Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers

Clarks Single V-Brake Calipers are compatible with all V-brake levers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 of 37(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Review 1 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an efficient brake at an excellent price,
January 06, 2014
By NGCP
from Southampton UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: braking efficiency, low price
"I bought this for a basic bmx bike my son and I are building from spare parts. My son was impressed by how powerful the brake is."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value Budget Brakes,
December 27, 2013
By CraigusVegas
from Grimsby
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, easy to fit
Cons: price more expensive instore than online
"Serves their purpose, bought 2 sets for my daughters mountain bike due to the plastic spring tension adjusters breaking on the originally factory fitted brakes. These are cheaper when reserved online for in store collection, instead of paying just over double in store like I did with the first set I bought a few weeks previously !
Easy enough to fit and set up, good value for money, and they look like they should last the lifetime of the bike too (hopefully)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
November 03, 2013
By potticus
from Folkestone
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"These aren't the greatest brakes ever, but for the price they are perfectly reasonable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value,
October 29, 2013
By SJP007
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: store service was poor as assistant didn't know mu
"Simple and effective for a great price. Easy to fit easy to adjust."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value replacements,
October 28, 2013
By Anonymous
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everthing included for straight swap
"The Clarks single V-Brake Calipers are a good value replacement. All the neccesary bits and pieces are included so it's really a case of swapping over."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
October 26, 2013
By Mod2120
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The brake calliper was £5 cheaper online than in store, but on returning to the store to buy a second one £5 was deducted from the store price.Having never fitted a brake calliper before I followed the Clarks online video tutorial and ten minutes later the brakes were fitted and working perfectly. Great looking also."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
October 21, 2013
By hellbelly
from Bath
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Much better than the brakes that came on my bike. No amount of adjusting and balancing could get my existing brakes to work properly.
Fitted these and can feel the difference straight away.
Bargain price when I reserved online to pickup in store too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BATH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
October 18, 2013
By Mikeonhisbikes
from Notts
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good value plastic style calipers. Very easy to fit and adjust.Got me back on the road in no time at all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacement caliper,
October 18, 2013
By Fitzy88
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product was easy to fit , good quality and did not cost a fortune . I would recommend this product ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap, good brand.,
October 15, 2013
By rustbucket
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Cheap brakes that work well. I fitted them to a 20" childrens bike but had to replace old cantilever brake levers with new v-brake levers. Now work perfectly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
metal high quality product,
October 01, 2013
By yellowcar
from Brighton. sx
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very easy to fit and adjust this is high quality for a low price.I am pleased with the performance and would happily tecomend this product ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality,
September 26, 2013
By Whackydaz
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy fitment
"Really easy to fit and excellent quality brakes! Would defiantly use them again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NEATH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value purchase.,
September 24, 2013
By ders
from Thanet
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Do what they say on tin.I matched them with my black hybred Scott..nice!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MARGATE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product,
July 27, 2013
By dannykp
from cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought these to replace broken one on daughters bike, fitted in less than 2 minutes and feel more substantial than originals. All in all very pleased."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clarks V Brake Calioers,
July 25, 2013
By russkyrth
from Blackpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great price, look good, easy to fit
"I used these brakes as a replacement and find that they do the job admirably, they also look better on the bike than the original silver ones as the black really complements the rest of the bike, I would recommend this product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
July 08, 2013
By Reggie01
from Norfolk UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good straightforward product. Simple to fit. Worth watching the fitting video as detailed on the packaging just to make sure. Once fitted braking was very effective. Would buy again if a replacement to the other brake is ever required."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
replacement rear v brakes,
June 14, 2013
By Matts1
from Wolverhampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Had to buy these to replace my original cheap plastic brakes which came with the bike. The screw thread had worn out which left me unable to adjust and centre the brakes causing them to constantly bind against the wheel rim. These new ones are much better since they are made of steel and hence have more bite when braking. Also much easier to adjust since you do not have to thread cable through fidly hole in holder when clamping cable and came with new rubber gate and cable guide. After shopping round these were the best value and also got a discount for reserving online which were ready for collection next day."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BILSTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot-on,
May 30, 2013
By Juzza
from Stoke-on-Trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, good quality
Cons: you need to have allen keys
"My girlfriend was given a second hand mountain bike which had the rear brake missing. I bought this from Halfords and had it fitted and working within 10 minutes. It is good quality and easy to fit"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacement V brake calliper,
May 29, 2013
By Wiggers
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I managed to break one of the return springs on my original V brakes, whilst putting ithe bike on a carrier on my car. There are many types of return spring, which I found impossible to source, hence the need for a complete new calliper. I found this easy to fit & thus far it is working well. The price I bought it at was a special offer & I found this good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ARNOLD, NOTTS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
May 27, 2013
By Ant57
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great replacement calliper, better than the original brake, I only needed one but I liked it that much I replaced both, great price too, highly recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
12next>>