Halfords Ratings and Reviews

AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser

Check whether you're over the limit with the AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser .
Average Customer Rating:
3.526 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
12 of 18(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Review 1 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quite simply doesn't work,
January 20, 2015
By Ranchero96
from Glasgow
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Wish I had read the reviews on this before my wife got me this for Xmas. I tested this five times. Initially I got the highest possible reading on two glasses of wine, which was nowhere near. Then zero. Then three more tests in subsequent days showing zero... while I had drunk. I followed the instructions to the letter. Returned for a refund. No wonder this product is discontinued. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peace of mind,
January 13, 2015
By Shaft02
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" An excellent piece of equipment. Money well spent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product, had to go to 2 stores to find one,
January 08, 2015
By johnd777
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good for next day
Cons: you need to read the instructions
" Happy with the product but had to try 2 halfords stores to find it. Seems good and is giving readings I would expect. I first used it without reading the instructions and could get it to work right, read the instructions now Ok. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product for the price,
January 07, 2015
By DMfield
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: small, cost
" Used it for a few days now and happy with it. Useful for the morning after. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not the greatest,
January 05, 2015
By Tonyt84x
from Holytown, North Lanarkshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I wouldn't recommend this to anyone as doesn't give a fair reading or accurate and with the new laws ain't any help so I wouldn't buy it spend more and get a better one "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Alcosense one,
January 04, 2015
By Cazza1979
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I returned this item as it was faulty and bought the moe expensive one "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't work,
December 24, 2014
By PF007
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Bought and calibrated it and desided to test it after several glasses of wine. Said I had no alcohol in system but i would defiantly have been over the limit. Have just returned the item, it might be cheap but it's useless if it doesn't work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Budget Breathalyser,
November 17, 2014
By rusabb47
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Budget breathalyser,seems to work ok,takes a few attempts to get the hang of it,handy to have if your thinking of driving next day after drinking.Basic,cheaper ones online,but does the job "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good service,
February 18, 2013
By Hondamick1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Reserved online and was there ready and waiting for me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-13points
2out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pocket breathalyser no good in France,
October 17, 2012
By ali2163
from Newcastle
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Having read several reviews about all the various breathalysers I decided to purchase two for work but on looking into this only the single use breathalyser is recognized by french law and has a two year shelf life "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Alco Sense One Pocket Breathalyser,
May 18, 2012
By Geetree
from West Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: bleep needs top be louder.
" Small, neat, handy and easy to use. Bought purely to meet French driving regulations but useful nevertheless. Would like the sound to be louder - very difficult if hard of hearing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poor,
February 02, 2012
By Tavish
from Preston, England
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: none
" After following set up the breathalyser gave a 0.00 reading from start. After consuming 25 units of alochol it still showed Zero. Halfords replaced it. Second unit worked once then showed a zero reading after consuming 8 units. Halfords replaced it with a alcossense Lite - which works perfectly "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
January 14, 2012
By Kincaid
from Port Glasgow, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact
Cons: battery life seems short
" Great little device, reliable and accurate. Good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Useful the morning after,
January 05, 2012
By yoyo0891
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" This pocket sized breathalyser provided great entertainment on Xmas day as it was passed around the circle of those who had obviously had too much to drink!
There is no tube to blow down, instead there is a vent at the top of the product into which you blow in.
If you have just drunk alcohol, you are advised to drink water and wait for half an hour before using the breathalyser, otherwise the result is abnormally high. I believe it was designed more for use the morning after rather than after you have been drinking (ie. to see if you are safe to drive home).
All in all, a good product, however if you are looking for a reliable tool to judge whether on not you can drive home that night, I would suggest buying a more expensive, more accurate one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great,
December 20, 2011
By Chezzi
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this for my 20 year old son, he would go out on a Saturday night and not come in till early hours on a sunday morning then get up for football at 9.30 telling me he was ok to drive to football when I got him this product and asked him to use it after a night out he was shocked to see he was over thr limit, all the times he had drove he was probs over the limit, it is a great machine, every young adult should have one!!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent item!,
December 15, 2011
By Loopylou135
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product is compact and small enough to fit in your pocket. It is 100% accurate and because of this you will never get in your vehicle under the influence! Amazing little gadget, so well worth the money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Breath Test,
December 03, 2011
By apx5777
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheaper than others avaiable
" The first thing you have todo is calibrate it when you are sober, basically doing a breath test twice. The instructions say you should do this every two weeks. It seems to work well, I tested myself when I got home from a night out and it said 0.1% BAC, then in the morning 0.0%. The maximum it measures to though is 0.12%. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Should not drive the morning after without this,
November 22, 2011
By FemaleGlasgow8585
from Glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very simple and easy to use. Gives a good gauge as to wether its ok to drive or not. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AlcoSense One Pocket Breathalyser
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breathalyser,
October 06, 2011
By Olesya
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" packaged well. It was reserved before bought, great service! Brilliant product, we used it quite often especially in the mornings. Easy to use!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.