Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester

Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester connects directly to the battery terminals to measure the voltage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Review 1 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product but difficulty obtaining it !,
June 02, 2016
By
from Conwy, Conwy, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple and easy to use
Cons: once i managed to get one
" I needed this item pretty sharpish as I had just replaced the battery in my daughters car but it still refused to start. I checked the stock at my local store and reserved one. I drove the 5 miles to the shop only to be told - "We've never stocked that item. We can't find it." Rather a waste of my time ! I did email to complain and, to Halfords credit, they did obtain one for the following day free of charge. The product itself works fine. The crocodile clips are small but there's really no need to attach them, simply hold them to the battery terminals. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good product,
February 27, 2016
By
from Bedford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does not require its own battery, small size - fits in a pocket
Cons: clips could be a bit bigger
" Ring 12v / 24v Battery Voltage Tester
The tester displays voltages from 5-30 volts with an accuracy of 0.1 volts. It has a low input impedance of about 350 ohms so loads the battery when testing. This gives a better indication of the state-of-health of the battery than you get from a multimeter with megohm input impedance. The tester is powered by the battery being tested.
As many other reviewers have said, the crocodile clips are small - maximum opening of 5mm - so they cannot be attached directly to normal car-battery terminals. The ends of the clips do protrude so it is easy to use them as probes. The small size of the clips does keep the whole tester small and easy to carry in a pocket.
Relatively expensive when the cheapest multimeter can be had for half its price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Good. Finding it in store not so good.,
January 20, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am very happy with this product. It works exactly as it should. The problem I had was finding it... I looked the item up online to check stock availability and discovered it was indeed in stock. When I went to purchase it I could not find the item anywhere in store. I asked a member of staff who also checked the stock information online and they too discovered the item was listed as in stock,, but they could not find the item either. They checked with manager and was told stockist was probably wrong. I left, went home, went online again and clicked on 'click and collect' went back to store an hour later and item was waiting for me... This is ridiculous and cost me two journeys to buy one item. I complained to assistant manager and he said nothing. I won't be using the store again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice and simple,
July 16, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: small croc clips
" does what it says, easy to use perfect for testing my leisure battery "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just Plug & Play,
December 20, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A neat and small little kit. no instructions needed, simply simple. "
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good,
December 04, 2014
By
from Carmarthen, Carmarthen, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very good and easy to use,croc clips are a bit small,and could do with interchangeable probe feature,but does the job clear digital display,and compact "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CARMARTHEN
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great easy to use device,
January 26, 2014
By
from Kirkintilloch
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great wee compact device, very easy to use, good display screen showing the voltage "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for the job,
December 19, 2013
By
from Loughborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact size
Cons: crocodile clips are small
" I needed a battery tester and this product seemed perfect.
It's small in size but does exactly what it says.
Really easy to connect to the battery and the screen is very clear and easy to read - displaying the voltage.
So easy to use. And store in the glove box. Perfect..
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12v battery tester,
May 07, 2013
By
from Fife Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: this product very much
" This is very good product, simple to use with a direct easy to understand easy to read frontal digital display
The instruction provided are as good as the product its self, simple to understand in uncomplicated english.
Presented in very smart eye catching display package which is very hard to ignore.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little tool,
March 10, 2013
By
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a great little product, it does just what it says. All be it the croc clips are on the small side but they do the job that is needed.
It's well priced and quite robust. It is nice and compact and can be kept in the glove box if you really need too!
Every car owner should have one of these. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted!,
November 02, 2012
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, no batteries needed, bright display
Cons: no case included, crocodile clips too small
" This is a great product. I wanted to keep a check on the voltage on my caravan leisure battery and car battery. The display is bright red and easy to see even in poor light. There are no batteries to replace either. It has crocodile clips on but these are too small to attach to battery terminals but didn't need them anyway, just hold the ends on each terminal to get result. I didn't want anything more complicated like a mutimeter. Very pleased with it. Wish it had come with a storage case or some sort of protective cover though. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great device,
March 05, 2012
By
from Hertfordshire, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: small and easy to use.
Car Make Honda Civic Type R
" This device is easy to use and clear to read. I brought this voltage tester as my new car battery didn't come with a battery status indicator. Its small and will fit in your pockage, its a great purchase. recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ring 12v Battery Voltage Tester
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 VOLT BATTERY TESTER,
February 28, 2011
By
from SW ENGLAND
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" POCKET-SIZE AND EASY TO USE. STRAIGHT FORWARD TO READ AND VERY ACCURATE "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.