Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"

Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19 inch is ideal for fitness, leisure or commuting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.844 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
30 of 32(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Review 1 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
February 08, 2014
By Bujeet
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm totally loving my new Team Hybrid. Light. Great quality. Fast. This really is the perfect London commuter bike.
What I love
- the carbon forks mean smooth even on poor surfaces
- great breaks inc in the pouring rain (I've tested this)
- light and responsive
- quality build
Been riding most days for last 6yrs and this is my best bike out of last 6 bikes (though by no means the most expensive). Try it. Buy it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WOODGREEN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of Kit,
January 23, 2014
By BabyG78
from newcastle upon tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Just purchased this today and already I'm impressed the build quality is great and it is so quick on the road totally different from what i have been using But so glad i made the change from Carrera Vulcan to this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very high quality and very fast bike. a real joy to ride.,
September 30, 2013
By Mat22
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Did a 50 mile event yesterday and bike could not be faulted. Very good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cycle this bike for a year, then review it!,
August 26, 2013
By Kir001
from Bristol
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: high spec components, value, looks great
Cons: build quality, crank instability, constant clicking
"2011 Model. The specs and value of components on this bike are the only good thing I have to say about it.
Poor build quality. Constant problems with both changing gears and pedalling. Constant clicking sound when pedalling. Spent at least £400 in the last year in servicing charges.
Crank arm sheared off mid pedal as I was commuting into work. Try controlling a bike at top speed with just one foot to balance on. Great fun.
Like I said. High spec components. Great value for money. Shocking build quality."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase,
August 04, 2013
By 350mountain
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Never wrote a review for any think before, but I'm so pleased with the bike , the only moan is the set up with the gears but got there in the end. Ticks all the boxes for the bike I wanted because I've always had mountain bikes yet the bike is more than capable bunny hopping up and down curbs. Love the design of the frame and considering how thin the tyres it's very good to ride and he steering is very sharp"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Team Boardman 19inch,
July 26, 2013
By actnow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Superb bike been looking for a decent bike for some time. Loads of good bikes out there however my preferences are definitely with Boardman due to build quaity, materials and superb performance. I look forward to using it in ernest on my return from holuday......Halfords in Botley Oxfors were very helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fantastic product design,
July 20, 2013
By Russ2343
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
"This is my first bike purchase for nearly 10 years and I'm really pleased with the bikes build quality and equipment.
Would recommend to anyone looking for a commuting hybrid..
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRIXTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing bike,
July 17, 2013
By foofan1
from middlewich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: eveything
"I was stuck between road bike or hybrid for riding to work.I decided on hybrid team.can't fault it in any way its an amazing bike.very fast and responsive.it flys up hills no problem.when I get to work I just want to keep going.iv started cycling a lot more now.just love being on it.it used to take me 30mins to cycle to work but only 18mins now.I'm going to save up and get my Mrs one.iv orderd some gator tyres because of other reviews regarding the tyres that came with the bike not being too good.but so far iv rode 80 odd miles without a problem.marc at halfords in Crewe was great helping me sort bike and accessory's out.I got bar ends and mudgaurds as well as a Boardman helmet and pannier rack.all with cycle2work sceme.can't praise the bike enough."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CREWE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great responsive ride and excellent kit,
July 11, 2013
By Bikeacer123
from Downham Market
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was apprehensive as to whether to get a road or hybrid bike for a forthcoming sponsored ride.
We are attempting LEJOG and after just 2 weeks of practice rides I am so glad I went for the Hybrid Team. Fast, well equipped and strong wheels make this the ideal machine for everyday use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SPEED!!!,
July 09, 2013
By DanMan85
from portsmouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: speed, comfort, lightweight
"I was amazed at the level of comfort and ease that comes with a bike like this. The boardman comp pro is definitely a must have for the bike enthusiast, it offers comfort and style as well as the ability to get where you are going fast!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stunner,
July 01, 2013
By denzilgts
from carlisle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: frame qualiy, brilliant ride, braking second to non
Cons: grips - personal preference thats all
"i had time trialled for manh years until i suffered some on going neck pains. after recently getting back into cycling the boardman team hybrid was my choice. i wanted flat bars but to be able to turn a little speed when my fitness began or should i say begins to return.
the frame has a rock solid feel to it on the road. the quality is second to non.. i have compared this to other bikes in the class before purchasing the brand and think this is a steal. a magic point is the braking system.. i have never been a confident person downhill even in fitter times.. the hydraulic brakes give good ffedback and actually help me ride faster knowing i can stop in time.. i only have one personal thing to change on the bike and that is the grips.. i need ergon style grips with bar ends just for my own riding style. the standard grips are spot on it just me.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? CARLISLE
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all round value,
June 28, 2013
By Wimbles
from Suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the gears and the brakes are fantastic
Cons: the handlebar grips are a bit naf
"Ive had the bike a week and done over 30 miles on it.
