Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)

The Thule Footpack fits vehicles without roof rails or roof top fixation points
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 of 44(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Review 1 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it's supposed to,
August 18, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A bit fiddly to put on the first time - bout 30 minutes but after that no problems. Very secure and easily taken off and re-attached "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule footpack for Mini,
August 17, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality
" The staff at Southend branch were extraordinarily helpful as my son and I did not know how you could fit a roof rack on a 2-door mini. They gave us all the necessary part numbers for the whole system. The footpack kit was not in stock so it was agreed I would go home and order the whole system on-line for "click-and-collect". A few days later I collected the kit and when fitted we were delighted to find it sits rock solid.
One mistake was to also order 2 Halfords own brand bike carriers [on a deal]. These turned out to be very unsatisfactory (damage and bits missing). After exchanging both on separate days one again broke the first time it was used. Again the branch staff were most understanding and we part-exchanged them for Thule models which are a dream. Proves the old adage "you get what you pay for". "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product at a "Thule" price.,
August 17, 2015
By
from Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, free locking system, designed for the vehicle
Cons: price
" These bars match up to my previous experience with Thule, as they are fantastic quality but that is reflected in the price.
If money is not an issue, choosing Thule is an easy decision as you know it will work as well as or better than anything else. I'm sure there are alternatives which offer better value but I just wanted something which I knew would work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? MAIDENHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not that easy to use but does provide a secure fixing.,
August 02, 2015
By
from East Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: robust
Cons: the instructions!
" Having changed my car I found I needed to change the roof bar fittings as well. The product does the job but don't expect the process to be quick or easy. Also, even if you have a set of bars that are compatible with these footpacks, you will also need the appropriate brackets for your model of car. The instructions are quite hard to follow being mainly pictures and symbols and getting the footpacks the right distance apart on the roofbars isn't simple. I also feel that the whole system is more expensive than it should be. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall good,
July 23, 2015
By
from Cornwall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit/take off
Cons: noise in wind
" It was easy to put together and work out how to get it on to the van. Seems good and strong - having put kayaks on top.
Only gripe is the noise they make in the wind as i'm driving, a but annoying, so may upgrade to the more aerodynamic bars in the future, but had to watch the pennies for the time being. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality roofrack (used on an Insignia),
July 02, 2015
By
from Tralee, Co. Kerry
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Need to put together roof bars, fitting kit, and footpack (three boxes). Straightforward enough. Feels solid when mounted. Engages with the mounting holes in the door frame. Once first set up, can be taken off and put back on fairly quickly.
Note: there is no lock. However it can't be removed without opening the car doors, so I suppose that's OK.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Which Store did you visit? TRALEE (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good product but rubbish instructions,
June 28, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" The Thule roof bar products are great but the Thule instructions were terrible. Thankfully a 2 minute YouTube video was far more useful. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Product,
June 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: quality, styling, fit
" I know it might seem a lot of money and there are cheaper alternatives out there but if you want quality that will last more than one or two outings - spend the money and buy Thule. The instructions to assemble and fit are really thorough and clear with every little detail covered (they even provide a tape measure to set up your roof bars). Lovely fit and look good when on your car. I would definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As you'd expect.,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This just works as you'd expect. I have to pad this review out with nonsense because the form says it's too short. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality bars,
June 10, 2015
By
from Banbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit once assembled, quality
Cons: an expensive investment, instructions could be more cohesive
" Bought these over the halfords bars as they have a better reputation and reviews.
They are more expensive but worth the investment in my opinion.
They take a while to set up initially and it doesn't help having 3 instruction booklets, one from each pack, and none of them refer to each other. There are no words either, and some of the diagrams are confusing. It's worth spending a few minutes understanding them before you start.
Once put together they fit to the car in seconds so very easy to grab out of the garage and chuck on. They are strong and sturdy and give confidence. Also they are positioned on the roof so they don't restrict the opening of the tailgate. Very useful.
They are noisey and motorway speeds but that is to be expected with square bars.
