Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter

Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter is the ideal replacement for your faulty one.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
6 of 11(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Review 1 for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't Buy,
June 23, 2015
By Danny02
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: intermittent when charging
" Waste of money and over priced. Was easy to fit but awful product.
Works as a cigarette lighter but doesn't work as a charger every device I try to charge with this lighter socket I have to play about it to get it to work.
The reason for this is the port only has two pin connections in the inside hence the reason I have to play about with it to get it to work.
The old one had four pin connections and was perfect until it rusted on the inside. It's best to have a look at the product before you buy.
Halfords would not open the packaging before I bought it because they said they need to sell them.
Take it off your shelf please and get a better product. People come to Halfords for quality product not cheaper inferior ones.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
awful dont waste your money,
May 03, 2015
By 1234ollie
from guildford
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: that they even sell this??
" i bought this as i broke my original one.
Don't bother its cheap, nasty, doesnt fit and comes with no instructions.
had to end up taking back and they said because ive used it i cant take it back.
so now i have a useless piece of plastic for no reason. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent replacement cigarette lighter,
April 19, 2015
By Ross17
from Bath, Bath, Bath and North East Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to install
Cons: fit wasn't perfect, feels a bit low quality
" I got this for my 2003 Hyundai Getz as the original cigarette lighter was dirty and didn't make good contact with chargers etc. For it to fit the existing hole I have to remove the green plastic ring with the LED but that pushed off easily.
Installation was really easy - the contacts on the bottom just push straight into the connector. It is maybe 1-2 mm in diameter too small for my car and wiggles around a bit but no big deal. I will probably put a dab of glue around the edge to fix it in place.
The construction of it does feel a bit basic compared to the OEM part but then it is a lot cheaper. It doesn't seem to grip my phone charger adaptor amazingly well but it does work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BATH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product,
January 21, 2015
By PSreading
from Reading, Reading, Reading, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A quality product which is easy to install whith it's universal features and most importantly "value for money" "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No instructions!!,
September 29, 2014
By LouiseB123
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: no instructions!
" This product comes with absolutely no instructions what so ever on how to fit it. And for a store that advertises it's "we'll fit it so you don't have to" Halfords don't offer a fitting service for this!
When I asked the guy at the desk about it he said it might involve soldering to fit it to my car. As an absolute electrical novice this is not something I could attempt myself and certainly not without any guidance!
It might be good value and it might work great but how on earth am I supposed to find out if it comes with no instructions!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not impressed,
September 18, 2014
By madtaz41
from Midsomer Norton, Bath and North East Somerset, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" easy to fit but my sat nav does not fit into it very well or any device i put into it keeps popping out. plus it blew me fuse in car .
so waste of money for me.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MIDSOMER NORTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 02, 2014
By Rich2303
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
" Great product. Does exactly what I needed it to do and was a straight saw so no hassle. Very happy indeed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works really well, easy to fit,
June 13, 2013
By Aledpencil
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light casing doesn't need to be fitted
" The product works really well and was relatively easy to fit with the green light edging which was easy to pull off to ensure that it would fit into my car securely "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Look Carefully,
June 11, 2013
By Disappointed13
from Surrey
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I found this product was of very poor design with the green plastic 'holder' being of very stiff plastic, and was very inconvenient to insert into my thick plastic dashboard. I put this down to experience and purchased one simlar to the alternate product with the metal screw on back piece. This made a much more satisfactory assembly.
The cigarette lighter plug of this product would not enter the other product!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Check Prices BEFORE paying,
April 02, 2012
By BluePug
from Kidderminster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" The product is fine - does as it says on the tin. BUT, you can find an identical one cheaper (by easily half the price) in The Range, just over the road. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Universal Cigarette Lighter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great purchase,
February 04, 2011
By Jamikal
from Somerset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: charges items fast, led light looks great in unlit car
Cons: tricky to fit, doesnt hold onto inserted items amazingly well
" I bought the lighter to charge my sa nav and mobile phone not to do anything else with it and what can i say it does the job and both items charge rather quickly if im honest very impressed with it. on the other hand fitting it was a bit of a pain due to the LED light attached to the side.... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.