Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Erde 142 Car Trailer

The Erde 142.2 Car Trailer is ideal for domestic use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Erde 142 Car Trailer
Review 1 for Erde 142 Car Trailer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent customer service after initial problems,
August 01, 2014
By Byemed
from Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: tip facility
" Great trailer, very flexible for diferent types of loads. Recognised make with quality parts. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? WOKING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Erde 142 Car Trailer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Instructions not clear,
April 11, 2014
By Ian1954
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: instructions illegible
" The trailer itself is like a big meccano kit. Unfortunately the instructions were written by an illiterate spider. However being a mecanno kit I soon assembled it. It was even better when Halfords managed to supply the axle.
haven't towed it yet but it seems sturdy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Erde 142 Car Trailer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erde 142.2 Trailer,
March 13, 2014
By stewgstewg
from West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fantastic value, great quality, good sized trailer
Cons: instructions are vague
" I purchased this Trailer after weeks bidding on a popular online site on various used Trailers with no luck at all, I then came across this brand new Trailer for sale at Halfords & so I reserved one online to collect later from a local store of my choice.
The amount I paid is actually less than a second hand one is currently selling for so this Trailer represents excellent value for money.
I was given a discount at the till as the packaging when I collected the item was damaged but not even a washer was absent when I did a parts check once at home & had layed all the parts out & checked against the part list included.
The instructions are a little vague so relax & take your time, read the instruction plenty of time to understand what is required, most of the build is common sense and the actual build itself is straight forward if you break the build down in to sections.
After erecting one Trailer I am sure I could build another now in less than 10 minutes, it took me around 2 hours to build mine, taking time & making sure the correct fittings & bolts were used in the correct place.
Once the sub floor is built & you have fitted the drawbar & wheels & tightened all the sub floor bolts.
(Remember to gently pull the Trailer rear light cable connectors (2) free from out of the drawbar end before putting the 90mm bolt in place that enable the Trailer to tip, other wise the cable connectors may not pass by the installed 90mm bolt & you may have to take it out again, like I did !)
Then you can flip the Trailer over & continue the build with the sides, front & rear panels etc, (You may need 2 people to flip the Trailer if you are not so strong as it could be quite awkward for one person alone, I managed this ok (Im 45 yrs old & 13 stone).
Only hand tighten all the bolts at this stage for the sides etc as once the panels are all in place you can then get access to each & every bolt, you can then work your way around tightening them one by one, Top Tip,, mark each bolt you secure with a marker pen tick mark, like so /, then at a glance you can see which bolt has been tightened, once the Trailer is completely built up & only then tighten all the bolts for the upper panels in sequence.
That way the slight adjustment you may require to get a bolt in is easy, if you tighten all the bolts too early you may struggle to get some bolts in place.
But remember to tighten all the sub floor bolts 1st before flipping the Trailer over & constructing the rest of the build as the sub floor bolts are easier to gain access to when the sub floor is upside down.
Follows these wise words & you too will be delighted in this good quality value for money Trailer.
I only wished I hadn't wasted weeks searching for a good second hand Trailer when this Trailer is available at a great price & brand new.
I can't recommend this Trailer enough, I am more than happy with mine & give it 10/10. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Erde 142 Car Trailer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very useful trailer,
August 02, 2013
By YellowXJS
from Cambridge
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Execellent trailer - but the electrics are proving to be a problem. Trailer used for the first time today, Friday 02.08.13 since purchase. However, the plug for the lights has caused problems for the Toyota RAV-4 I use! Some of the wires inside the plug thing have come adrift and now most of the RAVs electrics have gone off as well as the speedo. So, as soon as I find where my son has put the paperwork I will be contacting the Cambridge Branch of Halfords to get it sorted - expect it is only a teathing problem. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Erde 142 Car Trailer
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rede trailer,
July 16, 2013
By TobyMAH
from Uk
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Very helpful staff, rubbish product. The one I ordered for pick up had no axle, shop then ordered another one, when I returned to collect, that one had no axle. Assistant rang around all available shops, none of which had axles. Call me old fashioned, but a trailer without an axle or wheels is called a box! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Erde 142 Car Trailer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not Bad,
May 23, 2013
By JohnS21
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" There were limited assembly instructions with the package. It's also best to assemble with work gloves as a few of the edges have a sharpe edge to them.
Once it's assembled it is a good lightweight trailer that can hold plenty and is easy to tow
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Erde 142 Car Trailer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space saver ERD 142,
September 21, 2012
By 123me
from Edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very light, easy to look after, lots of add on accessories, don't know your pulling a trailer
Cons: no locking device to keep it secure, tyres crack, accessories exspensive
" I have a 7 seat car & when all seats being used iv no room so bought the trailer and would say its a great addition as there are lots of times it has come in very useful & saved me money a few times hiring a van great for luggage & moving large items that won't go in car I'd say iv made my money back and more iv put shock absorbers on mine and it stops it bouncing money well spent only bad thing you need a large chain to keep it from being stolen "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Erde 142 Car Trailer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good purchase,
April 11, 2012
By delboy246
from Camberley, Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" very pleased with this purchase, reccommend to anybody "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Erde 142 Car Trailer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handy,
February 22, 2012
By mooey
from Chichester, England
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: cant lock it up
" good size trailer for general purpose stuff - ie collecting firewood, taking rubbish to the tip. would have been handy to have a locking point so it could be secured outside as having to keep it in the garage currently. Good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.