Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike - 17"

The Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike is a practical rigid 'urban' mountain bike with 18-speed Shimano gearing and v-brakes with comfort saddle
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike - 17"
Review 1 for Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
May 28, 2013
By jacko17
from staffordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the smooth ride
Cons: the saddle
"Excellent product for beginners who are looking to start road cycling. The gears are easy to use and the ride is smooth. the only down side was the saddle which felt really hard so i would recomend to buy a gel seat cover"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURTON ON TRENT
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value,
May 25, 2012
By freelander12
from Stockton on Tees
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: everything apart from gripshifts
Cons: gripshifts
"Great value bike. Good riding position and comfortable seat. Gear change is okay till your hands become sweaty then Gripshifts are very difficult to use, am going to change this next week. This is the only bad point on an otherwise good bike. This is why i gave 3 stars for performance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many bikes: 1
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
October 10, 2011
By Anonymous
from Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Solidly built, nice understated colour (nothing too flashy for someone of my age!). Gears shift quite well, balance is good. Tyres gives a good grip on various surfaces. Used the bike on road, across grass and on tracks but nothing too rough. It's a good allrounder for someone who does most their cycling on roads but feels the need to cut across the occasional bit of rougher terrain. Haven't found any problems with this bike as yet!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smooth ride!,
April 06, 2011
By bikesaregreat2
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smooth ride
Cons: large chain-ring could be bigger
"Solid and fairly light for going fast without having to worry about bumps and holes due to the narrow tyres - but wider than a racer. Big 20" frame for comfort. Self-centering V-brakes are quiet and more responsive than mechanical disc brakes. Ride is rigid but comfy without suspension. Plastic pedals with a large area are good for grip - I like these more than my other smaller, metal pedals. Gears are smooth and gripshift gears are good to know quickly which gear you are in. I got a bargain!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apollo,
January 18, 2011
By mnbvcxzlkjhgfdsapoiuytrew
from suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very light
"great bike for rigid frame very light and easy to ride, seat not to bad and ride is nice and smooth. brake good concidering they are not discs. would still be worth the original price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wheels too small,
January 04, 2011
By rallo
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: lightweight frame, good value
Cons: too small for proper ride, uncomfortable frame
"The website recommended a 17" frame for my size, but this feels like a child's bike. It also feels very inefficient to ride because of the small wheels."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase,
September 14, 2010
By neilmk
from chester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sturdy, looks good, reliable
Cons: would not describe the seat as a comfort saddle!
"I am very happy with this purchase. The bike is excellent value for money and a good sturdy road bike. Also delighted with Halfords service and very relieved they built the bike for me!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great bike,
May 26, 2010
By finnybobbles
from Shaw, Oldham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: seat is really uncomfortable!
"My hubby bought this last week, staff at our local store were really helpful. I wasn't too keen on the colour but it's not so bad after a while and a little bit different. My hubby really likes it, except for the seat!! He says it's really uncomfortable, but that can be addressed with a gel cover or new seat if he doesn't get used to it. We fitted a trail gator tow bar to it with no problems and our son just loves it. All in all a great bike at a great price, well worth the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Vortice Urban Mountain Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb.,
May 25, 2010
By Anonymous
from Blackpool, England.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After looking at many bikes, this for the money is worth every extra penny.
It is very, very light 100% Aluminium and the breaks are super responsive.
It is a easy enjoyable ride and picks up quick even if your not as fit as some.
I suffer from bad knees and want to build up my legs to help so this bike is perfect and not expensive.
Don't buy cheepo's as they are heavy and clumpy. This is a real example of quality and great value.
As it is light, fast and good quality you soon hit top gear, I may invest in 21 speed within 6mths but thats a personal issue. You may find 18 speed plenty.
Overall, The colour grows on you fast as it is not the most obvious colour to look at but when you have it more than a week and use it well it is like a smart, productive machine.
Very happy with this product and totally recomend it. (sorry about spelling)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.