Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier

Take the whole family out cycling with the Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
saris sentinel 3 bike carrier,
July 01, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good product for the money
Cons: standard frame straps
" Real easy to fit with a sturdy feel to it used once so far don't feel confident with the standard plastic fasteners which fasten around the bike frame to hold the bikes to the rack we had to purchase extra straps. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
June 29, 2015
By
from Esher, Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: prongs too far apart difficult to lift high enoug
" Having read reviews about this style of carrier I am happy to have purchased the mid-priced rack. It fit together quite simply and the instructions were clear.
Some people commented about possible scratches to the car but I think this is only a risk for significant usage as the metal clips for tying onto the boot are coated.
The best thing about this rack is that it fit my Golf Convertible despite most products of this type saying they're not suitable.
My only problem with the rack was that the prongs for putting the bikes on are a little far apart and in this style quite high up. I couldn't lift my bikes onto it properly (as I have back trouble) as I couldn't lift it high enough at the correct angle (which the instructions don't explain), and cobbled it together but it still worked safely. My husband proved that with more power it is possible to put the bikes on much more safely as they're intended
There is also no instruction for side attachments and we ended up not using them though I'm sure they're better for longer journeys than I did "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value - does the job,
June 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Used this for my kids 2 bikes doing 100 mile trip, very secure and easy to set up. Seems the best value rack I could find and can be used on many different vehicles "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great help,
June 15, 2015
By
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We bought this bike rack for the car to get the kids bikes attached for the long journeys and it's a great bit of kit. The staff at the shop where great and the on line ability was great too. We ordered it and where called once it was in the shop (which was earlier than expected). A+++ "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great value for money,
June 10, 2015
By
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
" The bike rack is robust, easy to fit and does not damage the car paint work. The price is good, and it does what you want from a bike rack. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solidand sturdy,
April 29, 2015
By
from Loughborough
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Of course you can spend more money in a bike rack and get a more robust product, but this is great value for money and certainly more than robust enough for the 3 bikes it carried for me last weekend. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not yet used,
December 18, 2014
By
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to attach
" This item has been brought as a Christmas present but it was on a recommendation so I am expecting great things from it should be in store as well as on line "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good because it folds away,
December 16, 2014
By
from Yateley, Yateley, Hampshire GU46, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" good value for money and good on line service highly recomend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says!,
August 21, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
" The Saris Sentinal 3 Bike Rear Carrier works a treat. Goes on easily and is simple to use. Bikes are mounted quite easily although my son's bike was a bit of a squeeze. I have also purchased some additional straps to anchor bikes to it, although this is probably about me being over cautious than any perceived failings of the carrier. All in all it is simple to use, small enough to store away easily and carries three bikes. Just what is required! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Saris sentinel 3 bike carrier,
August 13, 2014
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: simple to fit
Cons: straps sliding on sides to tail light may cause da
" Whilst the carrier was simple to fit the straps come loose after a period of driving and the side straps are unsuitable for specific types of boot lids. I have a Volkswagen CC and the rear boot is angled in, the strap then slides to the tail light and may cause damage, I have to pack this with soft packing material when using. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good purchase,
August 05, 2014
By
from Dundee, Dundee City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" We struggled to find a bike carrier for the back of our car as most models are made to fit hatch back cars.
We managed to fit it with out any difficulties and would recommend this rather than having to consider buying roof racks etc.
Its a bit tricky putting kids bikes on as the frame is smaller but did manage.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Takes 3 bikes like it says,
August 20, 2012
By
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I've had cheap cycle racks in the past but I'm glad I spent 10% more as the Saris rack works well. Easy to assemble (many aren't) and with clear instructions, well made, and strong enough to carry 3 bikes, it has so far done the job well. Only criticism is the clips come without any rubberised protection for your car's paint work, which is a let-down. But it only takes a few minutes to add some gaffer tape and you're ready to go. A big plus is that it folds down easily and goes into the boot while you're riding, so it'll still be there when you come back. Worth waiting a couple of days for delivery to nearest Halford's store. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saris Bones Sentinel 3,
May 21, 2012
By
from Uxbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight, easy to fit, will fit most vehicles, sturdy
Cons: straps slip, will not carry oversize tubed bikes
" Good sturdy product, was apprehensive carrying 3 bikes with it being so light weight but it is very strong and rigid and easily carried 3 bikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value but could damage paintwork,
October 23, 2011
By
from Lincoln
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Does the job well considering how cheap it is. My only gripe is that the metal clips that attach to the car are not covered in a protective foam meaning they will scratch the car paintwork- I have had to wrap them in gaffer tape to protect it. Other than this it is a solid rack that folds and fits in the boot easily. It should be noted 2 people are needed to attach it properly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Saris Sentinel 3 Bike Rear Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for!,
May 27, 2010
By
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fitted a saloon car
" Spent a long time researching the best bike transporter to fit my alfa romeo 159 (saloon). I didn't want a roof rack, as our bikes are too heavy to lift and I didn't want to spend a fortune.
This carrier fitted the bill - it's good quality and the instructions were easy to follow.
I felt confident driving with one bike on the carrier, would have for two, but we struggled to get 3 on.
The carrier came off easily and left no marks.
Overall a good purchase and once we get new lighter bikes I'm sure we'll be using it for all 3.
N.B. Great delivery service from Halfords, arrived within the 5 days timescale given. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+81points
87out of 93found this review helpful.