Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)

The Harris Number Plate and Trim Tape (12mmx4m) is perfect for fixing trim & number plates.
Average Customer Rating:
3.958 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
18 of 24(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Review 1 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tape,
May 11, 2011
By
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good bond, flexible, many uses
Cons: only 4 meters on a roll
Car Make Renault
" Have just purchased my second roll.
The first roll I had was purchased to fix some number plates on one of my cars but I found it so good I used up the rest of the roll for other motor and diy jobs and needed to get another for the next job on the list.
Sticks well and if the item is left for 48 hours it cures to form a really strong bond.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NUMBER PLATE TAPE,
April 03, 2016
By
from Northern Ireland, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I have bought a new Mazda 2 and unfortunately the number plate will not stay on so rather than take it back to the dealer I decided to use Harris Number Plate Tape as my wife had read review on this site about how good it is. Sadly that is not the case for me. I used it all along the back of the number plate and due to the fact that the Mazda 2 has a slight curve in the area where the number plates sits the tape is only holding it in place in the centre and not along the edges. The number plate was off within five mins of having put it on. I am sure the tape is good to stick other things but sadly not my number plate. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No adhesion,
January 01, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" The adhesion on this tape is so weak that it doesn't even adhere to itself. I bought it for about 8 Euros, and that is way too much for such an inferior product. It is going back.
I wonder whether it is made out of Teflon - stupid "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Harris Number Plate Tape,
November 04, 2015
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" A complete waste of time and money, I doubt where it would even be any good as flypaper, it sticks to absolutely nothing!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sticky,
June 20, 2015
By
from Staines-upon-Thames, Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: narrow & thin easy o fit
Cons: bit difficult to peel backing of but nothing major
" Excellent product , correct amount of stickiness and thin enough that it doesn't make plate stand away from its surround , easy to use, enough on roll to stick maybe 4 number plates so plenty left over. Much better than a previous product I'd brought last time I changed number plates "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb,
June 16, 2015
By
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great item and provides adequate adhesive and just enough for four strips per set of number plates "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good,
March 01, 2015
By
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" So far the tape has kept my number plate on, seems good quality, overall I would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had my reservations about this product,
January 25, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product suprised me.... worked as well as others reviewers recommended. very good tach.... woul use product again. Thank you halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHADWELL HEATH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother,
January 15, 2015
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" waste of time wouldn't stick a poster up... returning. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Harris number plate tape,
October 10, 2014
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" After reading reviews on this product It sounded ideal to fix a number plate on, but sadly let down. the number plate has not stayed on. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? SWADLINCOTE
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upto the job,
September 13, 2014
By
from Nether Haugh, Rotherham, South Yorkshire S62, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy
" Great value and did the job perfectly. Looks like the adhesive will stand the test of time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super Sticky,
October 10, 2013
By
from Stockton-on-Tees
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: how sticky it was
Cons: could have been a bit more on the roll
" I bought this product to put a front and rear number plate on. I thought the product was really good and did the job. The only down side is that there probably wasn't enough on the roll. I managed to do both but used every last bit. So if you do need some of this tape for more than one set then I would recommend buying too. Good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff but it's all about the prep,
August 21, 2013
By
from Burnham on Sea
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it works, works if you do the prep
Cons: the price, works less well if you don't do prep
" OK as has been said this stuff is quite thin (width & depth), so if a curved surface you'll have to build up two or more layers on the outer edges if needed
So prep
1) Use a coarse/medium sandpaper on rear of plate for key
2) Clean rear of plate with surgical alcohol
3) Clean surface on vehicle with washing up liquid/water
4) If possible apply tape to plate and leave overnight
5) Next day wipe mounting surface with surgical alcohol
6) Heat rear of plate with hairdryer
7) Remove tape backing and carefully align/apply straight
I'd apply when temperatures 65-70 degrees in summer months in the evening leaving it to set/cure/bond overnight.
Good luck! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGWATER
+6points
17out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely brilliant...,
August 02, 2013
By
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does what it says first time!
" Product like no other on the market, fantastic! Didn't need to buy a hundred other products as this did what it said it would do like no other product I have tried for number plates, absolutely brilliant, wouldn't hesitate in recommending this! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
#1 TAPE,
July 16, 2013
By
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clean and sticks good
" Always used this for attaching badges/trim and never failed.
1st used 14 years ago when restoring old an escort. Ford badge still attached now.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't Go Round The Bend...,
March 15, 2013
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Generally this tape is rather good as long as you don't expect it to stick number plates onto SLIGHTLY curved surfaces. The tape worked well on the rear of my vehicle, which was flat. But, it really struggled on the front bumper as it was slightly curved. In the end I had to use some thicker double sided tape on the outer edges to compensate for the lack of adhesion from the very thin Harris tape, therefore using twice the quantity due to the failure of the initial attempt using only the Harris tape.
So overall, not bad but certainly not quite right for purpose. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harris Number Plate Tape (12mm x 4m),
October 31, 2012
By
from Kingswinford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Used this tape in October 2012. Excellent product, easy to peel off backing tape and plates stick very solidly. I reckon I have enough left after fixing two plates to do a further two. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Number Plate fell off,
April 07, 2012
By
from Cambridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: can cut into custom strip lengths, easy to apply to plate, quick adhesion to plastic, strong bond achieved overnight, build up strip layers for curved surfaces
Cons: both surfaces must be clean before fixing
Car Make FIAT, Toyota & Vauxhall
" Rear Number Plate fell off Motorhome - hot sunny day in Cornwall. Converter had used standard three adhesive pads and after 6 six years adhesive had failed.
Smartphone App found nearest Halfords, store assistant recommended this product and suggested applying 6x Vertical Strips either side of failed original pads in order to obtain best adhesion - job done!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value tape,
January 30, 2012
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great stuff, easy to put on the back of a number plate and simply peel the backing off and stick on. Gives a strong hold. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Harris Number Plate and Trim Tape,
October 27, 2011
By
from Norwich
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Car Make Nissan
" Good product. Works well. A bit thin when you first see it but does the job "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>