Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Boardman Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"

The Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro is perfect for fitness/leisure riding and commuting with a super-lightweight frame and high spec components.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Review 1 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great service,
March 20, 2014
By Tomme
from ayrshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Early days but this seems like a really good bike.
Reason for review is to compliment Jason who works in the Irvine store. I bought the bike in another store but had one small problem and it was easier for me to go into the Irvine store. Jason is a very helpful, knowledgeable and customer focused young man - well done Jason"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boardman hybrid pro,
December 21, 2013
By woodybridge
from east anglia uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had my Boardman for 2 1/2 yrs covering approx 2,000 km. Excellent light responsive bike a real gem to ride. Rough tracks are not to be favoured as it is much better on the road. I've had 2 punctures from tiny sharp flint and now carry a spare tube. Also fitted one new chain and a set of brake pads supplied by Halfords and that's it! Amazing value for money too, I got mine on a discount day, watch out for them you can save £100 or more.
Bike service staff at Ipswich excellent, especially Jonno now a good mate looks after my bike, he really knows how a bike works.
Oh, a minor crit, the paint is very hard and can chip easily."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Pro At Last,
December 13, 2013
By jkins
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great spec
Cons: pedals
"I have had problems getting this bike, I have tried 3 times and failed, but at last thanks to Ray and his team at Folkestone I have got one, This bike is great, only downside is the pedals.
Strongly recommend
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT BUY INDEED!,
July 19, 2013
By Neezurt
from Portishead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality of build, colour scheme, light weight, handling, brake responsiveness
Cons: 34/50t is too much road biased for a hybrid (imo), heels knock on chainstay
"After a three-year period of illness which also brought about a degradation of my knees (ex MTB-er of 20 years ago!), I traded in my old Specialized M2 for this bike in order to build up my legs and general overall fitness. I've not ridden a bike much at all in the last 15 years, and can't entertain going off-road like the 'good old days' - so I considered the hybrid as being perfect for my mainly on-road needs (with the occasional bike trail thrown in). As I'm now after enjoyable leisure, rather than out-and-out road performance, getting a dedicated road bike wasn't really necessary.
I was originally looking at the Performance Team model, but after trying both that and the Performance Pro in the car park, I felt the SRAM Rival and Elixir 5s were much closer to the XT/Dia Compe 586s on the old M2! For the price differential (I got a deal as I acquired the display model), it was a no-brainer.
Halfords (Cribbs Causeway, Bristol) were REALLY helpful - and although I'd have never entertained them when I was 'into' MTBing back in the 1990s, their knowledge and level of expertise was almost a shock. Everyone I spoke to seemed real enthusiasts... and it certainly helped secure the sale of the Boardman.
As to the bike itself, it's fantastic for the money - sub-20lb and very manageable on roads and lanes. I've only done 50 miles or so and there have been no issues other than there's a small rub on the rear brake disc; looking up on the internet, this should be fairly easy to remedy. Close inspection shows it's more like pad misalignment rather than a bent rotor. I'm not too worried as I know there has to be a settling-in period.
I have the Zaffiro tyres and have kept them hard - no punctures (yet!).
My two biggest gripes are:
I've got the Small (18-inch) frame and have size 9 shoes... but the heels do catch the chain stays, particularly the left one. I tend to pedal slightly toe-out and am running bog-standard flats as I don't feel confident enough to go back to SPDs yet, nor do I feel I want to risk clipless.
The other problem I have is the gearing - 34/50T is, for a returnee like me who's looking to get fit, just a bit to much of a push (especially for legs with quads that have withered away a little!). I've barely been above 50/22... and all too often I find myself on 34/28 with nowhere to go! Personally, I'd have preferred a chainwheel in the region of 30/46 - but maybe I'm just a weakling!
At speed (downhill), the bike feels pretty much like the rider's got full control... although I'm still a little nervous about being on such skinny tyres at those speeds!
The hydraulic brakes are something else - very powerful and responsive - I certainly treat the right-hand with great caution!
As for the Double-Tap gear shifts, it took but a few minutes to get into them. One of the Halfords guys told me to avoid them and go for the Team model, but once I'd tried them in the car park, I really didn't think I'd find them a problem. And I haven't.
All in all, I'm really happy with my purchase and looking forward to building up much more saddle time. For my purposes (of getting fit and improving my knees), this investment has been worth every penny.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Bike.,
July 12, 2013
By MVB2418
from Staffordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: double tap shifters, s ram groupset, super lightweight
"Just compare the level of equipment on this bike to others of a comparable price, it is way above its competitors. All in all this can only be described as a fantastic hybrid bike, ultra light, ultra quick, and super smooth with a level of trim way above its price, undoubtedly one, if not the best on the market."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome bike,
July 03, 2013
By Nosmoking
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: finish and attention to detail, quality of components
Cons: tyres
"My rating is for the bike itself, but I also want to mention the Halfords connection separately. Halfords should be credited for providing us with easy access to Chris Boardman's bikes, rather than having to seek out some specialty store. Having said that though, I would recommend finding a Halfords store with good technical staff prior to buying your bike. Chat to the mechanics to get a feel for their competency, as there seems to be quite a range. I witnessed bolts being tightened on carbon bars and seatposts without a torque wrench and a stem being clamped to the steerer tube BEFORE the top cap was tightened, completely omitting to preload the headset bearings. The Halfords bike setup is adequate at most, and I would recommend setting up the bike again once you get it home.