Recommended and I'd definitely buy them for another car.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product.,
February 05, 2015
By
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" An excellent solution for my vehicle which doesn't have any rails or fixing points for roof bars. They fix securely and feel extremely solid once tightened in place. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Footpack and aero bars,
January 25, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fitted securely on my fiesta van 05, from kit to fitted in about an hour and the lads at the Berwick store were very helpful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BERWICK ON TWEED
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality fitting,
January 03, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good quality product, fitted my vehicle(ford Cmax) perfectly. A shame that you have to buy all the items separately for a simple roof rack arrangement. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Utterly obscure instructions,
October 07, 2014
By
from Stroud, Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The instructions are totally obscure and one can expect to spend at least 30 minutes trying to work out how to assemble and fit the roof bars. Even after fitting, in retrospect some of the pictograms are incomprehensible.
Once sorted however the bars make a very solid installation which is quick and easy to take on and off.
Zero marks to Halfords' web site which omits the vehicle-specific fitting kit from the order. Full marks to the branch staff where I collected it from for owning the problem and throwing the kit in. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Pack 754,
September 17, 2014
By
from Hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product - bought these for my VW Passat Saloon together with the Wing Bars and foot pack kit. I was so pleased with them that within a week I bought another set for my wife's VW Up! together with the Wing Bars. Would recommend paying extra to get the alloy Wing Bars to go with these - I tried the steel bars on my Wife's car at first with these but they were a lot heavier. The Foot Pack is easy to assemble once you understand the instructions. Would recommend going on You Tube and watch a demo video. I ordered them online - I had to wait a day for the foot pack kit to be delivered to store as the VW Passat Kit was not stocked Ditto with the foot kit for the Up! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule footpack 754,
September 10, 2014
By
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Decided to fit the whole roof bar kit myself, took about 20minutes from reading the instructions for the first time.---absolute doddle and works perfectly. Strong and good quality materials. Halfords will fit it for you if you're not technically minded so no problems. Fully recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? NORTHALLERTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You ain't getting my on no plane Thule,
September 05, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: tailored fit and instructions for my specific car, can be used on two cars with additional fit kit
Cons: wish they were cheaper
" No matter how you pronounce it toolé, fool, chewel they do make good products.
I've not tried cheaper options for a while but the current Thule products for bike racks, towing and in this case a removal roof rack are great.
Details such as the torque setting tightening tool and clarity of instructions for everything from width to separation distance on the car are top notch.
I was able to assemble this to size in the lounge and fitted straight to the car with not even a minor tweak.
New aero shape is an improvement over my previous Ford roof rack from 2009 (this was also Thule t-track but branded ford) and unloaded it is very quiet. I won't be testing fuel economy with it fitted as it is so quick to install there is no need for it to be left on (in my case). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
August 29, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Looks good on my juke. As roof bars look! Think they are over priced though. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good,
August 11, 2014
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comes with locks.
" Bought as part of a pack so I could carry bikes to roof, works very well and was easy to fit.
Allows roof bars and cycle carriers to be fitted and removed within minutes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Footpack 754 (Pack of 4)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well and is easy to fit - just do it by trial and error,
August 06, 2014
By
from Bournemouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality ease of use solidity
Cons: instructions' measurements are wrong
" The footpack to car roof connection works really well, no paint damage so far (transported 2 kayaks 400 miles so a reasonable test).
But in judging the width that these should be on the roof bars (Wing Bars in my case, on a 2004 5-dr Civic), the Thule instructions gave a badly inaccurate distance. In the end, I adjusted it by trial and error rather than use the measuring tape you get with it, and had no problems at all.
Key locks are great too, and easy to fit but need a hard press and twist action so you need to place them firmly down on something solid that won't get scratched or crushed, and you'll hear the snap when the lock barrels finally locate. Fitting and removal are really simple after that.
For transporting kayaks or other similar objects - the wing bars are too wide to allow my upright bars to be used so I placed one kayak on top of the other and because the rubber strip on the wing bar is non-slip, it's the most solid connection I've ever had with kayaks on a roof rack. If you have to have the upright bars, measure them first before buying - the wing bars are quite wide (the std bars might be ok, though).
MPG went down from 60 to 45 and I can't say what just having the bars on alone would do yet. They look much more aerodynamic so should be superior to the std bars and my hope is the extra spent is returned with fuel savings over time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>