Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"

Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike-19inch has 18speed gearing and SRAM MRX gripshift.
Average Customer Rating:
4.107 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(197 Reviews) 197
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (197 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
96
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
15
171 of 193(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Review 1 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Straigthforward mens mountain bike,
June 26, 2014
By DeeVee
from Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" If the bike size is correct for you (it only comes in 19" frame size - not for the very short or tall) and you just want a regular ride at a budget price, this bike could be for you. The bike was collected unassembled from the shop and it was in pristine new condition. It was easy enough to self assemble, however, as I had to request Halfords staff's help to make sure I got the front wheel aligned correctly, I'd recommend paying the extra to get done professionally. The bike rides well, the gear changes are precise and the braking even and firm. It feels sturdy and as it will last me for a while "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good bike,
May 24, 2014
By blueinc
from uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: nice ride
" This is a good Quality bike good value for money would recommend this bike to friend and family and it is easy to put together take like 10 15 mins "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
falling apart,
April 28, 2014
By damon92
from merseyside
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: poor quality, too expensive for what you get., repair staff aren't professional
" i bought this bike under a year ago and after the second month the rear axle had bent and damaged the rear gears with it. i have only been riding to and from work on road and i way 12 stone. they repaired the axle but not the gears as they could see "nothing" wrong with them. i was without the bike for 1 month while they repaired it. the axle has gone again and has bent the wheel. the brake leavers cracked. i would never buy a bike from halfords again. They are just the average joe repairing bikes that i have done a better job myself. every person i know who has owned a halfords bike has complained about it falling apart. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bike and Great Value For Money!!,
February 23, 2014
By Fieldstar7
from Hertforshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: stylish bold design, comfortable gear system
" Bought this bike as i needed a quick replacement for my old bike, in order to commute into my local village. This bike fits all the criteria and is an excellent bike, with a good, smooth ride and you get great performance out of the gears. A truly magnificent bike! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trax tr.1,
February 05, 2014
By eap1
from Paisley
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this after my Dawes road bike was stolen just before xmas.
Was worried tbh that it was so cheap, however have found it good value for money.
use it as a commute bike, doing about 20 miles a day.
had to make adjustments to gears and brakes but i would find that standard on any bike.
Only issues i have is that with the MTB tyres is fely very heavy and sluggish so changed them to touring tyres and its has mnade an enormous difference, and have found the overall ride comfortabkle and smooth.
For a GENERAL RUN AROUND OR COMMUTE BIKE , WORTH THE MONEY ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money!,
January 15, 2014
By speedpeter69
from county durham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Assembled the bike myself which was pretty easy! Took it for a ride. Bike feels solid and looks good quality, gears and brakes work well and a very smooth ride. Only bad points are the seat is not very comfortable and no gear guard. But with a few extra pounds spent these points will be rectified! Overall I think the bike is excellent value for the money I've paid! Would recommend this to anyone! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great value for money,
December 28, 2013
By Ally28
from Carlisle
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I bought this for my 15 year old son for christmas. I paid the extra to get it built up ready to use, as my son got on it and started riding it the chain came off, it wasn't all tightened properly my son was upset. Apart from that the bike was a great price defo value for money. I would recommend the bike defiantly but make sure it's set up right. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Which Store did you visit? CARLISLE
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A product worth every penny,
November 03, 2013
By Robiie42
from Llanelli
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: :-)
" I'm glad I bought this bike, it's cheap, cheerful, worth every penny "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
October 06, 2013
By AdrianS
from North Dorset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A relatively cheap mountain bike and excellent value. Gears and brakes work efficiently, tyres are knobbly, wide and grip well, also easy to set up yourself. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FROME
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trax TR1,
September 28, 2013
By PAULY1234
from POOLE DORSET
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" THE BIKE IS GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY ALSO WELL BILT AND COMFORTABLE REALLY EASY TO ASSEMBLE "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GREAT VALUE,
September 21, 2013
By Sked
from co antrim
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: hard saddle
" I bought this bike to do the short daily commute to work. About 4 miles round trip. So far so good. Been using the bike about a week now and no problems. Bike is grand on the road but i dont think it would stand a lot of punishment over rough ground. good enough bike for the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BALLYMENA
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value,
September 20, 2013
By Wenderlina
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the running of it
" Great value bike and works well for the money it was a nice easy ride and liked the look if the bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good valued mountain bike,
September 18, 2013
By Anonymous
from London, England
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: price, strength
Cons: speed, seat
" I am very happy for this purchase. The bike is simple and easy to set up. It is not too heavy and all the parts are of a good quality. The brakes are strong and its transaction is excellent.
The bike seat is very uncomfortable, very hard and has to be angled downward for reasonable tolerance. It is also very slow and very tough on the hamstrings in the higher gears. It is faster then a Boris Bike.
For anyone thinking of buying this for work, I would recommend spending a little more elsewhere. This is not comfortable for any distance more than 2 miles at steady speed.
Great value for a product that is worth every penny! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for a cheap runaround,
August 09, 2013
By Warrior1968
from Saint Neots
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap transport, does what is says on the tin
Cons: change the seat not very comfy
" I bought this to aid me in losing weight and keeping fit, after having to set up the gears and brakes, myself it runs really well, only bind i had with it was the chain wanted to keep changing gears on me when peddling backwards, this has since been resolved.
I have had cheap machines in the past and they have been really poor and paid top money for them , this has excelled it self, and the staff have been really helpful over a couple of issues I had with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value,
August 07, 2013
By tdog
from u k
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" got this bike after i saw the price great price and easy to put together .
i dont use it for sports just recreational use,so it is ideal for the occasional ride out sturdy and well made for price
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON COLDFIELD
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trax TR.1,
August 07, 2013
By mikefox38
from southampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This bike is an excellent entry level bike. I wanted a bike to get me to and from work, I did not need to be flash and I wont be going up any mountains. This does the job nicely. The spring on the bell gave way after a little while, though this is a big problem. Great value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is very good,
August 05, 2013
By Hariyashu
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Best product, value for money in very good quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good budget bike,
August 05, 2013
By Topknot
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: budget price
Cons: uncomfortable seat
" Bought this to make the short journey to and from work, and for exercise. Very pleased with it so far. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19",
August 04, 2013
By JohnnyGee
from Giffnock
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, smooth gears
" Great value for money bike, ok its not top quality cycling but this bike has been put together really well.
Bike feels light and quite speedy when requiupred.
No problems as yet, brakes and gear changes are smooth.
Reserved bike online, Halfords had bike ready for me, I collected bike in box and it fitted into the back of my small car...Yaris no problem.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? EAST KILBRIDE
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Trax TR.1 Rigid Mens Mountain Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had some problems,
August 02, 2013
By Ryanman1234
from Birmingham
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: help
Cons: how it broke
" Well i got the bike and all was fine but then chain became loose then was rubbing off frame when I wasnt peddling. Then the rear tyre moved and became stuck on the frame. I took it into the Castle Bromwich store and they fitted a new rear wheel and tyre for free! They also modifyed the brakes and gears! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CASTLE BROMWICH
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>