Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit

Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit the ideal car cleaning choice for any vehicle with black paint
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Review 1 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit,
July 23, 2014
By sallan89
from Perth, Perth, Perth and Kinross, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple and easy to use, good value
Cons: none i can think of
"well my brother picked this up at halfords today as he just picked up an black evo so i told him to find something specially made for black cars, So he returned with turtle wax black box kit now i didnt have much faith in this product at first but it changed my mind quickly
The kit is very simple a prex wax to take swirl marks and prep the body
Detailing spray to give that extra shine
And the wax itself
The results were fantastic i would highly recommend this product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shinetastic!!!!,
April 11, 2014
By Paul6780
from Trafford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use product
"Used this on my 2002 Landrover Freelander today and wow brings back a mirror finish show room shine, easy to use and no smearing like some other products on the market.
Well done turtle wax excellent product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A must for black cars,
March 14, 2014
By GORD65
from Mansfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, easy to use
Cons: bit messy
"Three stages, all compliment each other to give beautiful deep shine. Well impressed. All compounds dyed black, I'd recommend wearing gloves !"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gives a really great finish,
February 06, 2014
By Ffwrnais
from Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality cloths
Cons: a bit pricey
"I bought the product to use on my black Mazda MX5 and was not disappointed. The products go on and off quite easily and really do leave a beautiful shine which I haven't been able to achieve with other polishes. If I had to criticise, I'd suggest that they should supply disposeable gloves in addition to the cloths as they really are required. My only other slight criticism is that it's a relatively expensive product but having said this, you need so little cleaner and wax that the kit should last a very long time and provide for multiple applications."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (MAYPOLE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Product.,
October 10, 2013
By Sully10293
from Bolton,
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: makes your hands black
"Very surprised with this. Didnt expect it to be so good.
Took loads of scuffs and scratches out and made the car look new.
Definately wear gloves, my hands were black for days.
Took me 2.5 hours for whole car"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (HORWICH)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good but takes time.,
October 09, 2013
By slim99
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very nice finish but took time to do it right. Also need more cloths than were provided."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what is says on the tin............,
July 12, 2012
By Enigmarob
from Sale, Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Mercedes C240
"Like most people I was sceptical having seen many coloured polishes before and been disappointed with the results from all of them.
NOT SO WITH BLACK BOX this product is brilliant I followed the simple 2 step process(you should wear rubber gloves as this is really black polish) finishing with black quality liquid wax, and my 12 year old dull black car was transformed into almost show room condition.
Anyone who reads this review should trust this product as doing exactly what it says on the tin"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best thing for black cars,
September 13, 2011
By sarleeboy
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: hides small stones
Car Make audi tt cab
"my wife audi tt looked like stonechips every ,before i used this product i washed and went over the car with a bug/tar remover which removed loads of dirt what looked like stonechips but was`nt, then went over with this takes about 4 hrs, but now the car looks great deep black shine well worth it,tips wear gloves and have a spare micro fibre cloth just to go over at the end, shake bottles well before use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
June 20, 2011
By tftisme
from Uckfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Ford Cougar
"I was bought this product as a gift and used it on my 12 year old Ford Cougar and I am amazed with the results. Although it does take a long time to apply, the results are well worth it and gave a mirror like result to the paintwork leaving the car looking sleek and professionally detailed. My car makes the 2 year old black Audi I park next to every day look like it is grey and even after three days of heavy rain, my car still looks superbly clean."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best product for Black cars EVER!,
April 24, 2011
By DarkKnight2011
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make BMW 3 Series
"Wanted to bring back the black shine to my BMW 3 series and came across the black box in store.
Bought it and apply the waxes, four hours later, I was like WOW, unbelievable, totally recommend this product for those who own black cars and want a jet black shine!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gr8 for black cars!,
March 16, 2011
By kodda
from staffs
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: supply's everything needed in one box.
Cons: can be a little messy .wear gloves!
"excellent stuff though as with all bodyshop wax takes a little time and effort, though it does have its rewards.I look4ward to using this again to EVEN further improve my jaded paintwork."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
April 19, 2010
By TAMSKI
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this product to try on my Grande Punto Abarth....I couldnt believe how well the bodywork came up.Took about 3 and a half hours to apply 3 stages but well worth the effort. Enough in pack for 3 treatments so not as dear as maybe first thought.
If you have a black car ..this is the one to buy..Deffo.....
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Turtle Wax Black Box Detailing Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
turtle wax black,
March 18, 2010
By greatdane
from Castleford west yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"as you no having a black car is hard to kep clean, swirl marks and small scratches and rain/water mark. so bought this product from halfords at pontefract took me about 4 hours to do all car as you have to apply pre-wax then carnuba wax then detailer but i was amazed by the finish just like black glass all swirl marks gone really impressive polish much better than all the other products i have used"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.