Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"

Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19inch is a fun, step through bike with large wheels for easier riding.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Review 1 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy riding,
September 29, 2013
By mayyve
from scunthorpe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the whole bike
" I purchased this bike after many years being off road, best decision I've made in a long time. The bike is very sturdy, the saddle is very comfortable, only six gears and extremely easy to change, no hassle. Very good value for money. The mud guards are slightly flimsy but I'm a believer in you get what you pay for. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Apollo Metis,
August 07, 2013
By JamesM500
from UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: halfords returns approach.
Cons: the bike quality.
" Not impressed with the build quality of this Bike. I bought it for my wife who was measured for it at Halfords. Unfortuneatly when we got it home and she rode it her knee was hitting the crossbar and the mud guard when she turned the bike. Took it back day after Halfords were very understanding and returned our cash. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid and good value,
July 29, 2013
By Jono62
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks
Cons: saddle but easily upgraded
" Picked up from store and needed a few little adjustments after being in the back of the car (things like brakes move out of position) . An excellent purchase at the price and the wife has added a nice wicker basket on the front for carrying things. Gripshift gears are never the most positive but you get what you pay for and they are perfectly adequate. Very happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
July 05, 2013
By Amy9583
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bigger tyres, shape of the frame
" This bike is very comfortable, easy to ride and is generally a good buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A really comfortable and easy bike to ride.,
June 05, 2013
By LankyYorkie
from Lancaster UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to get on and off.
" I previously owned a mountain bike but the Metis is 1000 times better. Its step through frame makes it really easy to get on and off. It is also a very comfortable bike to ride. I used to find myself stooping forwards on a mountain bike, but with the Metis I sit nice and upright. Fantastic. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent value for money,
March 07, 2013
By regulusregulus
from london
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size and built, gears, design, practicality, breaks safety
Cons: weight, plastic mud guards
" Living in London I didn't want to buy a bike that was too expensive but I wanted something good and safe as I cycle everyday. If you are looking for the same type of thing, go for it
I added a pannier and i an very happy with my purchase
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth it!,
October 19, 2012
By Tracie1234
from Norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I purchased this bike, mainly as a form of transport to get me to and from work. It's slightly on a pricey side, to my budget, but a well worthwhile investment. Saddle is as comfortable as any other standard bike saddle. Gears are easy changeable and in a handy location for ease of access. Comes with a bell to use also. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
too heavy,
September 20, 2012
By owusu
from fareham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I Live on the flat and found this bike too heavy it was such a effort, i took it back to my local branch and they the service was great. I am going to get another one which has a alluminium frame. I am 5ft 7in and found most of the bikes on the shop floor too small. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tally ho,
May 09, 2012
By blackandwhitecat
from huntingdon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: cheap and chic
Cons: very very heavy
" Bought this for my partner to "pootle" around on hence the lowish ratings (i.e my view!) But the bike does exactly what it says on tin. Its a v.heavy bike (boo!!) not suited for Alpe D'huez or sportives but looks "chic" for around town (Yehh!!!).
When i picked up bike, there were issues with the assembly which the Halfords team sorted out straight away so no complaints.
Overall, a cheap but heavy around town cruiser with limited maintenance (only 6 gears) requried. WIll keep an eye on the long term though! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value bike,
April 17, 2012
By PollyPocket
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: nice looking, easy to get on and off, reasonably priced
Cons: heavy
" I am quite tall (5' 10") and was worried the 19inch frame would not be big enough but it is absolutely fine.
I love the bike, it is easy to ride and comfortable, and very pretty! It is quite heavy though as it is a steel frame.
I will be riding it around the park and on cycle trails. I can't imagine me riding it up a hill!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent...,
March 23, 2012
By mslondon
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I hadn't been on a bike for about 15 years, so wanted something simple for use to commute to and from the station - I am very happy with this bike and impressed with the quality. It is sturdy, comfortable - and it was put together for me in store.
When I was growing up, my bike had 3/4 gears, so having 7/8 on this one is fantastic - so cannot complain there!
I would recommend it to others. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Built for comfort not for speed,
May 20, 2011
By rugratbaby
from Huntingdon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: comfortable ride, frame easy to get on/off
Cons: no easy to attach water bottle would need basket
" Haven't ridden a bike for ages, but wanted something that was comfortable and easy to ride when out with the family around nature trails and locally.
I have attached a trailer bike for my son and this bike still feels easy to ride with him on the back.
I don't care too much for gears so this wasn't an issue. The frame shape much better to climb on and off. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+32points
34out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE this bike!!,
January 31, 2011
By ShabbyChic
from Norfolk, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: pretty, well made, an investment
Cons: tad pricey, paint scratches off the saddle stem when moving it, might have to get imaginative with light fixings
" Bought this bike at Christmas and I would say that even on sale, it's a bit pricey (I could buy a car for this money...albeit a very old banger but still) BUT it's so worth it!
I absolutely love it, essentially you save £20 by it having mudguards already (and they're good ones, my partner has a mountain bike and expensive guards but his back still gets covered in mud whereas mine stays beautifully clean :)
I'm 5'4'' and the 16'' frame was perfect for me. It was super simple to put together even for somebody like me who doesn't have a clue and hasn't had a bike since childhood. Manageable for one person but probably easier with 2 people to build it.
I bought mine with a basket on the front and it's been invaluable, so much so that I'm now investing in panniers too.
Only down'ish side is that if you're short like me, the saddle is quite low and you can't fit lighte between the saddle and frame BUT again, with a little bit of playing and imagination this was actually easy to overcome, i simply put the light fixings on the frame/support bits that run to the wheels.
Overall: a bit pricey but truly an investment, this is a bike you want to ride, it may only have 6 gears but I've gone down country lanes and in a busy town and genuinely haven't felt like i was missing out by not having more. Enjoy :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great town bike!,
September 21, 2010
By Ameliasmina
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I havent ridden a bike for 20 years, so was a little nervous. Bought the Apollo Metis through the Cycle2Work scheme, and really pleased with it. Comfortable, easy to get on and off thanks to the step through frame. Have used it in town, on tow paths and on grass, and I'm very pleased with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
June 07, 2010
By Tammy489
from Luton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bike lovely colour and very easy to get on and off. You are also in a more comfortable seating postion than a mountain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Metis Hybrid Bike 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
May 10, 2010
By 123Mummy
from Lymington
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I wanted a step through bike that got me from A - B. This is perfect. No fuss, no gadgets and enough gears to get me up the hills and down again. I am tall and this bike is the perfect frame size for me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.