Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet

The Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet is suitable for the professional or DIY enthusiast.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
43 of 44(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Review 1 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality piece of kit and a good saving as we'll,
March 14, 2013
By Tempy1968
from Dalton in Furness
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good quality product
Cons: heavy to lift on your own
"Just purchased this unit and the top draw set combined due to special offer on at present.
Halfords have listened to previous reviews as the quality was excellent cannot find a fault with it except the weight. Bear this in mind when you get home with it in your car on your own.
Barrow staff very helpful with helping me get the products out of the shop.
This is must to keep tools all in one place and not scattered over the workshop.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
January 25, 2013
By BlueSkye
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money, solid build, opening/ closing action, fast delivery from halfords
Cons: stickers
"Got this as part of the offer with the Industrial Tool Chest, giving great value for money.
Good solid build and nice opening/ closing action.
My only let down was the advertising stickers on the cabinet. After building it up and spending the time loading it up, I then decided to pull the stickers off, and one sticker lifted about a dozen 2mm specks of paint off the cabinet, showing the white undercoat.
Obviously I'm not happy with that but I have put too much time and effort into it, to return a large 50+kg unit to the store.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got 2,
December 20, 2012
By gobfather
from wakefield uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ball bearing drawers, paint job, wheels
"I bought 2 of these with top boxes, about 5 years ago and i have to say i have had no problems with them, the space is enough for ordinary spannermen, but i have lathes and milling machines, i am going to buy one more with a top box and that's it, (so the wife say's)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent,
November 22, 2012
By Decstar
from Manchester
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks nice, nice starter kit
Cons: locks
"I brought this wíth top and bottom it's a decent box to be fair but I have had issues with the locks on the box
Nice box though to recommend
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good materials, good design, terrible manufacture,
May 14, 2011
By Baboooo
from London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: looks good, good castors
Cons: horrible built quality, shallow drawers, not very good locks, silly stickers hard to peel off, cheap inside mats, not that big
"I am very disappointed with this cabinet and the top unit. The idea is great; the materials used are fantastic; the paint is nice and thick. The problem is that whoever built it (and I have seen I am not the only one to have found this) did a horrific job. It is scratched and dented all over. Four of the drawers are not as smooth as they should be, because some metal parts are bent and they scratch the lower drawers. One of the drawers still won't go smooth and I can't fix it. One of the wheels has some silver paint sprayed on by mistake. The upper unit weights 40 Kg, while the lower one 53 Kg. It is not something you can take home by yourself. I used a van and a hand-sack trolley and I was not able to do a set of stairs by myself with the base unit. Another thing is that once you put all your tools inside the drawers, you realize that it's not that big at all. Also the drawers of the lower unit could be a bit deeper. Why didn't I return it? Because it was a nightmare to bring it home and I couldn't possibly do it all over again and delivery is charged at extortion prices. Probably there is a reason if it costs so much less than virtually all of the competition.
One thing must be said about the tons of silly stickers all over the place. I have already bought it... I don't need to be convinced to buy it, so why cover it with stickers that are hard to peel off? It took me about half an hour to remove them all.
The mats inside the drawers are as cheap as they get and they will need replacing very soon.
Why in the world is the upper unit only 1cm smaller than the base unit in one side only? You are left with 1cm of space right in the front and it really doesn't make any sense. Sidewise it fits just right... so why can't it fit just right also the other way?
Once again, you get what you pay for. Definitely not for you if you are picky about things. You will be disappointed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value,
October 10, 2010
By NaturalBornLoser
from central scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, value for money, smooth drawers even when loaded
"as far as tool cabinets go, this is by far the best value for money.
as mentioned many times, the quality is brilliant, and the drawers are nice and smooth even when fully loaded.
this will always be a brilliant tool cabinet as far as im concerned, my only draw back is its not big enough anymore even with the chest on top.
HALFORDS - you really need to bring out an intermediate chest for this cabinet, i think it would be a big hit for those looking for a little more space as upgrading to a bigger box of the same quality comes with a ridiculous price tag that for someone at a DIY level might not be able to justify."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality tool chest,
September 10, 2010
By Bigphic
from Barrow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: i got the top box free saving £230, looks good, socket trays fit in draws
Cons: none
"This is an awesome bit of kit, well built and very strong with smooth action draws even when they are loaded
The drawers come with rubber mats and are lockable with a lift up latch so they don’t open while wheeling it around your work shop
The colour looks very nice in gloss black, and even when the chest is fully loaded it can still be moved around my workshop with ease, well done Halfords.
