Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"

Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike 19inch is a good looking bike, perfect for commuting in the urban jungle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
65 of 67(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Review 1 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and a comfortable ride,
January 10, 2014
By R416N
from Newcastle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great comfort and value
Cons: nothing
"I was looking for a comfortable bike where I could sit up right but didn't want too much too much so this bike was perfect for me. It's comfortable and easy to ride, the handle bars can be adjusted and the angle change, which means you can set it perfectly for how you want them. The bike looks attractive. It has plenty of gears, unlike some bikes of this style. The price is great. I'm 5"8 and the 19" frame fits me fine.
It didn't come with a pannier rack but I took my own in and the helpful staff fitted it for free. I also have put on my own kick stand, so now it has everything I want."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems good,
December 14, 2013
By Frangus
from Croydon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to ride - upright
Cons: rubbing mudguard
"Nice bike. My wife likes it much more than her previous, heavier mountain bike. Came with flat tyres - soon rectified, but can't get front mudguard to stop rubbing on the tyre, so had to remove it. Hopefully the Halfords mechanic can fix that."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (WICKHAM RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appollo Etienne Fab Bike,
November 26, 2013
By Linz000
from Aberdeen, Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Really good value. Super looking bike with all the necessary accessories."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stylish ride,
October 16, 2013
By popa
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very comfortable bike to ride stylish to look at and. And stylish to look at. It could benefit from better suspension but still a comfortable ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok for the price,
October 04, 2013
By KLondon
from London
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the gears are easy to use, the step through frame is a good feature
Cons: the seat
"Purchased for myself as I had not ridden a bike for very often in the last few years.
The ride is comfortable but I find myself slipping forward on the seat which puts a lot of pressure on my wrists. I am not sure whether this is due to the seat and handle bar set up not being correct.
Halfords put the bike together but didn't adjust the seat height or handlebars for me which was disappointing and may avoid this issue.
As a result I do not ride the bike as often as I would like to."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WANDSWORTH
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product ticks all the boxes,
September 29, 2013
By Ratfighter
from Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: step through frame, large wheels
"Purchased for my wife who has not ridden a bike for many years and therefore found the step through frame a godsend. Getting used to using the gears now which is making riding it a much better experience. She is loving the large wheels and comfortable riding position."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (HIGH STREET)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
comfortable,
September 22, 2013
By vtec
from Cleveland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: solid build, smooth gears, long mud guards
Cons: suspension bit hard, stand would have been nice
"Bought for the wife. Quite comfortable ride, smooth gears. No need to adjust as they were set up well in the shop. Easy to handle. Fairly lightweight it seems. Like the twist grip gear change. Have done a little dirt track cycling,seems ok for the medium stuff. Range of gears should cover anything you need. Handles hill no problem. Good handle grips. Bike feels solid hence seems good value for money. Mud guards bit flimsy but do the job. Front suspension would have been a real bonus for this but still not a bad ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks to Halford's Blanchardstown.Dublin 15.,
September 08, 2013
By Sorted
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the colour the style and the comfort.
Cons: i love it!
"Hi,
I bought this bicycle in Halford's, Blanchardstown Shopping Centre, Dublin 15. Ireland.
I am delighted with both the bicycle itself and also the service I received at Halford's.
I was once a very experienced rider but have not been using a bicycle for approx 35 years.
The staff were very kind, efficient and patient with me and helped me with all my queries.
