Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)

The Harris Number Plate and Trim Tape (12mmx4m) is perfect for fixing trim & number plates.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Review 1 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tape,
May 11, 2011
By Anonymous
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good bond, flexible, many uses
Cons: only 4 meters on a roll
Car Make Renault
" Have just purchased my second roll.
The first roll I had was purchased to fix some number plates on one of my cars but I found it so good I used up the rest of the roll for other motor and diy jobs and needed to get another for the next job on the list.
Sticks well and if the item is left for 48 hours it cures to form a really strong bond.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Harris number plate tape,
October 10, 2014
By Bob2155
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" After reading reviews on this product It sounded ideal to fix a number plate on, but sadly let down. the number plate has not stayed on. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? SWADLINCOTE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upto the job,
September 13, 2014
By Mook
from Nether Haugh, Rotherham, South Yorkshire S62, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy
" Great value and did the job perfectly. Looks like the adhesive will stand the test of time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super Sticky,
October 10, 2013
By Kazlaa93
from Stockton-on-Tees
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: how sticky it was
Cons: could have been a bit more on the roll
" I bought this product to put a front and rear number plate on. I thought the product was really good and did the job. The only down side is that there probably wasn't enough on the roll. I managed to do both but used every last bit. So if you do need some of this tape for more than one set then I would recommend buying too. Good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff but it's all about the prep,
August 21, 2013
By MarkyMT
from Burnham on Sea
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it works, works if you do the prep
Cons: the price, works less well if you don't do prep
" OK as has been said this stuff is quite thin (width & depth), so if a curved surface you'll have to build up two or more layers on the outer edges if needed
So prep
1) Use a coarse/medium sandpaper on rear of plate for key
2) Clean rear of plate with surgical alcohol
3) Clean surface on vehicle with washing up liquid/water
4) If possible apply tape to plate and leave overnight
5) Next day wipe mounting surface with surgical alcohol
6) Heat rear of plate with hairdryer
7) Remove tape backing and carefully align/apply straight
I'd apply when temperatures 65-70 degrees in summer months in the evening leaving it to set/cure/bond overnight.
Good luck! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGWATER
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely brilliant...,
August 02, 2013
By Annie32
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does what it says first time!
" Product like no other on the market, fantastic! Didn't need to buy a hundred other products as this did what it said it would do like no other product I have tried for number plates, absolutely brilliant, wouldn't hesitate in recommending this! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
#1 TAPE,
July 16, 2013
By Ericka69
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clean and sticks good
" Always used this for attaching badges/trim and never failed.
1st used 14 years ago when restoring old an escort. Ford badge still attached now.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't Go Round The Bend...,
March 15, 2013
By Elsdonflyer56
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Generally this tape is rather good as long as you don't expect it to stick number plates onto SLIGHTLY curved surfaces. The tape worked well on the rear of my vehicle, which was flat. But, it really struggled on the front bumper as it was slightly curved. In the end I had to use some thicker double sided tape on the outer edges to compensate for the lack of adhesion from the very thin Harris tape, therefore using twice the quantity due to the failure of the initial attempt using only the Harris tape.
So overall, not bad but certainly not quite right for purpose. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harris Number Plate Tape (12mm x 4m),
October 31, 2012
By asHFEWFJKREAGVJDSLCKNojd
from Kingswinford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Used this tape in October 2012. Excellent product, easy to peel off backing tape and plates stick very solidly. I reckon I have enough left after fixing two plates to do a further two. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Number Plate fell off,
April 07, 2012
By MotorhomeXP
from Cambridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: can cut into custom strip lengths, easy to apply to plate, quick adhesion to plastic, strong bond achieved overnight, build up strip layers for curved surfaces
Cons: both surfaces must be clean before fixing
Car Make FIAT, Toyota & Vauxhall
" Rear Number Plate fell off Motorhome - hot sunny day in Cornwall. Converter had used standard three adhesive pads and after 6 six years adhesive had failed.
Smartphone App found nearest Halfords, store assistant recommended this product and suggested applying 6x Vertical Strips either side of failed original pads in order to obtain best adhesion - job done!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value tape,
January 30, 2012
By AM31
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great stuff, easy to put on the back of a number plate and simply peel the backing off and stick on. Gives a strong hold. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Harris Number Plate and Trim Tape,
October 27, 2011
By Lenny333
from Norwich
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Car Make Nissan
" Good product. Works well. A bit thin when you first see it but does the job "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not for curved surfaces,
September 22, 2011
By SterlingMoss
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: cures quickly on a flat surface
Cons: doesn't stick to curved surfaces
Car Make Alfa Romeo
" Okay if your plates affix flat. Any curve and the adhesion is poor. Had to resort to screw fixings after a week of messing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Numberplate Adhesive,
March 08, 2011
By RPLondon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Strong stuff, and easy to get on with - it doesn't adhere immidiately or stick to your fingers too much, but once its stuck, its stuck!
My rear number plate is only secured with the tape at each end as the screw holes are not flush, however even with a bend in the plate, still held on very firmly.
Only niggle, not that much tape on the real - plenty for just two plates, but expected a bit more for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performs Well,
November 17, 2010
By JasonUAP
from Telford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Brought it to stick a hazard plate to a back door on a Transit van, did the job well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than holes,
October 17, 2010
By Mick65
from Bicester Oxon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I did not want to make holes in the cars body work to attach my new number plates. So bought this item hoping it would do the job. It has certainly done that. The plate has not moved at all even after power washing the car and being parked in all weathers. I recommend this Item just make sure the surface is clean an dry before putting in place
Mick T
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Badge & Emblem Fixing.,
July 29, 2010
By Trimfix
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: add a pro
" Measure, measure, measure, check again then stick! Great for attaching emblems / badges to clean vehicle bodywork and seems to resist water OK. Easy to apply as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the packet well.,
June 03, 2010
By diybob
from west mids
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: price
" I used a cheaper product to hold my plate on, and in 3 months the number plate came off, I should off just brought this product in the first place. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
did the job,
May 07, 2010
By dippymare
from hertfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: did the job good value
" bought to fix new number plate to caravan. did the job with plenty left over for future jobs "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Harris Number Plate Tape (12mmx4m)
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job!,
April 20, 2010
By mattspur
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" used this for a number plate 2 weeks ago. easy to apply and has no signs of budging. would advise you do not skimp and so cover as much of the plate as you can. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>