To the bike. I was looking for an all weather leisure/training bike as an alternative to my road bike with the same 50/34 and 11-28 gearing, and 700c wheels. The Boardman fitted the bill. My first impression was that the bike is a work of art. The 'stealth' paint finish and Chris Boardman graphics are stunning, and the attention to detail such as smoothed welds is phenomenal. It really looks like a high end carbon frame at first glance. The components are top of the line for this price range. I was most concerned about the BB30 bottom bracket and crankset, but apparently the earlier issues with faulty assembly have been fully addressed. The Avid Elixir 5 brakes need a bit of tweaking but once the lever reach and deadband (pad contact position) has been properly set up they offer stunning stopping power. Go to the Sram/Avid website for detailed setup guides. Move the brake levers and gear shifters inboard by around 25-30mm and treat yourself to some amazing one fingered braking. For anyone unfamiliar with Sram's double tap shifting, don't fret. The shifters are totally intuitive and it only takes a ride or two get the hang of them if you are used to Shimano or Campag shifting. Wheels and hubs seem solid for now, but it really needs a full year of riding to assess. I cannot fault anything on this bike, other than perhaps the puncture magnet Vittoria Zaffiro tyres but tyres are usually the first item to replace anyway. A pair of Schwalbe Marathon Plus’s would do nicely. The missing mudguard fork mounts on earlier models has also been addressed, and a set of black SKS commuter mudguards makes it look totally slick, or even 'sick' if you are under 25.
Ideally this bike should be reviewed after a few months of riding but as of early July 2013, the 2012/13 range is being sold off at a discount and the new 2014/15 range will only be available later this year, with unknown specs at this stage. So if you want to get a top quality hybrid/city bike at a knockdown price, grab yourself one of these beauties before they disappear."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Hybrid Pro,
June 29, 2013
By DTDTDTDT
from southampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent bike, really happy with the product and ideal for commuting 20 miles per day."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike, shame about the shop,
June 27, 2013
By IanJ22
from Herts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A cracking bike, can't talk highly enough about it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Pro,
June 20, 2013
By Murfsky
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything... yes everything, very well set up by mike at leigh store, it looks s*** hot
Cons: can't find any faults.. perfect
"I've had this now for 2 weeks and I'm made up with it. I had a heavy mountain bike for 12 months before this as a means of exercise after breaking my ankle. Riding this is an absolute dream. It weighs next to nothing and feels so good to ride. Very fast and eats the hills as has been mentioned. I've had no problems with the tyres for punctures yet but if I do I will get the gator skin to replace. I have just ordered some shimano SPD pedals to try as I have size 11 feet and occasionally my heels touch the rear wheel hangers when pedalling hard. That isn't a problem but the spd's should help keep my heels from wandering in..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LEJOG on a Boardman Hybrid Pro,
June 15, 2013
By JJWeymouth
from Weymouth, Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: everything
Cons: saddle
"Bought the hybrid pro in Oct last year, did plenty of training and prep for an attempt on the Lands End to john O Groats cycle challenge ( at 55 yrs old and 17.5 stone i needed to).
The bike was awesome, if you need a hybrid get one of these.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Hybrid Pro,
June 07, 2013
By JPR11
from Cheadle, Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: weight, build quality, quality of gears and brakes
"Great lightweight bike, with excellent brakes and gears.
Superb quality build.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase,
March 07, 2013
By randm
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, excellent value, fun to ride, all round good quality
Cons: can't just leave it around town without locking
"Bought this bike as a replacement for an old Hybrid that I used for cycling along tracks and around town when I didn't want to use my regular light weight touring bike. What a difference! Although geared higher than my touring bike it just seemed to fly up hills and has now become my bike of choice with the other more expensive bike just used for touring and longish outings. I have put a couple of mudguards on it - no problem - and will be adding a rear rack so it can be used for shopping. Shame because it adds a bit of weight and makes it less stylish but it is meant to be an all purpose bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best of British !,
December 28, 2012
By 1275rob
from Sutton Coldfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: groupset / brakes / lightweight frame, excellent value for money
"I bought this bike about 3 month's ago and I am very impressed. Its used for commuting and was bought using the cycle to work scheme replaceing a heavier MTB. The bike is light, fast and responsive, the SRAM rival groupset and Avid brakes are top quality and have performed faultlessly. I am an experianced cyclist and a regular roady and I would reccomend this bike to anybody, dont bother with the team or comp version as you will only regret it. A++++++++++++++ and it's British !!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Bike!,
November 18, 2012
By Philmj77
from Chelmsford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality, equpiment, finish
"Fanatastic Bike! I am really pleased with the Hybrid Pro, it is a very easy bike to ride and very impressed by how light and quick it is. In my opinion it really does combine the best of both a road bike and an MTB.
