Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Boardman Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"

The Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike Large 21inch is versatile and ideal for leisure riding.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
73 of 78(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Review 1 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boardman hybrid comp,
December 29, 2013
By Killer28
from Uk
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Poor factory quality control, three bikes arrived damaged from the factory, boxes were sealed so this must have happened at the factory"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (COULBY NEWHAM)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Bike,
September 06, 2013
By mace144
from suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Like a few people, I bought this bike as an entry back into cycling, my first bike since I left school!
I have found it to be good value, reliable and comfortable.
I bought the bike one year ago to the day, and have covered 2075 miles on it so far, including a 65 mile sponsored ride.
It has been back to Halfords, but only for a routine service. The only component that needed replacing being the chain.
James at Halfords Ipswich deserving a mention for his above average attention and service.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unreliable components and poor build quality,
August 28, 2013
By Chateau1984
from Bristol
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: it's fast, looks great, fantastic handling, lightweight, comfortable
Cons: poor build quality, unreliable components
"I feel like I can write a just and fair review of this bike having now owned it for 9 months. I bought it in November 2012 on the cycle to work scheme. First impressions were excellent, great design, lightweight, and fantastic specs for this price bracket.
Having not cycled since I was young I didn't want to jump to a full road bike on my return to cycling at the age of 29.
Let's start of with the positive points:
It's fast
Looks great
Fantastic handling
Lightweight
Comfortable
Now the poor:
Poor build quality
unreliable components
Unfortunately my hybrid comp has spent most of its life back at Halfords for repair.
So far the following major components have failed on me:
Bottom bracket
Gear ratchet
and I've had the following replaced:
Two new complete wheels + gears with numerous retunes.
Ongoing problems include a constant "clicking" noise from the bracket. Maybe I'm just unlucky but after speaking to numerous bike users they've never heard of so many things so wrong with a bike in succession. I don't know if it's Halfords build quality or the quality of Boardman components. Either way I've been disappointed with my buying experience
The bike when it works is fantastic, but unfortunately this seems to last a week before the next problem develops....
I'm looking to upgrade this November to a full road bike and although I recommend a hybrid to enter the world of cycling I wouldn't necessarily recommend this model for it's reliability problems."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bicycle,
August 23, 2013
By jc4242
from leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I commute to work which is a 14 mile round trip with some nice big hills. Im a very pleased with the bike. When I got the bike I noticed that the gears were a bit out but after taking it back to halfords they sorted it in 15 minutes. I have been riding mountain bikes on the road for quite a long time, day in, day out and the hybrid is totally superior. Light weight and very fast. The boardman frame is nice and sturdy and the welds are very smooth. It really is a step above and other ardent cyclists respect the brand. Nice colour, reasonable saddle, excellent frame, fast, nice handle bars, good gear change on back cog not on front though, enough places on the frame for attachments"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dissapoinment,
August 19, 2013
By Abairsty
from Yorks
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: the look
Cons: the sram and avid components
"I purchased the bike from Bradford store and when I used it for the first time the front wheel didnt run free as it was catching on the disc brake, this was the start of a familiar theme.
After several adjustments I took it into another branch as a washer was catching on the disc brake then returned the bike the next day as the problem was getting worse and rear wheel wasnt true.Three days later I got a fully working bike and for the next 10 miles everything was ok. Then the rear disc brake started catching and I counted 6 very loose spokes.
The bike was returned and a full refund was given.
Never again
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good bike well pleased,
August 07, 2013
By westham61
from warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"well pleased with bike rides like a dream really good"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ERDINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21",
August 03, 2013
By hoppy1960
from staffordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: style
"this bike is a good performance hybrid bike. it has great features and looks. ideal for anyone who wants to ride any distance with comfort."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, purchase experience not so good,
July 27, 2013
By Villaniere
from Stoke on Trent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light fast and looks good
Cons: halfords
"To set the scene I do regular commutes of approx 12 miles a day and the occasional sponsored 50 mile ride.
Bought this bike as an upgrade for my old Saracen mountain/hybrid bike. After reading the reviews for various bikes I plumped for the Boardman Comp.
The bike is well made, light, handles well, is fast and looks great. Like any new bike it takes some getting used to but the gears, brakes and saddle are all ultimately good.
