Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml

Wynns Engine Stop Leak is a special blend of chemicals formulated to stop engine oil leaks & drips.
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Review 1 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm so impressed,
February 27, 2016
By
from Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: worth to try
" Previously in my 2002 Ford Focus Zetec after 40 miles trip on motorway engine oil level from maxim goes almost to empty, today after using Wynn's Engine Stop leak I have checked oil level after the same trip it was still full. I am really suprised, but at the moment after 50 miles affects are really amazing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff,
February 22, 2016
By
from dundee
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My 15 year old e46 which has done 160k has an internal leak in the engine where it is leaking diesel internally. After sitting overnight the smoke coming out the exhaust was terrible,so bad I couldn't start the car if someone was nearby as they d get smoked out. Put a tin of this in and it pretty much stopped the smoke for a year. Says on the tin 100 miles until its effective but my issue took longer, more like 400 miles.Away to buy another tin and hopefully will sort it out again. Really didn't think this stuff would work but was pleasantly surpassed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Better but not fully cured!,
January 10, 2016
By
from Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Put this in with oil 200 miles ago. Has seriously reduced oily whiff coming into car. Might try another can to see if it completely seals minor leaks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TUNBRIDGE WELLS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do Not Use,
January 06, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: will only worsen the situation
" used this in our Diesel Touareg due to very minor oil leak after few days of using this product our camshaft was completely gone along with buckets and the engine was clogged up and all this was due to stop leak. My advise is please stay away from this product or you will end up spending thousands on repairs as this product is poison for your engine! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Response from Halfords:By Wynn'sJanuary 08, 2016
Hi Mezy,

Thanks for your feedback and we are sorry to hear of the problems encountered above
however, we would like to confirm that Wynn’s Engine Oil Stop Leak cannot cause the problems described. Wynn’s Engine Oil Stop Leak is designed to only work on the rubber seals and joints, rejuvenating them to stop leaks; it has no influence on the oil quality or viscosity, and has no capabilities to dissolve, loosen, or create engine sludge.

Review 5 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for a temporary fix if your car is needed,
November 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good temporary fix
" Good for a temporary fix if your car is needed for driving before getting a full on fix.
I own a range rover and have timing cover leaking/ valve cover leaking. garage has 2 weeks waiting list before they can fix the issues.
Thought would give this a go and its seems to have slowed the leak down, this stuff is meant to expand rubber orings and seals. so in my case the leaking timing cover must have expanded and helping to prevent the leak which is good.
Note anything like this should only be used as a temp fix and not used long term but for the short term its works! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works!,
July 04, 2015
By
from Belfast, Belfast, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was sceptical but I trusted in good reviews. The leaking on the oilpan of my 16 years old bmw e39 just stopped. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
June 14, 2015
By
from Wembley, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" It actually works, so my situation was that I had a BMW e46 1.8 ti COMPACT, had a few issues with the car plus a leak underneath the engine which my mechanic didn't know where it is coming from he said I had to get the whole engine stripped so on and so forth, the oil was dripping onto the right axle but I thought I'll leave this and when I get enough cash I'll sort it out, so thought I'll give this item a try there's no harm in it and its only £6 so why not. I put this in, April and got the my mechanic to check it again under the car today and he said that there was a leak but is't anymore and that was the only leak that there was, so very happy with the result other it was going to cost me in the hundreds to repair. Highly recommended excellent product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ALPERTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stops Leaks,
February 02, 2015
By
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this is stop a small oil leak from my Mondeo petrol 2.0 litre.Was a bit sceptical at first but how wrong was I ,no more leaks . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Slight leak on driveway,
January 29, 2015
By
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: takes time & miles to show outcome.
" This is the first product of this type I have used to couteract a slight leak thought to be from the rocker covers gasket on a KIa Sportage, which will be changed soon. The success of this product may take 200 miles of driving therefore it is early days yet. Easy to install and relatively cheap, time will tell! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value product,
December 31, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, seems to reduce minor leaks
" There are many 'stop leak' products in the marketplace, many at a higher price than Wynn's offering, but they all contain similar chemicals that basically do the same job whatever product you buy. Therefore this item is good value. Nothing can 'seal' bad oil leaks, but I continue to use this product sucessfully to reduce annoying minor oil seepage onto my driveway. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? WELWYN GARDEN CITY
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product does what its supposed to,
November 08, 2014
By
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product does what its supposed to I have a oil leak in the engine resulting in the dreaded plumes of smoke when first start the car in the morning but once I add Wynn's and do my running round for the day when I come to start the next day the car is back to working fine no plumes of smoke when I start the car up, tried other brands but Wynn's is the only brand that works for me "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for it designed uses,
June 26, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use quick and simple
" I have used this stuff many times and saved a lot of people a lot of money with it. But beware, this product will 100% repair dry or worn rubber seals (crank end seals, cam seals etc) but not fully repair damaged or split seals, it will just make them leak a little less. So if it doesn't work fully, you've left the leak too long unsorted and the dry seal has become damaged and not just shrunk or dry and you only have yourself to blame for being lazy and not sorting it sooner. I've also used this stuff to fix a main shaft seal leak in a gearbox and it worked perfect. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
16out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stopped a small oil leak!,
October 20, 2013
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I was skeptical on this product, but decided to try it first before looking any deeper into the problem or taking my ford fiesta (2003) to a garage. And it did not disappoint! The small oil leak seems to be gone now after a week. No more oil drops on my driveway. Great! It worked for me! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
+5points
15out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked for me,
October 11, 2013
By
from Guildford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I fully agree with some reviews, in that it may not work in every instance, but it worked on my 21 year old BMW. It stopped the rear oil seal from leaking, which would have meant an engine out job and on a V12, that's not funny. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
done the job,
June 17, 2013
By
from limerick
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" stopped my car from leaking oil and saved me a fortune "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
does not work,
April 26, 2013
By
from england
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" this product did not work on my car but it might work on somebodys car i think a waste of money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
-14points
12out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, so good,
April 14, 2013
By
from East Midlands
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: the uncertainty
" Added the product about 2 weeks ago and the slight oil leak appears to have stopped. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHILWELL - NOTTINGHAM
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great and worked well !,
March 14, 2013
By
from Worcester,UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good product!Instant fix with no hassle!
Very pleased with price,quality and availability!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wynns Engine Stop Leak 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good as a quick and dirty fix,
October 04, 2012
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" my car has a small but persistent oil leak, and after putting this stuff in, a few days the leak dies down, then it's much much smaller for about 3 months (3k miles), then it starts again, so I add some more of this in and the cycle continues...
If it were a newer car I'd take it to a garage, but it's worth less than a grand with a complex V6, so this stuff comes in real handy as a quick and dirty fix. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.