I primarily bought it to get fit and continue to lose weight
bike is very responsive and light on the front end i just love this bike have no complaints at the moment
the Team seemed to be the best value for money however 1 week after delivery the online web team discounted the Pro by 15% yes £149 cheaper and i think this would have influenced my purchase (however the guys in the shop were very considerate and told me they would take up the matter if i wanted to move to the Pro) thanx guys.
Dont think im going to bother as I love my Team.
I did get my British Cycling 10% discount anyways but apparently Halfords will honour this in addition to corporate sale prices.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing bike. Sheer quality!!!!!!,
June 26, 2013
By Jimmy1987
from Lytham, St Anne's
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight
Cons: problems with bb
"A lot of bike for your money. Spec could be better with a full group set but cannot fault the quality of the bike :). A bike to ride to work and then getting some serious miles done on the weekend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Great All-rounder,
June 25, 2013
By FreeJuice
from Wallsend, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brakes and gearshift, comfortable ride
"Moved to hybrid from road/mountain bikes.
The Hybrid Team is a quality product and a joy to ride on both road and country park tracks.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely durable bike, perfect for London,
June 18, 2013
By ActionMan87
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, durable, value for money, easy customisations
"Living in London, I haven’t always been a fan of thin hybrid bikes as I cycle the Thames path daily and a lot of it is off road. However, this bike is fantastic, fitted with hybrid gatorskin tyres, avid brakes and a bike hut light powerful enough to light up the path from London to Dartford you are pretty much ready for anything, I’ve cycled over 200 miles in two weeks and it’s taken some serious punishment both on and off road. However, every time in on it, its like brand new, defiantly a great purchase considering how cheap it is."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHARLTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome!,
June 02, 2013
By Bstardo
from Shoeburyness
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"I've now had my Boardman Team hybrid for just over a week,and I love it to bits. I took advantage of the Bank Holiday 10% off and treated myself to this lovely machine - even though it was a lot of money (for me) to spend on a bike,especially when there was nothing wrong with my existing machine (Marin Kentfield,which is nice too),I felt compelled to do so after so many glowing reports about the Boardman - and they weren't wrong. It's effortless to ride,quiet,super-smooth gear changing and it stops on a sixpence - and it's drop-dead gorgeous too!!
I'd advise anyone to buy this,even at the full price - and the guys at Halfords in Westcliff were friendly too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Bike (slightly dodgy build),
May 30, 2013
By Tpc197
from Devon UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: weight spec price
Cons: lose crank :(
"Great bike...amazing spec and weight for the price...looked high and low and next nearest sub 10kg bike was much more expensive. It's great to ride. Only problem, after a hundred miles or so the crank managed to loosen itself from the BB and there was noticeable sliding so I had to return it. Halfords mended it within 24 hrs and I was back on road. I have been tipped the wink that while the frame and kit are great, the factory assembly is less than perfect and teething trouble is possible."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
May 27, 2013
By hookers1960
from Dagenham Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: weight, brakes, gear change
Cons: pedal straps
"I cannot fault this bike its fast the brakes are perfect and gear changes are smooth and quite. I removed the straps from the pedals as they can be a pain and this bike eats hills for breakfast. This bike replaces my Carrera crossfire 2 which was a good all rounder but I wish I had purchased this bike. The guys at Halfords Chadwell Heath are a top team and helped me out with saddle height etc etc."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHADWELL HEATH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You'd need a good reason NOT to buy this bike!!,
May 13, 2013
By Jules1971
from Daresbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"Upgraded to this from Hybrid Comp. I've fitted Shimano pedals and the combination is great! It's fast - agile - and effortless to ride. It's a great looking bike and you will find yourself admiring it from numerous angles. I'm tempted to get a road bike but this delivers on many levels. Buy it - you won't be disappointed :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WIDNES
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Team - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faultless so far,
May 07, 2013
By nicka
from derbyshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Out of the competition, this was the best specced bike at the price .... even before the 10% off sale.
The bike came neatly and carefully packed and took me less than an hour to assemble, using just two allen keys. Gears and brakes were already set up and worked straight away.
Being a bike nerd I disassembled the headset and bottom bracket (some owners had reported problems with these) and found that everything was properly greased and treated with anti-cease compound. Not only good components but properly put together in the factory too.
The supplied pedals are nothing special, but everything else (even the saddle) is good quality. The advertised Avid Juicy 3 brakes (not well regarded and now out of production) have been replaced with the new entry level Avid Elixir 1s and they seem just fine.
The tyres (supposedly 700c x 28) are VERY narrow and nearly slicks, certainly road tyres..
First ride out: it's a firm ride but not uncomfortable and spookily silent, NOTHING rattles and it's light enough to skip over the bumps in the road.
I guess I won't be winning the Giro d'Italia on it, but as a round town, fun and comuting bike; so far I just can't fault it.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
12next>>