Halfords Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"

Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike 18inch is our cheapest full suspension mountain bike.
Average Customer Rating:
3.971 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (173 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
46
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 star
21
138 of 172(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Review 1 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this product is terrible,
June 09, 2014
By woodyz
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" i have had this bike for a good couple of years and over the years i have had to fix and replace so much first of it it was the chain and gears that messed up then rusted then bearings in pedals went the derailler went wrong i recommend just to buy something different "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Level entry,
May 24, 2014
By Shaggycb
from Walsall
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good all rounder
" I bought this bike to commute to work mainly along canal's and 5 years later it's still going.Yes it's cheap as chip's but it's like anything you pay for what you get .I've put on better v brakes,better front shock's and bigger tyres and hopefully i will get another 5 years.Happy with this bike and if you are prepared to upgrade some parts as they wear out then you will have a half decent bike.The stock front suspension is ok for tow paths but not good on more rocky,stoney uneven trails.Staff in walsall very helpful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? WALSALL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad for the price.,
May 20, 2014
By Toggle
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: comfort, price, brakes, tyres
Cons: forks rusted, gears, heavy
" Great bike for the money and it's been ridden hard, to be fair more than it could cope with so I'm upgrading. This would be an excellent general leisure bike. Unfortunately its not great off road. The bike is too heavy, the first time it was taken on a relatively hilly off road track I ended replacing the chain, derailleurs and the cassette. On road and not too bumpy bridle paths it's fine and in my opinion you'd be hard pressed to find a bike as good as this for the same cost, however if you want to take it off road I'd suggest getting a bike that's better designed to deal with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trax TFS.1,
April 20, 2014
By graeme2430
from Milton Keynes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is an excellent bike to ride and performs very well even with the kids trailer attached the gears help very well . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
happy with the bike,
February 09, 2014
By eskay
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the speed
" Even though my grandson is 7 and the bike is a bit big he can ride it and says it's great in gear 3 when riding up the hill. and he likes how fast it goes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
please do not waste your money on this,
January 31, 2014
By anonymous123456789
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: customer services/ rude staff, dodgy brakes, dodgy gears, the bike in general
" Horrible bike chain comes of constantly, gears dont change handle bars come loose. To make matters worse halfords staff were less than helpful and quite rude to me. Took bike for 6week service apparently the axle was bent so a wheel need replaced and and back end and chain rusted. Happy to hold my hands up and say we didn't oil the chain but as it had been stored in a garage and only used about 10 times for short journey's in the month we had it I didn't expect to see so much rust. I am aware it was cheap but I still expect it to work. Big waste of money. Won't be using Halfords again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
better than thought,
January 15, 2014
By bikemad2014
from luton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to build, colour, brakes
Cons: no tools
" it is a little big for a 11 year old. it is one of the the best bikes I have had. I can not fault it, except it doesn't come with tools. it is easy to build "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yasin driving Trax TFS.1,
November 17, 2013
By Yasin17819
from London (East)
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the speed crank
Cons: the gears
" I am only 13 years old, it it perfect to me, but i don't like when i turn the gears on 5, 4 , 3, 2 or 1 because when i turn them, the chains, speed and the crank always get off, i don't mind on gear 6 because it's absolutely fine!. Best est suspension mountain bike!. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rusty after 3 months,
October 23, 2013
By alca
from devon
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" All the so called chrome parts started to go rusty and its only 3 months old. Took it back and they cleaned them up but will probably have to take it back again in the future. It had been under cover for all the time I've had it so don't know whats going to happen when it gets rained on !Waste of money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trax TFS.1 - the BEST buy!!!,
October 22, 2013
By Rattlesnake
from Maidstone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all the extras
Cons: no quick release on saddle adjustment
" I bought this bike for my 12 year old son as he had outgrown his BMX and needed a much larger bike. This mountain bike seemed to fit all the needs so I went ahead and bought one.
What a dazzling success!!!!!
Now, of course, his younger brother wants one too :-)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why would anyone want this?!,
October 18, 2013
By emmaw88
from Liverpool
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing
" 'You get what you pay for' has never rang more true for me than with this bike. The staff were very helpful and despite recommending a slightly dearer bike to match my usage I went ahead and bought this. Where do I start?
The weight Is staggering and as a byproduct the handling is awful. The spring response in both the rear suspension and the front forks is so soft that kills off most of the power that I put into the pedals, this is exhausting. The chainset and gears are both clunky and difficult to change. The saddle is awful and the grip tore my hands to shreds.
Don't even consider buying this bike! Either save a week more and buy something better or, if you have no other choice, buy the grey version with no suspension and treat yourself to some more comfortable grips! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SPEKE
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike assembly,
October 02, 2013
By ross13
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Hello,when halfords assemble bikes they always put the tires the wrong way round. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 3
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money!,
September 25, 2013
By Anonymous167
from West Sussex UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The Trax TFS.1 was a great purchase because it was exactly what I needed good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
September 18, 2013
By bopsa
from co. londonderry
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this for my son for his 12th birthday (hes a big lad) and he loves it! Was easily assembled at home, really looks like a great sturdy bike! Overall a great buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Which Store did you visit? COLERAINE
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyable sales experience,
September 15, 2013
By aopbiker
from Porthcawl
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was very please with the bike I bought, but the two young men who served me were a real pleasure to meet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value bike,
September 12, 2013
By mikeyg65
from Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" We bought this bike for my son. It was easy to put together, only came in about 5 pieces, nothing too traumatic. Handles well, looks good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would not recommend to anyone!,
September 11, 2013
By Tezzak87
from Runcorn
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing about this bike
Cons: everything about this bike
" Bought this bike 5 months ago to get to and from work. I have had to replace the back wheel 3 times, the gears don't work properly even having them fixed in a Halfords store and the handle bars always come loose. I only bought this bike because it was cheap and the reviews were good. I now have to find money to buy another bike, but it won't be from Halfords! DO NOT BUY THIS BIKE!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? WIDNES
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Budget Bike,
August 29, 2013
By Tifosoino1
from Drogheda, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: slippy dear
" Very good all rounder, gears can be fiddily but overall its a decent bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LOUTH
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rubbish,
August 15, 2013
By jimmy23
from lancashire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" i bought this bike and had it assembled in store, gave it to my 13 year old son and when he bought it back to the house it snapped where the rear triangle connects near the bottom bracket, so my son walked back with a snapped in half bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Trax TFS.1 Mens Full Suspension Mountain Bike - 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Bike Amazing Price!!!,
August 14, 2013
By Anonymous
from Southend
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
" I bought this to do long distance and off road and all I can say is that you will not find a better bike for the price!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>