Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Brakes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers

Clarks Single V-Brake Calipers are compatible with all V-brake levers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
20
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 of 51(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Review 1 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value calipers,
July 30, 2015
By velocity
from SE London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: click/collect stock control
" Quality seems fine but you only really know after used for a while so can't give 5. VFM excellent though when compared others and used click/collect. Click/collect didn't work,as no stock there, but they did have full set of front/rear and kindly split to give me front ones i needed-unfortunately they gave me one front and one rear! so had to go back, but they sorted it for me so no real prob! Would order again when need some, which i will do as I have a cycle hire business. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product and online price very competitive,
July 16, 2015
By Jokaloka
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to fit and adjust and very good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MERRY HILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
on you bike,
July 02, 2015
By gostrider
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" my son can stop on a penny now !
he is stopping before hitting the cars!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
June 20, 2015
By Anonymous
from Cambridge
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" At this sort of price its not worth buying blocks as other have stated :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Item Bargain Price!,
April 28, 2015
By Roybattynexus6
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Reserved this online and collected from the Doncaster store excellent service very knowledgeable staff as always! Top quality item easy to fit great replacement for the original fit rear brakes on my mountain bike highly recommended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? DONCASTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
April 28, 2015
By Tristan123
from West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: they stop my bike
Cons: my bike!!
" Amazing value brakes at around £7 in the sale and they stop my little folding bike just as I'd hope. No need for more expensive offerings! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fantastic value,
January 01, 2015
By HansFree
from East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, stopping power
" Got a set of these to fit to sons bike as his were shot. Easy to fit, good braking power. For the price you cannot go wrong. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin!,
November 28, 2014
By Johnmac125
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Adequate quality - on a par with Shimano Deore, so why pay more? "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CREWE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brake callipers,
November 16, 2014
By graham1029
from Wigan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These were really cheap but easy to fit and perform just as they should "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit,
October 15, 2014
By JayTee4
from Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A big improvement to braking efficiency--fitted to my grandson's bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brake Callipers,
October 10, 2014
By TYates
from Aberdeenshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good to know we could just buy this part as thought that it would cost us a lot more to mend our son's bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? INVERURIE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job,
September 17, 2014
By hooker1ukcloned
from Dunstable, Central Bedfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Well they work well enough, but be prepared to tinker with them a lot if adding them to an older bike with cantilever brakes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
September 06, 2014
By Azzabee
from Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
" Bought a set of these last year and they're easy to fit, work great!
I was so impressed I've just bought another set for my wife's bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
August 26, 2014
By Suvvy007
from Farnham, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I fitted these brakes to replace some existing ones that were not particularly effective and am very impressed. They work really we'll and far better than my previous callipers. Would definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upgrade,
August 23, 2014
By luvspud
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price
Cons: none yet
" Compared to the brakes that were on my cheap commuter bike these are great for the price, the adjusting screws actually worked.
A very easy upgrade for someone without a great tool box and limited knowledge of bike repair (that's what youtube is for).
The price was cheap but not the product, all metal, great if your biking on a budget.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SOUTH SHIELDS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an efficient brake at an excellent price,
January 06, 2014
By NGCP
from Southampton UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: braking efficiency, low price
" I bought this for a basic bmx bike my son and I are building from spare parts. My son was impressed by how powerful the brake is. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value Budget Brakes,
December 27, 2013
By CraigusVegas
from Grimsby
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, easy to fit
Cons: price more expensive instore than online
" Serves their purpose, bought 2 sets for my daughters mountain bike due to the plastic spring tension adjusters breaking on the originally factory fitted brakes. These are cheaper when reserved online for in store collection, instead of paying just over double in store like I did with the first set I bought a few weeks previously !
Easy enough to fit and set up, good value for money, and they look like they should last the lifetime of the bike too (hopefully) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
November 03, 2013
By potticus
from Folkestone
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These aren't the greatest brakes ever, but for the price they are perfectly reasonable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value,
October 29, 2013
By SJP007
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: store service was poor as assistant didn't know mu
" Simple and effective for a great price. Easy to fit easy to adjust. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clarks Single V-Brake Callipers
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value replacements,
October 28, 2013
By Anonymous
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everthing included for straight swap
" The Clarks single V-Brake Calipers are a good value replacement. All the neccesary bits and pieces are included so it's really a case of swapping over. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>