As other have said its a road bike with flat bars. Simple as that.
Glad I spent a little extra on the Boardman but disappointed with the poor service I have witnessed/received at two local branches in Stoke."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boardman performance hybrid bike,
July 26, 2013
By Boardman2012
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A great light bike, very good spec for the price, it's ideal for fitness and commuting"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Almost very good,
July 21, 2013
By Dabe
from Durham UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good looking, nice to ride
Cons: frame needs more protection, setup not wonderful, some parts look a little flimsy (eg wheel bearings
"This is a nice bike to ride - it is agile and quite rigid, like a road bike.
Gears were very badly setup on collection (front mech. did nothing at all) and toe clips were supplied (not attached) but straps are missing.
Frame has very little protection so cables rub in places ( I have bought extra stickers) and feet easily catch the wide frame to accommodate the 9 speed cassette.
There is an anchor point on the fork for the front brake cable but it has not been used.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BISHOP AUCKLAND
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent commuting bike,
July 12, 2013
By Drifter70
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was aiming to buy a road bike that was lighter than my two mountain bikes, but sturdy enough to provide a comfortable ride for occasional commuting. The Boardman Comp has met my requirements here, as it quite lightweight, allowing you to accelerate quickly, and I have also been able to handle some local hills without too much strain. I wouldn't recommend this as an off road bike however because the tyres are not thick enough to handle rough paths. The bike also has a stylish look to it which adds to the value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sleek road bike,
July 11, 2013
By Anonymous
from Staffordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: head turning looks
Cons: gears not set up when delivered.
"Looked at lots of sites to compare the hybrid bikes on offer at the £500 range , and a majority pointed to the Boardman comp. Going from a 20 year old secound hand Diamond Back to this was a revalation in all aspects ; weight,disc brakes ,gearing and fine detail in the build quality. I've only had the bike a few days but love it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hybrid Comp,
July 11, 2013
By stupot37
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike. Just give it a check over before riding it. Gears needed tweaking!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy customer,
June 24, 2013
By Sinclair67
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: its weight and speed
"The product purchased was a good value for money product in todays western financial terms.
I am very pleased with my purchase and would happily recommend the product to others."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike, great value, great service,
June 20, 2013
By Sneakers
from Woodley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this bike from the Winnersh branch having had some great advice from the very helpful Jon who was great as were the rest of the team when I picked the bike up.
I have now completed almost 200 miles on the bike and I have been really pleased with my choice. A great change from my Boardman Mountain bike and a very different experience which has been brilliant.
Great value for what you get and the advice I had was also first class. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is thinking of moving to a Hybrid bike and may not need a full racer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boardman Hybrid is well built,
June 20, 2013
By hamstring100
from blackmore
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes
Cons: the white colour is aweful
"Well made bike; excellent features compared to other similar priced bikes so very good purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Comp,
June 17, 2013
By MikeyB87
from Cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, fast
"This bike is everything you expect from a hybrid, it is fast, lightweight and very sturdy. I ride 7 miles every day to work and this has reduced my time by approx 3 mins per day, it is a lot faster than my old bike and just "eats up the miles" with no effort. Definately recommend this to any one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike, compares very favourably!,
June 12, 2013
By DaleH
from Titchfield Common, Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: stunning looks, great specification, light and fast
"I have a Boardman Pro HT and a Boardman Pro Carbon, but had the bug for a hybrid. I am delighted with the Hybrid Comp. it is fast, light, robust (I am 1.84m & 97 kg), looks beautiful and extremely well spec'd for this price! Thoroughly recommended!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
June 11, 2013
By Energeticwhippet
from Clydebank
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: build quality, looks, well balanced
"Hadn't been cycling for a couple of years and decided I wanted to start again. Looking for something I could use to get to and from work as well as out and about at the weekend. This bike has now been used every day for both reasons.
Brakes are very responsive and the gears are very smooth.
Light weight for easy lifting or storage.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? CLYDEBANK
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Comp Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good all rounder,
June 09, 2013
By geoff3003
from cheshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: all rounder
Cons: wheels
"Good bike does what it says on the tin wheels not up to much"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CREWE
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>