I am very happy with my purchase, it is a great bike and it suits my needs.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BLANCHARDSTOWN (ROI)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect,
August 13, 2013
By sianus
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: design
"Soon as I rode this bike home from halfords I knew I had made the right decision. Worth the bit of extra money for the gears. Smooth ride as well. I genuinely recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely ride,
August 02, 2013
By Sharona124
from King's Lynn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, comfy seat
Cons: lack of suspension
"My husband bought this for my birthday and I couldn't be happier. Previously I had a mountain bike but due to lower back problems found it uncomfortable to ride. The Apollo Etienne has higher handlebars that can be adjusted three ways, so now I can sit more upright. The seat is comfortable and the gears are easy to change. I have fitted a basket and stand and now cycle everywhere. It is lightweight, but as previous comments have suggested there could be more suspension. Overall it is a fabulous ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks as good as it rides,
July 24, 2013
By Jaxter
from Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: comfortable
"Really liked the look and feel, especially very comfortable seat!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Etienne hybrid,
June 24, 2013
By Mimi1974
from Perth, Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Normally I ride a mountain bike but due to back injury the riding style of this bike is much better for me. If bike had some suspension it would get 10/10"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value bike,
June 20, 2013
By Daisy210
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the look
Cons: the weight
"The staff in store were very honest and helpful about which bike would suit me best. This bike is great for around town and occasional more gravelly trips. Beautiful looking too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19",
June 13, 2013
By kat55
from Cambridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: weight
Cons: no suspension
"Bought this bike because was on offer and was looking for a quality bike as I cycle to work on daily basis. It is really light and comfortable to ride on. Reserved onliine, collected in store where I received only receipt. I had to ask member of staff for some kind of manual for this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
June 11, 2013
By Jules50
from Peterborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: step through style
Cons: nothing
"Recently purchased this bike and love it - its light weight and comfortable to ride. Comes with all the little extras such as bell and front and rear mud guards which are an optional extra on so many bikes these days. Like the fact that's its a step through bike - am thinking ahead to when I get older and will not be able to swing my leg over!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
June 10, 2013
By Sarah27
from Limerick
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: saddle handle bars and large wheels
"I bought my bike just yesterday in the Limerick store. As I am 5'6" I only needed the 16" frame. The bike is excellent value for money. Halford's staff are extremely helpful!! Love the handlebars, saddle is 10/10 and the bike comes with excellent mudguards and a bell! Such a comfortable bike. I was lucky as there was 30% off this bike when I was in store. I returned to Halfords today to get a basket and all the Etienne bikes were completely sold out, even the one which had been on the shop floor.Perfect bike for any girl :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LIMERICK (ROI)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great ride,
June 01, 2013
By vezzie
from thanet, kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"After not riding a bike for many years I was a bit apprehensive at first but loved riding this bike, even managed some slight hills easily. looking forward to many more bike rides with the family"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MARGATE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad I bought it,
May 23, 2013
By VJWD
from St Leonards
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the seat and weight
Cons: nothing yet
"I had been deliberating about getting a bike for a while, this was ideal, all the things I wanted at a very reasonable price. Great help from the store staff, booked on line and collected later. Very comfy seat, lovely and light I live in a terrace and have to carry it through the house, no problem"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BEXHILL, HASTINGS
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stylish transport,
May 15, 2013
By Annie19
from Chorley
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light weight frame and stylish look
Cons: seat could possibly be more comfortable
"Lovely cycle, am returning to cycling after a long break and this bike is ideal for me with it's light weight frame, perfect for shopping trips to local shops and commuting.
The only criticism is the seat which is not comfortable for me on longer rides 20 miles plus, although this could be true of any bike I had chosen.
Overall a great bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Etienne Hybrid Bike - 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, lightweight, easy rider!,
April 23, 2013
By Dimelza
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: smooth ride, easy build, value for money, stylish
"I've had many bikes over the years in a similar price range and this is far superior, the frame is light enough for me to move about easily for storage, the adjustments available to make it fit me perfectly are great- I needed to tilt both handlebars and saddle to get conifer and both were very easy to do - the build took my husband no time and he was impressed with the quality for this price. It's a much conifer ride than a mountain bike due to its seating/handlebar position and such a smooth ride on the road. The saddle is so comfy I've had no soreness and returned the gel cover id bought, unused, as it wasnt required! I'm cycling daily after at least a ten year break, I can't believe it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>