Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)

The Thule Footpack fits vehicles without roof rails or roof top fixation points
Average Customer Rating:
4.78 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 39(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Review 1 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality roofrack (used on an Insignia),
July 02, 2015
By GordonP3
from Tralee, Co. Kerry
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Need to put together roof bars, fitting kit, and footpack (three boxes). Straightforward enough. Feels solid when mounted. Engages with the mounting holes in the door frame. Once first set up, can be taken off and put back on fairly quickly.
Note: there is no lock. However it can't be removed without opening the car doors, so I suppose that's OK.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Which Store did you visit? TRALEE (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good product but rubbish instructions,
June 28, 2015
By LJ2015
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" The Thule roof bar products are great but the Thule instructions were terrible. Thankfully a 2 minute YouTube video was far more useful. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Product,
June 27, 2015
By 1472Tapper
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: quality, styling, fit
" I know it might seem a lot of money and there are cheaper alternatives out there but if you want quality that will last more than one or two outings - spend the money and buy Thule. The instructions to assemble and fit are really thorough and clear with every little detail covered (they even provide a tape measure to set up your roof bars). Lovely fit and look good when on your car. I would definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As you'd expect.,
June 10, 2015
By QasqaiOwner
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This just works as you'd expect. I have to pad this review out with nonsense because the form says it's too short. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality bars,
June 10, 2015
By NBRacing
from Banbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit once assembled, quality
Cons: an expensive investment, instructions could be more cohesive
" Bought these over the halfords bars as they have a better reputation and reviews.
They are more expensive but worth the investment in my opinion.
They take a while to set up initially and it doesn't help having 3 instruction booklets, one from each pack, and none of them refer to each other. There are no words either, and some of the diagrams are confusing. It's worth spending a few minutes understanding them before you start.
Once put together they fit to the car in seconds so very easy to grab out of the garage and chuck on. They are strong and sturdy and give confidence. Also they are positioned on the roof so they don't restrict the opening of the tailgate. Very useful.
They are noisey and motorway speeds but that is to be expected with square bars.
Recommended and I'd definitely buy them for another car.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product.,
February 05, 2015
By Dan777
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" An excellent solution for my vehicle which doesn't have any rails or fixing points for roof bars. They fix securely and feel extremely solid once tightened in place. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Footpack and aero bars,
January 25, 2015
By rooferdude
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fitted securely on my fiesta van 05, from kit to fitted in about an hour and the lads at the Berwick store were very helpful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BERWICK ON TWEED
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality fitting,
January 03, 2015
By Jame121
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good quality product, fitted my vehicle(ford Cmax) perfectly. A shame that you have to buy all the items separately for a simple roof rack arrangement. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Utterly obscure instructions,
October 07, 2014
By EZ0cHLzA
from Stroud, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The instructions are totally obscure and one can expect to spend at least 30 minutes trying to work out how to assemble and fit the roof bars. Even after fitting, in retrospect some of the pictograms are incomprehensible.
Once sorted however the bars make a very solid installation which is quick and easy to take on and off.
Zero marks to Halfords' web site which omits the vehicle-specific fitting kit from the order. Full marks to the branch staff where I collected it from for owning the problem and throwing the kit in. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Pack 754,
September 17, 2014
By Thetaxer4022
from Hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product - bought these for my VW Passat Saloon together with the Wing Bars and foot pack kit. I was so pleased with them that within a week I bought another set for my wife's VW Up! together with the Wing Bars. Would recommend paying extra to get the alloy Wing Bars to go with these - I tried the steel bars on my Wife's car at first with these but they were a lot heavier. The Foot Pack is easy to assemble once you understand the instructions. Would recommend going on You Tube and watch a demo video. I ordered them online - I had to wait a day for the foot pack kit to be delivered to store as the VW Passat Kit was not stocked Ditto with the foot kit for the Up! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule footpack 754,
September 10, 2014
By Steve17
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Decided to fit the whole roof bar kit myself, took about 20minutes from reading the instructions for the first time.---absolute doddle and works perfectly. Strong and good quality materials. Halfords will fit it for you if you're not technically minded so no problems. Fully recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? NORTHALLERTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You ain't getting my on no plane Thule,
September 05, 2014
By munke
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: tailored fit and instructions for my specific car, can be used on two cars with additional fit kit
Cons: wish they were cheaper
" No matter how you pronounce it toolé, fool, chewel they do make good products.