Very impressed by how the bike was set up for me in store.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 1
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you Mr Taxman,
November 08, 2012
By JJ88
from Weymouth, Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"I bought a Boardman Hybrid Team nearly 5 years ago which has performed faultlessly. Thanks to tax and NI relief through the cycle to work scheme I have purchased this hybrid pro. It feels like I have bought a Ferrari for the price of a BMW.
It is so good it actually makes me smile while am riding it (apart from up a steep hill!!!) the gears and brakes are simply superb and the bike is effortless to push along.
It looks amazing and if you are looking for a good hybrid get one of these, it rocks.
Also a mention for the very pleasant and professional staff at Ringwood rd Rd in Poole.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Batmans bike,
October 19, 2012
By Barneyrubble99
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the low weight
Cons: trying to track one down
"Brilliant bike and as someone else said it is the sort of thing Batman would ride. Awesome bit of kit"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it !,
August 30, 2012
By noobcyclist
from Burnham/Slough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight., effortless accurate gear changeing.g, fast., excellent disc brakes., very comfortable once you get padded shorts!, couldn't find better for the price., great colour.
Cons: none. apart from wishing i had done this sooner.
"Having (almost) fully recovered from an unidentified viral infection that had me bed then housebound unable to get about for six months I decided that cycling would provide me with a low impact form of exercise. Went out a couple of times on my old 'RSJ on wheels' mountain bike and decided I had to buy something better. After some research settled on the Boardman Hybrid Pro.
I had forgotten just how much fun cycling is and am so very glad I made the purchase.
The machine is light, smooth and fast. Plus I love the Stealth Bomber black colouring.
I took the advice of others and at time of ordering had the tyres changed to Schwalbe Marathon Plus and the pedals changed to Shimano SPD's.
Have had the bike about three weeks now and having bought some padded undershorts am out riding two/three times a week.
I am so very glad I bought this bike. It has invigorated me no end. Looking for 'buddies' to go riding with now!
Bogdan at the Slough branch was very helpful with advice and tips. Thanks'.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WoW ......Weeeee!!,
July 27, 2012
By Bruno41
from Birmingham,England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light smoothgood value for money, has taken time off my commute, will put a smile on ya face., harder than its looks!!!
Cons: will make you frawn at your old mtb abit, the paint will chip if you knock the frame.
"Ive had this bike now for 3 weeks(through the CTW scheme). This is my 2nd bike (first one-Specialized Hardrock comp 2008) this machine on the road is quicker sturdier and very very smooth.It came with the Vittoria Zaffiro semi slicks.It performs very well on rainy days(well done halfords with the tire upgrade!!)I needed to change the saddle because it was a bit harsh (chaffing!!) I also changed the Bar grips for a pair of specialized BG flat palm grips because i get numb fingers after a ride (hence the dropped star for quality).Just to add the gears are smooth and unlike my MTB dont give out under Pressure."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, shame about the tyres,
May 15, 2012
By blackandwhiteroller
from London, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sharp brakes, smooth gear change
Cons: get rid of the tyres
"I had no hesitation in getting a direct replacement for the Hybrid Pro that was stolen a few weeks ago. That was the second one purchased, so I have developed something of a loyalty to it. The Elixir brakes are sharp and the bike, while being nippy is robust enough to stand up to daily city commuting and carrying a regular heavy load.
I learnt after my first Pro to change the tyres immediately. After 4 punctures in the first month, I replaced them with Schwalbe Marathon Plus and haven't had a flat since, or on any of the subsequent steeds. It's a shame that the overall price couldn't have stretched to some more substantial tyres.
Given that drawback, an excellent bike overall.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Pro Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman pro Hybrid wicked kit,
January 12, 2012
By garryyw
from Kirkstall,Leeds, West Yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well put together piece of engineering
"I have owned my Boardman Hybrid Pro now for 2 weeks and must say that its one of the smoothest machines i have ever ridden,no problems with the bike except 1 or 2 small niggles first there is no front mudguard mounting point although i managed to adapt one using cable ties but itmoves around alot but works..second the only mechanical issue is with the front disc brake if tightened up fully it whines and vibrates through handlebars put on the brakes and whales like a banshee very irritating for something that cost a grand.. loosend off just slightly its not bad ..will take this up with Dan in the Kirkstall Depot at its 6 weeks service..
thats the only gripe with it its fantastic..
The staff at leeds must have thought Oh My God its him again as i made lots of visits to the store in leeds the choice was amazing and all the staff were absolutely brilliant but an extra special effort from Dan was appreciated give them a call you wont be dissapointed...
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>