Halfords Ratings and Reviews

AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser

Check whether you're over the limit with the AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser .
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
9 of 13(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Review 1 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No alcohol reading,
December 18, 2013
By Aynho
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have to agree with several comments about this product - I purchased this some while ago and despite calibrated correctly, it has hardly registered any alcohol consumption readings when I know it should have.
I guess it's too late to return this item now ?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good service,
February 18, 2013
By Hondamick1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Reserved online and was there ready and waiting for me."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product doesn't work,
October 19, 2012
By David61
from Grimsby
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought one of these from Halfords and when I took it home and used it, it did not register any alcohol in take after drinking a glass of wine (it was calibrated).
I took it back to Halfords and exchanged it - no problem. I took it home and my son tested it. He had been on a stag night and drunk 4 pints of lager and 3 Southern Comforts. The tester registered 0.05 which is within the safe driving limit.(again the tester had been calibrated). Again I took the tester back and asked for my money back. These testers don't seem to be very accurate or was I just unlucky - twice in a row.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+1point
13out of 25found this review helpful.
Response from Halfords:By Halfords Web TeamNovember 14, 2012
These breathalysers are usually highly reliable, and have won a number of awards including a What Car? best buy award. We apologise for the disappointment you experienced when receiving 2 faulty units in a row. For superior performance we recommend the AlcoSense Elite, which features an advanced sensor for improved accuracy.
Review 4 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pocket breathalyser no good in France,
October 17, 2012
By ali2163
from Newcastle
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Having read several reviews about all the various breathalysers I decided to purchase two for work but on looking into this only the single use breathalyser is recognized by french law and has a two year shelf life"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Alco Sense One Pocket Breathalyser,
May 18, 2012
By Geetree
from West Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: bleep needs top be louder.
"Small, neat, handy and easy to use. Bought purely to meet French driving regulations but useful nevertheless. Would like the sound to be louder - very difficult if hard of hearing."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poor,
February 02, 2012
By Tavish
from Preston, England
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: none
"After following set up the breathalyser gave a 0.00 reading from start. After consuming 25 units of alochol it still showed Zero. Halfords replaced it. Second unit worked once then showed a zero reading after consuming 8 units. Halfords replaced it with a alcossense Lite - which works perfectly"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
January 14, 2012
By Kincaid
from Port Glasgow, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact
Cons: battery life seems short
"Great little device, reliable and accurate. Good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Useful the morning after,
January 05, 2012
By yoyo0891
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This pocket sized breathalyser provided great entertainment on Xmas day as it was passed around the circle of those who had obviously had too much to drink!
There is no tube to blow down, instead there is a vent at the top of the product into which you blow in.
If you have just drunk alcohol, you are advised to drink water and wait for half an hour before using the breathalyser, otherwise the result is abnormally high. I believe it was designed more for use the morning after rather than after you have been drinking (ie. to see if you are safe to drive home).
All in all, a good product, however if you are looking for a reliable tool to judge whether on not you can drive home that night, I would suggest buying a more expensive, more accurate one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great,
December 20, 2011
By Chezzi
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this for my 20 year old son, he would go out on a Saturday night and not come in till early hours on a sunday morning then get up for football at 9.30 telling me he was ok to drive to football when I got him this product and asked him to use it after a night out he was shocked to see he was over thr limit, all the times he had drove he was probs over the limit, it is a great machine, every young adult should have one!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent item!,
December 15, 2011
By Loopylou135
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product is compact and small enough to fit in your pocket. It is 100% accurate and because of this you will never get in your vehicle under the influence! Amazing little gadget, so well worth the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Breath Test,
December 03, 2011
By apx5777
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheaper than others avaiable
"The first thing you have todo is calibrate it when you are sober, basically doing a breath test twice. The instructions say you should do this every two weeks. It seems to work well, I tested myself when I got home from a night out and it said 0.1% BAC, then in the morning 0.0%. The maximum it measures to though is 0.12%."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Should not drive the morning after without this,
November 22, 2011
By FemaleGlasgow8585
from Glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very simple and easy to use. Gives a good gauge as to wether its ok to drive or not."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breathalyser,
October 06, 2011
By Olesya
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"packaged well. It was reserved before bought, great service! Brilliant product, we used it quite often especially in the mornings. Easy to use!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.