Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Dynamic Jump Starter

The Dynamic Jump Starter is suitable for up to 2L petrol & diesel engines with all types of gel!
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (185 reviews)
5 stars
114
4 stars
45
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
14
163 of 185(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Dynamic Jump Starter
Review 1 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what is claimed,
March 08, 2014
By Roberto2
from Reading, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My car, a 2 Litre Mondeo, had a flat battery after my wife had inadvertently left the parking lights on overnight. After following the instructions for the Dynamic Jump Starter, I was delighted that my car started at first attempt. I found the product easy to use and a very useful bit of kit to keep in the boot for those unexpected little emergencies. Very pleased I decided to buy it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A real lifesaver.,
February 12, 2014
By Ian76
from Horley, Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use and it works!
Cons: weak charger socket.
"I agree with another reviewer that there is a potential weakness in the socket where the charger plugs in: the first one I bought failed immediately at this point, the socket going right through into the body of the unit. I took it back to the store where the staff were most helpful, and offered to check a replacement for me. That too looked dodgy, the socket being poorly fitted, but we found another that looked - and has so far proved to be - sound. That issue resolved, however, the unit performed perfectly and started my 12 year old 1.8 litre Citroen Picasso immediately and easily. Highly recommended, but check the socket before buying if you can, and do read the instructions - especially concerning the full initial charge for 12 hours."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dynamic Jump Starter,
February 11, 2014
By Dougie29
from Cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This jump starter was great it started my 2ltr diesel car first time, it was easy to use and the instructions were clear."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORKINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't work for Diesel Engines,
January 20, 2014
By Jake1245
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Took it home and charged it for 12 hours as instructed. Attached it to my 1.9L diesel engine but on trying to start the car, no joy! Instead it just started draining. Took it back to Halfords and was informed that it doen't start diesel engines!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WANDSWORTH
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title is accurate. It does what it says.,
January 11, 2014
By John992
from nr Elgin, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use.
"I bought this just before Christmas and had to use it to start a 2 Litre Diesel Freelander and it was successful.
The instructions are clear and concise but you must read them.
This is an excellent product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ELGIN
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use,
December 31, 2013
By Neil29Art
from west yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Started my 2.0lt van with ease great value product and a life saver."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't jump start my 2.0l turbo diesel,
December 29, 2013
By XsaraMan
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I've got a 10+ year old Citroen Xsara MkII 2.0l turbo diesel, battery is 3 years old, but on very cold mornings (below 0 degrees C), today was -5 degrees C, if I've not been using the car daily, and with the Holidays, it's not been getting it's regular 2hr/50 miles trip to the office, the battery level, dips just under enough to stop turning over and start the car. Today was such a morning, causing an issue, because had to push this car out off the drive, to get the other car out, to get to train station, so I've been thiking about purchasing one of these for a while, popped into Halfords, and picked this up for £! went home, checked the battery level, it stated 100%, others on here, have had success *WITHOUT* the intiial 12 hour charge, did not help and start my car, in fact it did less than my normal "quick start" function on my battery charger. Left my battery charger charge the battery for 3 hours, car started perfectly......I've now got this on charge for 24 hours, and see if I can test again, if battery voltage drops enough to test....or I'll leave in the boot of car, and test again should siuation arise, and then decide if need to return. So at present - *RUBBISH*."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-18points
3out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dynamic jump starter,
December 22, 2013
By Alex65
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, good value for money
Cons: long time to fully charge
"This is a serious bit of kit, and great value for money. The controls and information relating to it's use were simple and easy to understand. My wife's car had been standing for four weeks following a failed clutch, attempting to start her car the day before the car was due to be repaird the battery was totally flat! To avoid the hassle of jump starting from another vehicle I decided to purchase the jump starter pack. The next day after buying the car started imeadatly first time !!! Really impressive ! Wish I had bought this item sooner a real piece of mind, I carry it now all the time in the boot of my car. I totally recommend it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product to have,
December 11, 2013
By alia2008
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"worked instantly upon connecting to the car. great item for those times you may experience the unexpected winter car failure to start."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Emergency battery,
December 05, 2013
By suavedave
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good build quality and more convenient than a spare battery.
Just used it to start a Peugeot 1.6 petrol and it just got it going, not sure if it could cope with a bigger car but not tried.
Includes car charger - to keep it topped up if on long journey I didnt see this on the spec so a little bonus.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great on a 2 L Turbo Diesel,
December 04, 2013
By GoodbyeLudford
from Lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very reliable
Cons: cannot use cigarette lighter socket
"This product as been a life saver as my battery has been struggling with cold starts.
It does need a lot of charging initially, 12 hours it recommends but then it is good for loads of starts.
Some reviewers saying it is not charging because the needle is not moving should read the instructions as you need to press in the red button to see how much charge there is.
This product only works when attached to the battery not through the cigarette lighter like some others however it is not advertised being able to do this anyway"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
did nt want to fully charge,
October 27, 2013
By loppylou
from wiltshire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"have nt tried it yet and a little concerned if it will do the job as when I put it on charge it did nt seem to fully charge ,, so I will see when I need to try it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
-23points
5out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy,
October 26, 2013
By Gig141
from Wrexham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent product, car is 2.7diesel, but starts it 1st time every time. Recommend to anyone. Certainly gives peace of mind."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emergency charger,
October 20, 2013
By Bridgwater
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this a few weeks ago, its a god send, got me out of a mess a few times already - fantastic buy and very happy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGWATER
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pleased to say the least,
October 08, 2013
By greciaped
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Was really impressed with the speed of delivery, within 24 hrs. Although l haven't had the need to use it yet, it feels like my new security blanket, something similar has been used on my car, so l don't think l will have any problem using this one. As l live alone, it feels good not having to rely on others to get me going if my battery goes flat for whatever reason, l don't feel worried anymore, thank you for that......"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for girls too!,
October 07, 2013
By Femaledriver1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: really quick and easy
"A friend gave me this when he got rid of his car recently and it totally saved my bacon this evening. My car battery's been on the blink recently and it weirdly decided to conk out just as I was parking and was diagonally across the entranceway to our communal driveway this evening. I was stuck alone in the dark and worried someone turning into the drive behind me wouldn't see my black car until they hit it. I had this in the boot though and it was so easy to use and took less than a minute to clip on the leads and turn it on - my car started again first try. I'm not going anywhere without it now!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jump starter,
October 02, 2013
By Anonymous
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
"Excellent product and very good customer service used 3 times already"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WIMBLEDON
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very compact,
September 30, 2013
By lpros
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought this product as we have automatic car and the battery went flat facing a wall
got us going in no time and compact enough to carry in boot
great product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No more winter worries with this dynamic starter.,
September 27, 2013
By Gason
from Dudley, Cramlington.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: my winter friend
"This product is a must have for all drivers, easy and simple to use, no more worries about starting up on those cold dark winter mornings."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynamic Jump Starter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful and works fine.,
September 24, 2013
By Crumbley
from Brigg
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fits at the back of the seat, can charge up on the move, usefull light, usefull extra 12v soccket, cables long enough for jimny
Cons: volt meter needle takes a while to give a reading.
"Cheap and cheerful and works fine.
My 1.3cc Jimny’s battery wouldn’t even unlock the doors and turning the ignition key didn’t even give any clicks, the cigarette socket led was only just dimly glowing. Basically I had left something drawing current all night and flattened the battery.
The dynamic jump starter was connected to the battery red to red, black to black. Left it connected for about one minute, the car started first try, the engine turned over just once before starting.
That’s better than it said on the tin!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>