Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1

Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb is up to 50% brighter than standard headlight bulbs
Average Customer Rating:
3.95 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
11
75 of 94(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Review 1 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works,
March 26, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" It's a bulb. When I turn the switch on it makes a bright light - what else can I say? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ALPERTON
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not super bright but good,
February 22, 2016
By
from Maidstone, Maidstone, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: whiter light than stock bulbs, great value on bogof deal, halfords fitting was quick value & professional.
Cons: don't think they're 50% brighter than stock bulbs
" Think these are a bit better than the stock bulbs, had them fitted by the guy at Maidstone in about 10 minutes total. Brilliant job, nice bunch in store as well. Considering both low bean lamps blew on way to work, was really happy to get them replaced on the way home before it started getting dark.
What's not to love !!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolutely terrible.,
February 12, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: they lit the road (when set correctly)
Cons: poor reliability, poor service
" I bought a pair of these in October 2015 and paid to have them fitted.
I did wonder why they weren't very bright but when I had my car MOT'd in January 2016, I was advised that they were set incorrectly which very nearly made car fail the test. Thankfully, due to the pragmatic nature of the garage they very kindly reset the bulbs.
I complained to Halfords who agreed to refund what I paid for the bulbs and the fitting (after requesting I show proof of purchase which I duly did).
However, in the space of 36 hours, both bulbs have blown before I have had chance to replace them and I had to drive home in the dark with just side light.
I have never had two bulbs blow in the space of 4 months which is absolutely ridiculous and I find it difficult to believe that the bulbs I had were part of a 'bad batch', especially after reading some of the previous reviews.
What a complete and utter waste of my time after dealing with the lack of attention to detail of on behalf of Halfords in the first place (which caused my initial complaint) and for the bulbs to blow within the aforementioned period of time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WINCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than expected,
February 03, 2016
By
from Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Okay, the lights do exactly what it says on the tin, and you'd expect them to but what I didn't expect was the excellent fitting service, the friendly and informative approach and the joy there was in dealing with the Halfords people.
First class all round. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average,
December 31, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" After reading some reviews i decided to buy these as I wanted improve viability after one of the standard bulbs went on the car , i have to say I can't honestly see a difference between these and the old ones but they seem ok and are lasting well. I haven't had to buy a replacement bulb for a long time now and the price came as a shock but the buy one and get one free softened the blow . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bulbs,
December 28, 2015
By
from Buckingham, Buckingham MK18, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought & fitted these today.
BOGOF is good value for money, & a great improvement over the bulbs that were fitted.
I would recommend these to anyone & will purchase again.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good if bought in a deal,
December 19, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: as a deal
" Bought these on a 'buy one get one free' and based on that value they are very good. Would probably not be as impressed if I'd paid full price as I'm not convinced that they are as bright as they claim. Only been in a couple of weeks so fingers crossed on durability . . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great replacement for standard halogen bulbs.,
December 11, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The manufacturer fitted standard halogen bulbs in my 2013 Qashqai gave poor night time visibility. Although they were still working I decided to try swapping to some brighter bulbs. You need to change them in pairs so it was looking to be an expensive experiment but then found these on a half price offer. I am so glad I changed to the new bulbs, the extra light was very noticeable. I should have done it ages ago. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (FENTON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Braehead Glasgow,
December 06, 2015
By
from Renfrew, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The guy in the parts dept was extremely helpful and advised me to take those bulbs as I was unsure what I needed. I purchased them and I also required them to be fitted. It was a miserable day outside and the heavy rain was pouring down. This young guy stood in that rain fitted the bulbs to the headlights and tested that everything was fine. He gave excellent customer service and was soaked with the rain. The light products are excellent and I would highly recommend. Well done young man, and thank you for all your help - you are a great asset to Halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Headlights,
November 26, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent product and great value especially the 2 for 1 offer "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is fine and was part of a great offer, the paid install however was not.,
October 30, 2015
By
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The product is fine, exactly what I expected. Bought two on offer and paid for them to be put in sadly to find that when the sun set, the drivers side was put in upside down.
Lost the receipt so don't have much hope for them to correct it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bright - but not sure of durability,
October 11, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: buy 1 get 1 free, brightness
Cons: durability
" These are certainly brighter than the normal bulb. Good value when bought as BOGOF. Which is good as they do not seem to be very durable. I seem to need to replace these bulbs quite frequently. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy fit by helpful staff,
March 09, 2015
By
from Exeter, Exeter, Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought two of these bulbs today and the whole process from walking into the store, getting them fitted and driving happily away came to about 10 minutes! Lights on and working to order - lovely. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Waste of time having them fitted,
February 23, 2015
By
from bristol, uk
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: girls
Cons: halfords
" I had one bulb blow on me, had a look under the bonnet and didn't fancy the job, figured I'd pay Halfords instead.
Seen these bulbs on offer, thought I'd replace both at the same time, even though still expensive !
Having read these reviews, now not so sure it was a good move.
Anyway, paid £6.99 for each bulb replacement, fitter does his job. Get home to top up oil and notice that the fitter has failed to refit the headlamp covers - pish poor job that I have now completed myself.
Disappointed with Halfords and the bulbs aren't that bright either !
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what you'd hope!,
February 22, 2015
By
from Henley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These light bulbs do exactly what you'd hope but the service from Halfords was quick - communication was good and they arrived earlier than I had expected. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
subaru lights,
February 10, 2015
By
from Keighley, Keighley, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great lights at a great price
tried the blue lights (not halfords) but they only lasted three weeks before I had to replace them.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect,
February 10, 2015
By
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought these as my Volvo bulb had blown and they weren't very bight these bulbs worked really well. I also got halfords to fit them and she dos a great job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
what do you get when a 10v bulb filament is run at 12v,
February 07, 2015
By
from coventry
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: better light output
Cons: terrible lifespan
" a brighter slightly more efficient light and very short lifespan. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (FOLESHILL RD)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't Last Five Minutes!,
February 03, 2015
By
from SP
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: bright white light
Cons: blew very quickly, expensive
" Bought these bulbs on BOGOF. One blew within 3 weeks so I went back and they replaced it although I did have to pay for fitting! Three weeks later (yesterday) the other one blew. Went back today but they wouldn't replace so I bought standard ones and my husband will fit them.
Do give a nice bright light but will not be buying again!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Super Brilliance (HBU477SB) H7 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Think Hard Before You Buy,
February 03, 2015
By
from Midlands
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: nice and bright
Cons: only lasted 3 months
" I bought a pair of these bulbs because they were 2 for 1 and the majority of the reveiws were good. I wished I had taken notice of the bad reveiws now. They have been installed approx 3months and both bulbs have just gone within 2 weeks of each other I wished I had kept the receipt as I would have taken them back. I have to admit they were very bright compared to the previous bulbs which was great as I live in a rural area without street lighting, but the short life is just not worth the cost so will fit manufacturers parts in future. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>