Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1

Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb is up to 50% brighter than standard headlight bulbs
Average Customer Rating:
4.043 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
11
90 of 112(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Review 1 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Waste of time having them fitted,
February 23, 2015
By 4motion
from bristol, uk
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: girls
Cons: halfords
" I had one bulb blow on me, had a look under the bonnet and didn't fancy the job, figured I'd pay Halfords instead.
Seen these bulbs on offer, thought I'd replace both at the same time, even though still expensive !
Having read these reviews, now not so sure it was a good move.
Anyway, paid £6.99 for each bulb replacement, fitter does his job. Get home to top up oil and notice that the fitter has failed to refit the headlamp covers - pish poor job that I have now completed myself.
Disappointed with Halfords and the bulbs aren't that bright either !
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what you'd hope!,
February 22, 2015
By Esther57
from Henley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These light bulbs do exactly what you'd hope but the service from Halfords was quick - communication was good and they arrived earlier than I had expected. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
subaru lights,
February 10, 2015
By dave22204
from Keighley, Keighley, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great lights at a great price
tried the blue lights (not halfords) but they only lasted three weeks before I had to replace them.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect,
February 10, 2015
By Claireb88
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought these as my Volvo bulb had blown and they weren't very bight these bulbs worked really well. I also got halfords to fit them and she dos a great job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
what do you get when a 10v bulb filament is run at 12v,
February 07, 2015
By Ammo1
from coventry
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: better light output
Cons: terrible lifespan
" a brighter slightly more efficient light and very short lifespan. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (FOLESHILL RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't Last Five Minutes!,
February 03, 2015
By Toozer
from SP
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: bright white light
Cons: blew very quickly, expensive
" Bought these bulbs on BOGOF. One blew within 3 weeks so I went back and they replaced it although I did have to pay for fitting! Three weeks later (yesterday) the other one blew. Went back today but they wouldn't replace so I bought standard ones and my husband will fit them.
Do give a nice bright light but will not be buying again!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Think Hard Before You Buy,
February 03, 2015
By Mduffer
from Midlands
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: nice and bright
Cons: only lasted 3 months
" I bought a pair of these bulbs because they were 2 for 1 and the majority of the reveiws were good. I wished I had taken notice of the bad reveiws now. They have been installed approx 3months and both bulbs have just gone within 2 weeks of each other I wished I had kept the receipt as I would have taken them back. I have to admit they were very bright compared to the previous bulbs which was great as I live in a rural area without street lighting, but the short life is just not worth the cost so will fit manufacturers parts in future. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
January 29, 2015
By PolArm
from Swindon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brightness and price
" Good price, definitely an improvement over the standard bulbs. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great performance, shame about the life span!!,
January 09, 2015
By Andyshan73
from Chester-le-Street, County Durham DH3, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the performance
Cons: life span
" The performance of these bulbs are fantastic, the performance are just what it says on the package.
However...... I have now gone through about 8 of these bulbs over the last 18 months.
To begin with I thought it was the way I was installing the bulbs, without cleaning my hands before handling, so i tried with gloves but this made no difference........ Tonight one of my bulbs has gone off, I know I'll replace this and within the next 2 weeks the other one will go off.
So tomorrow I will be getting another make of bulbs, and these won't be from Halfords - I have lost confidence in the Halfords products if they don't last. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Certainly whiter,
December 21, 2014
By Charwood70
from Rochford, Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: whiter than normal bulb, good value, optically good, acceptable lifespan, good quality, i see more on night drives!
Cons: not as bright as claimed
" I've been using this model of bulb for a few years now. I'm not sure they are significantly brighter than most bulbs but they are noticeably whiter and the beam is well defined and bright to the edges. Those two qualities combined help to pick out more obstacles and vehicles than with lesser bulbs. Let's face it, that's the name of the game with upgrade bulbs. The only slight downside is their lifespan, which is about 2 years in my SEAT Altea. This isn't too bad I guess as I tend to use my headlights more than the average driver, even during the day in duller winter conditions and a low sun (better cantranst against the background). With the recent two for one offer these bulbs were exceptional value and quality is good. Recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
December 20, 2014
By dfel100
from Southern England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good buy, esp. buy one get one free. Work very well "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No difference,
December 15, 2014
By Gaz58
from Dundee, Dundee City, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: lack of brightness
" In my opinion these did not deliver any improvement in brightness. They were a waste of my money as they did not improve on what I already had fitted and as none of the current bulbs were malfunctioning, I have effectively spent money for no improvement. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Much brighter than the standard Ford buld but......,
December 08, 2014
By daveb74
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: brightness
Cons: they don't last long enough
" I have used the super bright bulbs for 3 or 4 years and they are certainly brighter and help in the semi-rural where I live.
The downside is they don't last as one as a normal bulb and by quite some distance. When using these I need to replace at least twice a year on each side. I don't travel much in the dark during the summer months so would hope they would last longer.
When ever I buy these they seem to be on "buy one get one free" offer so at least I am not paying full price. If they were full price I wouldn't use them at the rate I need to replace.
To conclude, certainly brighter than my standard bulb but be prepared to replace more often. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SELBY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bright,
December 04, 2014
By Mak55
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" These bulbs appear to be nice and bright on the road "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff,
November 28, 2014
By dancingintherain
from altrincham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: extra brightness
" Bought a pair of Super Brilliance to improve visibility for winter season. Worth every penny and difference in light power is super brilliant :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Waste of time,
November 27, 2014
By Anonymous
from Stirling, Stirling, Stirling, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: same price as standard bulbs
Cons: no visible difference in output
" These appeared to be good value but I really can`t see any difference in light output over the standard bulbs. With hindsight I should have spent much more and got the improvement I was hoping for. (Service at Stirling though was 1st class) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No real difference.,
November 25, 2014
By CgristopherM
from West Sussex
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I bought these lamps only because on offer they were similar price to standard H7s. Fitted in the dipped-beam position, they appear no different to me subjectively. This may be because the dipped-beam unit on my car has a mechanical shield that blocks all forward direction illumination from the lamp itself, so your luminance may vary. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
H7 Car bulb,
November 20, 2014
By Tony749
from Chippenham, Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: 241 offer
" Once fitted this is a great bulb, Bright and efficient what ore do you want.
My only hesitation is how long will it last????
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
November 19, 2014
By Stevo0999
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good product and good value. Nice and bright compared to standard VW bulbs which are rubbish. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Halfords Super Brilliance bulbs,
November 14, 2014
By jessicashoops
from Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" ignore all the good reviews.....these bulbs are just the same as ordinary stock bulbs theirs nothing SUPER BRILLIANCE about them except the price.....very disappointed "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>