Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Ring 12N Plastic Plug

The Ring 12N Plastic Plug connects your trailer road lights to your towing vehicle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Review 1 for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
July 20, 2014
By Paler
from Coalville, Leicestershire LE67, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent item which does everything you would expect. It's cheap, it's easy to fit and it works, what more could you want? Yes it looks cheap and the moldings are not precision joined, who cares it costs less than £6."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Expensive and very poor quality.,
June 10, 2014
By Mart007
from Stafford, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Absolute load of rubbish. It will be going back when the replacement arrives."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor quality product that's going back,
May 26, 2014
By PeterG56
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: everything
"There is a key to make sure you attach the socket in the right place but nothing for it to fix into, so the two halves won't fit together, thus if I forced it, it would let water in.
Also, like other reviewers the screw holding the cable clamp went right through the holder - rubbish - it's going back. Ironically I bought it to replace another plug which I thought was poor but this is even worse!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Expensive Rubbish,
May 01, 2014
By RDB24
from Nailsea, North Somerset
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The product that I purchased looks nothing like the quality photo above. Very poor plastic, very rough moulding, the two halves don't join, and the cable clamping screw pulled straight through the casing when I tried to clamp the cable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ring 12n plastic plug,
November 26, 2013
By discodave36
from sutton-in-ashfield nottinghamshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to follow instructions
"easy to wire,easy to use excellent value great would recommend to anyone"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap and nasty,
August 05, 2013
By disgruntled2much
from Greenock
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: not a thing
"Cable securing screws on the brass pins are very poor quality and loose in the threads so they cant be tightened securely. The plug is very loose in the socket , seems it doesn't push in far enough into the socket to gain a connection. As you move the plug about various lights turn off and on on the trailer and this is a brand New Socket thats fitted to the towbar. Guess what........it's going back!!!!!!!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Get what you pay for,
June 27, 2013
By RPG1
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Plastic case isn't the best. Doesn't feel too robust. But it does the job."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bit of kit easy to install,
March 09, 2013
By Hovercop
from Swadlincote
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does what it says on the box - excellent for connecting your lights to your trailer - good value"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? SWADLINCOTE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As expected,
October 17, 2012
By Whocares101
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is the second plug I have used. The last finally died after about 9 years. Water got in and corroded the screws and wires. This is after it had been left in the open in all weathers. Dragged along the road and it still worked.
Easy to fit, even for the non electrical.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did the job. (It IS just a basic plug however!),
June 05, 2011
By Blackscorpion
from York, england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well constructed..., i love my plug so much i can't sleep at night!, the plugs makes women attracted to you more..., honest - it does. i'm fighting women off!, the "12n plastic plug" will make you look younger.
Cons: non so far. i mean... it's just a plug isn't it?, not a party chat subject unless it's a plug party, why's there's no "12n plastic plug owners club"
"The plug great to wire up as it's easily stamped on the plug itself. Obviously you need to know which coloured wires fit to which numbered pin! The information is on the internet or in a manual.
It took me 10mins to fit. (REMEMBER TO SLIDE THE RUBBER DUST COVER THINGY ONTO YOUR CABLE FIRST AS IT'S A PAIN TO HAVE TO UNWIRE IT ALL, SLIDE ON THE COVER, AND START RE-WIRING THE PLUG!...).
The plug has changed my life. In fact I'm so pleased with the '12N Plastic Plug' that I got another one just to put under my pillow at night. I showed my plug to everyone I knew and insisted they gaze upon it's wonders. Now I have much fewer friends, for some reason... But, who needs friends when you have one of these '12N Plastic Plugs' ?
It works fine on my lighting board on the trailer too, by the way. And the flug fits tight and secure in the vehicle socket end.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ring 12N Plastic Plug
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does it's job!,
June 04, 2011
By nicti
from Stamford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Can buy cheap else where but was convenient! Easy to fit and does the job!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.