultimately, I plumpted for the Boardman, as the whole package was, in reality, an unmissable opportunity - especially as there was a 10% Easter weekend discount, plus the additional 10% off as a BC member. Excellent spec at an unbeatable price...and a lovely ride to boot! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BRILLIANT,
February 13, 2012
By ndub
from Cambridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What can say about this bike that hasn't already been said? In short this bike is fantastic. Its build quality is exceptional and the components used are of a very high spec. I love it. Only devastated that its snowed since purchase so been sat in my hallway unused. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Road Team Carbon Medium 2011,
July 13, 2011
By captainc
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high spec for the price
Cons: not found one yet!
" Excellent service from sales team from Milton Keynes store.Ordered bike at 11am had a call at 2pm to say they had one ready for me.
The bike is amazing light weight and fast with excellent build quality from boardman.
If i had only one negative comment it would be the person who put it together could have checked some of the torque settings on the nuts and bolts as with carbon bikes it is vital to get this right to get the most from the bike.I think they may have used a spanner rather than a torque wrench.
This bike is a must and would recommend you buy one.Thank you halfords "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman Road Team Carbon Bike - Medium 53cm
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Road Team Carbon 2011,
April 19, 2011
By Cyclenut24
from Redditch
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light and fast, good value against other carbon units
Cons: a little bit twitchy on fast bends
" After 2 good years service from my Carrera Valour, I wanted to upgrade to get more speed and distance.
Initially I was a bit concerned about spending so much money and maybe not gaining as much as I was hoping for.
I can use one word to describe the difference "AMAZING".
I bought the bike from Redditch store. It was set up perfectly by Ben in the Bike Hut , and as yet I can pick no faults on any count.
If you want to spend this kind of money and are hanging back, dont ! You won't regret it.
It's fast, smooth and great for hill climbs.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+50points
54out of 58found this review helpful.