Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers

Clarks Single V-Brake Calipers are compatible with all V-brake levers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
44 of 44(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Review 1 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin!,
November 28, 2014
By Johnmac125
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Adequate quality - on a par with Shimano Deore, so why pay more? "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CREWE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brake callipers,
November 16, 2014
By graham1029
from Wigan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These were really cheap but easy to fit and perform just as they should "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit,
October 15, 2014
By JayTee4
from Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A big improvement to braking efficiency--fitted to my grandson's bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brake Callipers,
October 10, 2014
By TYates
from Aberdeenshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good to know we could just buy this part as thought that it would cost us a lot more to mend our son's bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? INVERURIE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job,
September 17, 2014
By hooker1ukcloned
from Dunstable, Central Bedfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Well they work well enough, but be prepared to tinker with them a lot if adding them to an older bike with cantilever brakes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
September 06, 2014
By Azzabee
from Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
" Bought a set of these last year and they're easy to fit, work great!
I was so impressed I've just bought another set for my wife's bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
August 26, 2014
By Suvvy007
from Farnham, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I fitted these brakes to replace some existing ones that were not particularly effective and am very impressed. They work really we'll and far better than my previous callipers. Would definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upgrade,
August 23, 2014
By luvspud
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price
Cons: none yet
" Compared to the brakes that were on my cheap commuter bike these are great for the price, the adjusting screws actually worked.
A very easy upgrade for someone without a great tool box and limited knowledge of bike repair (that's what youtube is for).
The price was cheap but not the product, all metal, great if your biking on a budget.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SOUTH SHIELDS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an efficient brake at an excellent price,
January 06, 2014
By NGCP
from Southampton UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: braking efficiency, low price
" I bought this for a basic bmx bike my son and I are building from spare parts. My son was impressed by how powerful the brake is. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value Budget Brakes,
December 27, 2013
By CraigusVegas
from Grimsby
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, easy to fit
Cons: price more expensive instore than online
" Serves their purpose, bought 2 sets for my daughters mountain bike due to the plastic spring tension adjusters breaking on the originally factory fitted brakes. These are cheaper when reserved online for in store collection, instead of paying just over double in store like I did with the first set I bought a few weeks previously !
Easy enough to fit and set up, good value for money, and they look like they should last the lifetime of the bike too (hopefully) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
November 03, 2013
By potticus
from Folkestone
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These aren't the greatest brakes ever, but for the price they are perfectly reasonable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value,
October 29, 2013
By SJP007
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: store service was poor as assistant didn't know mu
" Simple and effective for a great price. Easy to fit easy to adjust. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value replacements,
October 28, 2013
By Anonymous
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everthing included for straight swap
" The Clarks single V-Brake Calipers are a good value replacement. All the neccesary bits and pieces are included so it's really a case of swapping over. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
October 26, 2013
By Mod2120
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The brake calliper was £5 cheaper online than in store, but on returning to the store to buy a second one £5 was deducted from the store price.Having never fitted a brake calliper before I followed the Clarks online video tutorial and ten minutes later the brakes were fitted and working perfectly. Great looking also. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
October 21, 2013
By hellbelly
from Bath
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Much better than the brakes that came on my bike. No amount of adjusting and balancing could get my existing brakes to work properly.
Fitted these and can feel the difference straight away.
Bargain price when I reserved online to pickup in store too! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BATH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
October 18, 2013
By Mikeonhisbikes
from Notts
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good value plastic style calipers. Very easy to fit and adjust.Got me back on the road in no time at all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacement caliper,
October 18, 2013
By Fitzy88
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product was easy to fit , good quality and did not cost a fortune . I would recommend this product . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap, good brand.,
October 15, 2013
By rustbucket
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Cheap brakes that work well. I fitted them to a 20" childrens bike but had to replace old cantilever brake levers with new v-brake levers. Now work perfectly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
metal high quality product,
October 01, 2013
By yellowcar
from Brighton. sx
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very easy to fit and adjust this is high quality for a low price.I am pleased with the performance and would happily tecomend this product . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality,
September 26, 2013
By Whackydaz
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy fitment
" Really easy to fit and excellent quality brakes! Would defiantly use them again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NEATH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>