I've not tried cheaper options for a while but the current Thule products for bike racks, towing and in this case a removal roof rack are great.
Details such as the torque setting tightening tool and clarity of instructions for everything from width to separation distance on the car are top notch.
I was able to assemble this to size in the lounge and fitted straight to the car with not even a minor tweak.
New aero shape is an improvement over my previous Ford roof rack from 2009 (this was also Thule t-track but branded ford) and unloaded it is very quiet. I won't be testing fuel economy with it fitted as it is so quick to install there is no need for it to be left on (in my case). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
August 29, 2014
By satahnruss
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Looks good on my juke. As roof bars look! Think they are over priced though. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good,
August 11, 2014
By Marcus69
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comes with locks.
" Bought as part of a pack so I could carry bikes to roof, works very well and was easy to fit.
Allows roof bars and cycle carriers to be fitted and removed within minutes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well and is easy to fit - just do it by trial and error,
August 06, 2014
By laimtoh
from Bournemouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality ease of use solidity
Cons: instructions' measurements are wrong
" The footpack to car roof connection works really well, no paint damage so far (transported 2 kayaks 400 miles so a reasonable test).
But in judging the width that these should be on the roof bars (Wing Bars in my case, on a 2004 5-dr Civic), the Thule instructions gave a badly inaccurate distance. In the end, I adjusted it by trial and error rather than use the measuring tape you get with it, and had no problems at all.
Key locks are great too, and easy to fit but need a hard press and twist action so you need to place them firmly down on something solid that won't get scratched or crushed, and you'll hear the snap when the lock barrels finally locate. Fitting and removal are really simple after that.
For transporting kayaks or other similar objects - the wing bars are too wide to allow my upright bars to be used so I placed one kayak on top of the other and because the rubber strip on the wing bar is non-slip, it's the most solid connection I've ever had with kayaks on a roof rack. If you have to have the upright bars, measure them first before buying - the wing bars are quite wide (the std bars might be ok, though).
MPG went down from 60 to 45 and I can't say what just having the bars on alone would do yet. They look much more aerodynamic so should be superior to the std bars and my hope is the extra spent is returned with fuel savings over time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule footpack - only one element,
August 04, 2014
By Johnyfoxy
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" You will always need more than just this bit, you need roofbars and a fixing kit (vehicle specific). The tricky thing is getting the fixing kit - I bought the roofbars and the footpack from Halfords but had to buy the fixing kit elsewhere (online) as I couldn't fathom how to order for collection via Halfords. The system works well, seems to have been thought through, and is well made. The instructions were simple enough for me, and it all fitted together easily, and is a good fit on the car (Audi A6 Saloon). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like most things in life, easy once you know how,
August 03, 2014
By tud8335
from Pembrokeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid build, snap fit to bars
Cons: text free instructions
" Fiddled around with the footpack and the diagrams-only instructions for 5 minutes at first but they're almost idiot proof - there really is only one way to attach them to the roof bar and vehicle. Not exactly quick release (it's a hex key job) but compared to bolted roof bars these are dead easy to take on and off. Smart design and sturdy construction, with barrel locks included. Recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High quality product,
January 21, 2014
By Nosrednax
from Derby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitment, clear instructions, sturdy and secure
Cons: locks not included
" Paired with the Thule roof bars (my first set) on a Mk2 C-Max, I found them very easy to fit (15-20 mins single-handed) and very sturdy. Now they are set up they should be easily fitted in 5 mins. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Fine,
December 02, 2013
By Ad1euk
from Lichfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Works fine with no problems, very durable & secure. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Footpack 754,
October 22, 2013
By speenth
from UK and Austria
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Do the job very well, but very expensive ++ !!
I was disappointed to discover I'd also need) in addition to these very costly feet) additional roof clamps for my Volvo S60. Only two far distant Halfords in the whole of UK had these in stock and so two weeks after purchase, I'm still waiting to use this rack and I have to spend still more!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>