Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Car Subwoofers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure

VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" active bass enclosure features dual flared Vibe TurboPorts for smoother airflow and cleaner bass.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 of 17(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Review 1 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Subwoofer and Staff,
September 20, 2013
By Gould1
from United kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Dear Halfords
After purchasing a Vibe lite air sub a few years ago , I was extremely please. Unfortunately the sub blew which was due to no fault of my own , so i returned to halfords on which a member of staff sorted a return for me. The product came back and unfortunately i blew it myself.
After graduating thoughts went back to my sub as I was driving much more. The same sub was not available, so i tried online through a different outlet which resulted in me wasting a week or two and the product never turning up for my birthday, due to manufactures had stopped the range.
However Halfords could be trusted to provide an alternative, to which they did. Unfortunately I had to drive to bath from bristol however this was no problem for the bass i was about to experience. The sub was great and Matt from the bristol eastville site was a great help!
Halfords provided an A+ service! and notthing less is expected"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BATH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sub,
July 30, 2013
By Abby95
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This product has excellent sound quality, easy to fit and produces a range of different sound levels."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Sub,
June 26, 2013
By DigitalApathy
from Eastbourne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very happy with this, looks great, sounds great and so easy to set up!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish,
June 19, 2013
By carl231
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Had 2 of them in the space of a month. both times they blew as in the voice coil seemed to unravel. really good at first but then it will just blow.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vibe Package,
March 03, 2013
By rach10876
from Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the bass, the look, the quailty, the shape, the sound
Cons: the remote wire is flimsy
"I would recommend this product to anyone ,
the bass is banging best product ever ,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Sound,
February 26, 2013
By Clig19
from Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to install, huge thumping sound, sound ports
"Easy to install and tune.
Great optional sound ports for a different sound.
Huge thumping sound.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure,
February 16, 2013
By Vale46
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very efficient install
"I reserved this sub on Thursday for collection on Friday and even got it booked in for the "We Fit" service on Saturday! I was very happy with the on-line service and had no problems whatsoever. The installer in the Kirkcaldy store "William" done a SUPERB install of this sub keeping me informed at every stage. My car was left in the same condition as it arrived. He also gave me GREAT tips/advice on looking after my new sub as he has installed that many."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boom boom,
January 11, 2013
By BradD93
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the bass, the look
Cons: no wiring kit
"Absolutely well worth the money just make sure you look inside the box for the wiring kit as mine didnt have one with it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Take care and this will be excellent value,
December 29, 2012
By bens18grumpydad
from Basingstoke
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value- with xmas 10%
Cons: cant use speaker level input
"I wanted a sub to boost the bass on a Grande Punto, retaining the OEM Blaupunkt. One of the useful features of BAV12 is the line level input so you can connect to the rear speakers- however it seems hit and miss if the box comes with the wiring kit you need to connect to the high level input 4 way connector on the sub. I recommend that you open the box in the shop and check it out to avoid a return trip! If the kit is not included, the separate Vibe amp wiring kit doesnt help as this critical component is not included.
Hats off to the staff at Basingstoke who resolved the problem by including a Vibe 2000W wiring kit and an Autoleads line level adaptor, so the speaker level connection can be coupled to the RCA phono input on the sub.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Children
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent sub and service,
September 25, 2012
By thegrinder72
from bury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this is my 2nd sub unit from halfords and i must say its the best one so far for the price range. its sounds awesome but ya must run it in for 30hrs to get the best sound out of it.
the fitter at the bury branch was excellent and explained everything he was doing at every stage, the sound is clear and crisp and it looked an easy install,would have had a go myself but im useless at diy so left it to the experianced lol.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply kicks !,
September 01, 2012
By MaxsoundCarAudio
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great self powered active sub that really does kick !Worth every penny .."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sounding speaker,
January 08, 2012
By blasterdad
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good product, does what it says, easy to install & great sound. This is the 2nd one of these I have bought for my sons cars. One stopped working after a few months but was exchanged no problem. Description says it comes with a wiring kit and the 1st one did but the 2nd was missing it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Who will use this Product? Children
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome subwoofer,
March 05, 2011
By Sonic777
from Nottingham, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: remote level & gain control, comes with a wiring kit
Cons: you have to download the user manual, does not come with a vibe fastplug, doesn't come with a grill to protect the speaker
"This is one awesome subwoofer. Let me just say one thing first, if you buy one of these subwoofers you won't be disapointed with it, you will have to download the user manual for it though & after fitting the subwoofer you will have to run it in for 30 hours which seems like an eternity, but you have to do this so you don't damage the unit. With everything being new & tight it needs time to loosen up & to bed it's self in.
I've been running mine in for about 10 hours now and already I'm starting to notice the sub is getting louder & puncher.
I've been installing & running good sound systems in my cars since I started driving, which pains me to say is over 20 years now, where does time go, anyway, this is one of the best subs I have bought, it's a very clean deep punchy sound which will rattle just about everything in your car.
You can buy cheaper subs then this one but I don't think you would get quite the same build quality or sound quality that the vibe bav12 offers.
I just can't wait till my 30 hours are up so I really test the sub out properly.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boom Boom!,
January 11, 2011
By EYR1
from Bournemouth, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my new sub, it sounds amazing and was a good price online. It was easy to install and looks great. Very satisfied, a must have for all music lovers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good Purchase,
September 17, 2010
By Ali93
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good quality with frequency and gain adjustment. Would recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VIBE BAV12 - 12" Vented 12" Active Bass,
September 06, 2010
By OldSkoolRaver
from Hertfordshire , England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"One of the best subs I've purchased (and I have had a few!)
The sound from the sub is very clear and has a nice 'deep punch' to it. Sounds better than most of the passive subs (along with amps) that I have had.
Also comes with a remote for gain and frequency, so can be tuned to your liking. Has 2 ports which makes a huge difference to the tuning (I block the bottom port for a more deep punchy bass ideal for breakbeat hardcore, old skool jungle and acid house).
Just a helpful hint, for the first 25-30 hours, don't go loud as the sub has to 'loosen up'. After this time you will hear a massive difference in the deep punchyness of the sub.
Some people either don't listen too or take the advice and have paid for it as the sub doesn't get to its full potential and can end up damaged as a result.
Overall this is one of the best subs I have owned and is an absolute treat at the price you get it for."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIBE BAV12 Vented 12" Active Bass Enclosure
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top sub :),
August 25, 2010
By sixdaysontherun
from gloucester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great powerful bass, amazing low end bass, 3 different tuning options, remote controls, quick and easy to set up, looks good
"These subs are absolute amazing they are very good in producing great low end of bass and real good thumping bass that makes your car really vibrate. At the moment i only have the gain under 1/2 and one of the port plugs out and it sounds wicked. I really do recommend one of these subs. Vibe really knows how to make some great subs and this is one of them. I hope this helps to others interested in buying a sub. This is the best to buy quick simple to wire up and all the wires and remote control are included in the box. Top sub i have to say :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.