Bighic..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
July 25, 2010
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I brought this last year and its brilliant.
Loads of storage for my tools.
I would recommend this to anyone best buy so far
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
beware of dings,
May 19, 2010
By cowboystoker
from Plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Being a marine engineer for 20 odd years this tool box is excellent value. Will hide all your mess into one place rather than four or five seperate boxes that become a search frenzy when you need just that tool. Build quality is brilliant for the price (having destroyed a few tool boxes in my time) and should last for a couple of generations if cared for. The trays allow you to lay out all the tools so you can see quickly where everything is. Just beware, I had three boxes before one arrived that wasnt damaged in some way scratched, bent or locks/draws not operating(I even refused one due to a small ding but I was making a point by then.) Get the box opened in the store and check the locks/ draws open and close as its not always apparent that its damage."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value,
January 26, 2010
By Anonymous
from Ipswich, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
"Excellent Value for money 2 for the price of 1. Exceptional Build Quality and competes well with other major brands. I would recommend to purchase if looking in this price range."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be a proffesional in your own home :-),
January 13, 2010
By YdnaT
from Aberdeenshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this along with the top smaller tool chest and it is superb. It holds so many tools that are now always to hand and I can move it around the garage also which makes things so much easier. The tool drawers are absolutely top quality and the anti slide mats keep all yor tools in order. Nothing comes close for this price or at any prce for that matter."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Solid Product,
January 09, 2010
By Anonymous
from Huddersfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If you can ignore the price, then the Industrial cabinets are high quality with good useful drawers. I had three tool boxes, and have amalgamated them all into the Ind Tool box and drawer set with a lot of space to spare. Excellent and recommended if you can ignore the price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb buy,
January 04, 2010
By lesthenomad
from Alloa, Clackmannanshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money
Cons: none so far
"I purchased this industrial 6 drawer cabinet and also the 6 drawer chest and have so far been very impressed with both of them. At long last i can finally get rid of the many small toolboxes scattered around the garage."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Helpful Staff!,
January 03, 2010
By HappyShopper09
from Northampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Staff at Northampton Riverside were especially helpful in helping me with my purchase. Everything a good service should be, polite, curtious and well mannered. Would recomend to anyone!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality,
December 17, 2009
By scorpiosal
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: drawers glide smoothly, drawer liners included
"Well I hope he likes it - Christmas is still a week away! I'm sure he will. I did a fair amount of research before buying & this was definitely the best for my budget - actually I went over because my husband likes quality & others seemed quite 'tinny'. The service & advice in Halfords was excellent & being able to reserve in the store was another big plus."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Need a good storage system?,
November 22, 2009
By jayceetoo
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Such good value my mate,with me to pick up,bought one as well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worthwhile investment,
November 21, 2009
By Nokkas
from Bromley,Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: robust
Cons: drawer depth
"Having just built a garage in my garden I was looking for some good quality tools at a reasonable price. This box is well built and very robust. Would benefit from a couple more deep drawers but overall very pleased with my purchase.
I would recommend this item to anyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November 16, 2009
By Nabster
from Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good quality, solid, excellent value for the quality of the cabinet. Very smooth roller drawers. More suitable for storing smaller items with a larger drawer on the bottom. Goes very nicely with matching top cabinet and the drawers are also lined with a rubber mat.
Well worth the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Strong, heavy roll cab,
October 26, 2009
By Drumpunto
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: overall finish
"Other reviews have said about the weight and after squeezing this and the top box it into my girlfriends 3 door corsa i knew they were right, 74kg for the bottom and 55kg for the top but this just shows the quality.
The good points about this box is the locking handles, the castor wheels and the strong roller draws.
The bad points would be for mine is that the finish wasnt quite what i expected as after assembling it i realised it doesnt sit on all four wheels and rocks between the 3 which is very annoying but looking through other reviews this isnt a common problem, but as it was quite a hassel getting home due to the size and weight i wasnt going to complain for the price. Another thing that could be better is the depth of the draws are quite shallow for larger items."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Industrial 6 Drawer Ball Bearing Tool Cabinet
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase,
October 17, 2009
By kins
from london england
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is great for starting out as a mechanic, its strong enough to withstand heavy use in a garage & an affordable price for someone on a low wage.
The draws glide smoothly when opening & closing which shows the quality in this product, the wheels are big & strong as they should be, it looks good in polished black & chrome.
Bad points on this product ; the draws need to be deeper as you are very limited on what tools wil fit inside which is a shame.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>