Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"

Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20 inch has front suspension and chunky tyres to explore bumpy trails.
Average Customer Rating:
4.139 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
56
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
6
131 of 148(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor bike,
February 03, 2014
By Anonymous
from London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I bought this for a cycle to the station in the morning. It is only 1.6 miles but i do confess i do it everyday. I didn't know whether i would stick with cycling so didn't want to spend too much. Wish i had spent more as this bike is dying fast and it is only 8 months old. Very heavy and clearly very poor quality. Gears don't work well, brakes are rubbish and lots of rust appearing despite bike always covered "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy the style.,
January 06, 2014
By Nez166
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is the second slant model I have bought in the last 6 months, I enjoyed it so much I bought my girlfriend one too and we both love taking them for rides on the track. Excellent value for money and ticks all the boxes for me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xmas pressie,
December 15, 2013
By carolla
from scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" bought this for my other half for going back and forward to his work he was very happy with it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike to buy,
December 07, 2013
By billy79
from arbroath
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: what a difference going up hill
Cons: hard seat just buy a cover
" great bike to buy gears perfect i have only used 5 gear a up the hills you go some speed on flat. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ARBROATH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Allrounder,
December 05, 2013
By caw73
from Leicestershire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought for our 14yr old son. So far it seems perfect. It looks good and rides well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Ride,
October 23, 2013
By starrmann
from Abbey Wood
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: great price
Cons: could have a better seat
" Good sturdy make and rides very smooth, easy gear change, suspension is great, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHARLTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike is great,
September 20, 2013
By Tystar
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The bike was perfect really good the only problem I had is the person who put it together didn't tighten the seat enough so it came loose. But I got my cousin to tighten it and now it's fine "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not good for offroad,
September 10, 2013
By 2242
from Fraserburgh
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: price, light
Cons: build quality, durability, rusts very fast, brakes don't last long
" Bought this bike last year for the daily commute to college.
To start with the bike was great. It could handle high speeds and also cornering at high speeds. But after the second week the problems started. The handlebars kept coming loose and even fell off once. then the wheels buckled for no reason (I've been trying to take as much care as possible with this bike) and soon after that the rear & front dérailleur came loose and wouldn't change into the top gears. Soon after that the shaft inside the crank case snapped, the chain rusted through within 4 months, the rear wheel came loose because the shaft inside snapped and by the 6th month it was standing outside to rust as it was no longer usable. It's a great bike when your moving onto another bike as a transition of sorts. However I do have to say that there is now a rosebush growing and clinging on around the bike which looks absolutely beautiful but in end effect was a waste of money.
The only people I'd recommend this bike to is the once every blue moon cyclist.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERURIE
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this bike, cheap for a reason,
August 28, 2013
By Anon55
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Bought this bike to get me from place to place but ended up going no where. Was put on a bike carrier from purchase, as soon as I got home it was taken off and within the first 10 seconds i knew there was a problem with the gears. So I immediately returned it and it was apparently fixed by a technician in the shop. Got home and after about 20 minutes the bike had broke to no surprise, the front derailleur got caught on the gears and was deformed so ended up getting a refund.
Verdict:don't go anywhere near this bike, poor quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good but only one problem,
August 23, 2013
By johnathenbones
from london
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good bike
" i bought an Apollo slant and when i tried to put air in the tires it wasn't pumping and with further assessment i realized the back wheel wasn't stuck on properly and i am going back to Halfords to see what they do tomorrow "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BARKING
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money !!!!,
August 04, 2013
By Garyo13
from Newcastle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: lightweight
Cons: gears not the best
" Good value for money and ideal for outings with the kids !! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo slant recommended,
August 01, 2013
By Gerard8
from Merseyside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great bike great price, goes over rough ground with ease
Cons: hard seat, had to buy gel cover for seat
" Bought Apollo slant about 5 wks ago never been off it great on or off road apart from seat being hard (bought gel cover sorted) this a great bike do about 10 to 15 miles a day on road paths makes no difference to this bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent,
July 30, 2013
By Anonymous
from London, ruislip
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I brought this bike for the summer and its great to ride around although I had problems at first with my gears and handlebars and had to take it back to get repaired its and excellent bike to ride, very fast in top gear and a smooth journey. The seat is uncomfortable though. I recommend this bike for its price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good for the price.,
July 26, 2013
By BryanO
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this bike and the first two rides I took it on were 25 miles and 40 miles. The 40 mile ride involved a serious spill on my part but other than the saddle coming loose once it was very sturdy and well put together (credit to the guys at Halfords Cwmbran for that). Extremely comfortable considering its relatively cheap price. Overall very good value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CWMBRAN
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This bike is reasonably good but...,
July 25, 2013
By Gurtej99
from Bradford, West Yorkshire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the cheap price
Cons: gears chain quality
" I have kept this bike for a few weeks now and already there's a noise coming from the chainguard and chain, and also the bike gears sometimes cause the chain to come off. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apollo Slant Mountain Bike,
July 24, 2013
By Daddykins1975
from Dowenpatrick, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: styling
Cons: hard seat
" Bought this bike 2 weeks ago, and so far, im impressed. Gears take a bit of getting used to & the seat WILL hurt your backside lol, but overall i love it. would recommend to anyone ( but buy extra padded seat cover ). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DOWNPATRICK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value, good bike for the money,
July 23, 2013
By Mike9139
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I bought it and use it to commute to work, works really well for me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HOUNSLOW
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleasantly Surprised,
July 22, 2013
By MrThompson2U
from Newcastle upon Tyne
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I was pleasantly surprised at the quality, value and overall performance of this bike. It was bought as a run around for my son who was home from university. He has used it daily and so far it has delivered. Having read the earlier reviews about the comfort of the seat he automatically bought a cushioned seat cover for the existing seat and there have been no complaints. I have to mention I was also impressed at the service as I bought it online and collected at 4pm the next day. It was ready as promised and my son rode it home. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike for the money.,
July 08, 2013
By Crazyteaboy
from East Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this bike as a replacement for my aging mountain bike. I couldn't believe how much smoother the ride was, the fromnt suspension took a while to get used to but it's great and I would recommend to anyone who just wants a bike for pottering around on. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Slant Mountain Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sturdy solid bike for a great price,
July 08, 2013
By Anonymous
from pembrokeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this bike for my partner. its quite heavy for getting in and out of the car but on the road its sturdy and well made with chunky tires and good front suspension.
i reserved it online and picked it up in store the next day after 4pm. it was built and redy to go and the member of staff carried it down and put it in my car for me.
i have a 3 door 206 and with some jiggling it fitted in the boot with the seats down.
overall i am pleased with the purchase, my partner uses it to go work and that saves us money on fuel :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>